• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Radeon HD 4850 Voltmods

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#51
Show me something with zero resistance, please :roll:
he's probably talking about a wire which is almost no resistance, it will still your kill your card.
 

yanahs

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.99ghz @1.376v
Motherboard DFI Lanparty Dark X38 T2R
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P Push Pull Fan
Memory Team Extreem Dark 2x1gb pc8500
Video Card(s) HIS hd 4850 @ 800/1100 Accelero S1 Cooler
Storage Seagate 160gb SataII
Display(s) Hanspree New York 19"
Power Supply Blue Storm II 500w
#52
yes if your resistance is too low, the voltage will go WAY high and WILL kill the card
so if i use a single piece of wire there is still the risk of killing my card with the first mod? right now i'm getting 1.3v.. any chance i can safely boost it up ?with the first mod?
 

yanahs

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.99ghz @1.376v
Motherboard DFI Lanparty Dark X38 T2R
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P Push Pull Fan
Memory Team Extreem Dark 2x1gb pc8500
Video Card(s) HIS hd 4850 @ 800/1100 Accelero S1 Cooler
Storage Seagate 160gb SataII
Display(s) Hanspree New York 19"
Power Supply Blue Storm II 500w
#53
I don't believe the people with 42-45C load temps. What cooler are you using? Please prove me wrong. I max out at 55C running the ATI Tool scanner with an Accelero S1[/QUOTE]

Im using an Accelero S1 tied two 12cm fans on them.. when i dont use the fans it goes up to 60c.. i only use rthdrblt to test load up my gpu though..

 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#54
so if i use a single piece of wire there is still the risk of killing my card with the first mod? right now i'm getting 1.3v.. any chance i can safely boost it up ?with the first mod?
you need to use a resistor as instructed. of course you can have wires leading to each end of the resistor (duh?).
 

yanahs

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.99ghz @1.376v
Motherboard DFI Lanparty Dark X38 T2R
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P Push Pull Fan
Memory Team Extreem Dark 2x1gb pc8500
Video Card(s) HIS hd 4850 @ 800/1100 Accelero S1 Cooler
Storage Seagate 160gb SataII
Display(s) Hanspree New York 19"
Power Supply Blue Storm II 500w
#56
thanx wizzard
 

yanahs

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.99ghz @1.376v
Motherboard DFI Lanparty Dark X38 T2R
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P Push Pull Fan
Memory Team Extreem Dark 2x1gb pc8500
Video Card(s) HIS hd 4850 @ 800/1100 Accelero S1 Cooler
Storage Seagate 160gb SataII
Display(s) Hanspree New York 19"
Power Supply Blue Storm II 500w
#57
In load my temp was like 80~85C and i think thats to high :S
Presumably the chemical store will have it.
wow that is pretty hot.. and that with aftermarket coolers?
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
75 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Jogja, Indonesia Republic
System Name d2eamachine
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard asrock z68 ext3
Cooling custom watercooling
Memory corsair vengeance 2x8GB
Video Card(s) msi gtx480 lightning
Storage 60GBssd, 2x320GB, 2TB, 1TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2250 series + LG 22"
Case thermaltake v4 black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply pcp n cooling silencer 750watt
Software Windows 7 build 7600
#58
what the safest temps degree?, im almost 60C, with just pencilmod @750/1175
and, i dont know why my memclock can go higher, beside im just doing vgpu mod, and not vmem mod...
 

yanahs

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.99ghz @1.376v
Motherboard DFI Lanparty Dark X38 T2R
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P Push Pull Fan
Memory Team Extreem Dark 2x1gb pc8500
Video Card(s) HIS hd 4850 @ 800/1100 Accelero S1 Cooler
Storage Seagate 160gb SataII
Display(s) Hanspree New York 19"
Power Supply Blue Storm II 500w
#59
@kingkongtol
I'm not sure about the safest max limit temp.. but i read somewhere that these 4series may run upto 90c to 100c?? but i like to keep mine under 70..

my mem gave me artifacts @ 1150 (during 3dmark06 / cpu test only) when i went down to 1100.. arties were gone..

cheers bro :)
 
Q

quasar923

Guest
#61
why do i need a multi reader? and if i really really need one where can i get one and for how much?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#62
you mean a multimeter? any cheap $10 one should do. you need 3.5 digits, 2.5 digits is not accurate enough
 

DJSUB

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#63
i'm completely noob with this.
i just want to ask what settings to use in the digital multimeter to measure the voltage?
i already killed 2pcs. 4850 because of the pencil modding without a multimeter :(

how can i measure the idle & load voltage of the card?
is it safe to measure the voltage while benching or doing some stability test to get the load voltage?

sorry for my bad english :D

thanks! :)
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#64
I'm preparing to pencil mod my 4850, I just got done doing a bios flash. I can't clock any higher then I could before (I think I can clock lower) and an unusal thing happened. On load i used my DMM and it said that there was 1.3v's going through the vgpu....

