1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

'Radeon HD 3600' Details Leaked

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    While the current RV670 chips are selling like hotcakes, AMD is working on putting out mid-range and low-end parts for those market segments. The successor to the HD 2600 series, according to graphics card manufacturers, will be called the HD 3600 series (big surprise). The 3600 series will come in two versions, an XT model and a Pro model. The XT will be clocked at 800MHz, and the Pro will be clocked at 600MHz. Both will be attached to 128-bit VRAM, which will run at an unknown clock speed. The Pro will have GDDR2, while the XT will have GDDR3. Both will support DirectX10.1, and the micro-architecture itself is codenamed "RV635". The RV635 should be launched with the RV620, the successor to the HD 2400 series. The RV620 should be dubbed the HD 3400 series.

    Source: Reg Hardware
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    I thought AMD/ATI were dropping the XT/pro classification from their cards in favour of the number sequence (ie 38X0 being the 3850 and 3870)?!

    Therefore the pro would be 3650 and the XT 3670.
     
  3. cool_recep

    cool_recep

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    346 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Istanbul/Turkey
    That would be very nice for newbies,noobs...

    Have a look at those: GT, GTS, GS, Ultra, MX, XT, XTX, OC Edition
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    ...GTX, GTO, TI, Pro, ...
     
  5. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    and...PE...:laugh:

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Don't forget SE :p
     
  7. tvdang7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    318 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    dang have they even sold that many 2600's it hasnt been out that long. looks like we are stuck with 128bit for life
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,644 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    752
    Reason why its only 128-bit is because it saves them a bit of money on manufacturing the cards. It wouldn't make sense for them to integrate a 256-width bus when the card can't even utilize that much bandwidth to begin with:)
     
  9. Aeon19 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    67 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    and LE? :toast:
     
  10. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,697 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Tennessee
    XXX too ;)
     
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,324 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    998
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    And then with the release of the HD3900 and HD3950 the will have the successsor to the HD2900 Pro and XT and thats what I am going to buy:D Their nameing system is not that bad/compicated.:p
     
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,829 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,752
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    XS, GTX, QAF................................................................










    (quick as fook),.................:D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Oh it could! The only problem is that at 256 it would be a little bit more expensive to produce (probably a dollar) but the performance would, in certain situations, be significantly better, esp, long shader and AA situations. Problem is... it would start cannibalising sales of the upper models, if the mid-model was too good.

    Just compare the 9xxx series, full memory vs. half bandwidth. The half bandwidth lost (typically) 30% performance. There could actually be a 30% improvement on the 2600 on 256-bit, and overclocked, that would really hurt the 2900.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,829 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,752
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I think it would be a bit more than $1 as the 256bit memory bus requires at least 2 more layers of PCB (could be more), I of course dont know how much that would actually cost, mainly because I am not a Gfx card manufacturer and also I dont really care! but it sounds more than $1 to me :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    damn, all them monikers have got me all confused over here.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Silverel

    Silverel

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,773 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    the RV630 number is still referred to internally with the Pro/XT suffix, as each revision of the board gets locked and clocked at different speeds. We still hear about them in this manner, cuz we all pay way too much attention to it. I believe if they released a 3630 it'd be an LE/SE, and a 3690 would be an XTX.

    The retail versions will be the 3650 and 3670, no suffixes for the consumer products. Probably won't be seeing much else for model numbers besides the XX50/XX70 for a good while.
     
  17. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    XGE, AIW, RX, GO, GL, XFIRE, HM

    They love their suffixes, don't they? :laugh:

    I can see ATI sticking with the older suffixes though, just cause they're more well known and not as confusing - but with AMD now at the reins . . .
     
  18. cool_recep

    cool_recep

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    346 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Istanbul/Turkey
    OMG we have a database now :D


    GT, GTS, GS, Ultra, MX, XT, XTX, OC Edition, GTX, GTO, TI, Pro, PE, SE, LE, XXX, XS, GTX, XGE, AIW, RX, GO, GL, XFIRE, HM



    PCMCIA : personel computer memory card international association

    aka
    people can't memorize computer industy acronyms


    :D:D:D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    180 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Here is some more info:
    http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=5409
    http://www.guru3d.com/newsitem.php?id=6145
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)