All i did was flash the bios ? I don't think it's suppoused to go that high?

Did I measure it wrong? If I don't have something properly grounded will it measure higher then it's suppoused to? And I'm still on the stock cooler for the moment (my s1 is sitting right next to me, ready to go) and my temps seem good. I don't think I'm measuirng correctly. But I tried all 3 of the vgpu spots that I know of.


Anyone have any suggestions?


P.S. my card is the Asus 4850, and I flashed it using this bios.
3. Asus HD4850 Light Overclocked. DF Core 700MHz Mem 1100MHz Auto Cool Fan.
GPU Core upper Limit 1200MHz
Memory Upper limit 1400MHz
Vcore DF 1.12V


Asus HD4850 Light Overclocked
I'm also using this DMM


And i set it to the 2 for DCV (right side of the dial) :/ If thats the wrong spot then I guess thats my problem there :p

Thanks in advance.
 

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
#65
Drizzt5, I think you should begin with checking your card's voltage with stock BIOS. It's impossible to reach 1,3V with just modded BIOS. What's more, the BIOS you flashed your card with has a stock 3D voltage. I think you've set your DMM to right spot, so this isn't your problem. I always use my case as a ground and it works pretty good, voltage measure is accurate.
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#66
So I should reflash to my orignal bios then?

If i still have 1.3v's don't you think it's the DMM that I am doing wrong with.

I changed the DMM to 20 instead of 2 so It wouldn't round and I still got something pretty high. 1.29v's vgpu....
 
Last edited:

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
#68
Drizzt5, use the stop marked in yellow as a ground. If you'll still read 1,3V, then I'm out of ideas.
 

Attachments

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#69
It was a bad DMM, thx for suggestions. I went and purchased a good one.
 

pablo NZ

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Q6600
Motherboard IP35-E
Cooling GeminII
Memory 2x1gb PC6400 CL4 aXeRam
Video Card(s) 512mb GeCube 3850 X-Turbo III OC
Display(s) Samsung 206BW
Audio Device(s) Xfi Xtremegamer
Power Supply Silverstone ST50EF
#70
so if i'm reading this right, I can use silver conductive ink instead of a pencil for pencil-mod #2?

I just prefer ink over pencil as my pencil mods have a tendency to degrade :(
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
#71
Nice thanks wizard, I'm 780/1000 stable with the first pencil mod. I'm going to take the card out again and just try to squeeze up to 1.32-1.35 vgpu if I can. Right now I'm only at 1.28.
 

yanahs

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel E8400 @ 3.99ghz @1.376v
Motherboard DFI Lanparty Dark X38 T2R
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P Push Pull Fan
Memory Team Extreem Dark 2x1gb pc8500
Video Card(s) HIS hd 4850 @ 800/1100 Accelero S1 Cooler
Storage Seagate 160gb SataII
Display(s) Hanspree New York 19"
Power Supply Blue Storm II 500w
#72
@me martin
I dont suppose I could trouble you for the resistance value of you L100 magic stuff.. so i can compare the resistance values with these alternatives

I'm thinking of some alternatives to pencil with the first mod (just for fun)

1.
http://www.permatex.com/products/au...uick_Grid_Rear_Window_Defogger_Repair_Kit.htm

but as the tds says high conductivity.. i'd rather be safe and get the resitane value first.. adn compare it with your L100

2.
get a small piece of paper load it up with pencil lead, then tape it on the resistor :laugh:..

maybe i can get 1.4 with these options..
or can can somone help with the res value needed for the 1.4 bump.. or does it differ from each card?

cheers :toast:
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#73
w1zzard, i say only one think about guys who using pencil voltage mod they are professionals , and you are one of them
 

tomcug

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
96 (0.03/day)
Likes
16
Processor Intel Core i7-975 @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III GENE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x4 GB GeIL Enhance Plus 1750 MHz CL 9
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 7970 3 GB
Storage Samsung F2 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2243LNX
Case Antec Twelve Hundred V3
Audio Device(s) VIA VT2020
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000 W Special OC Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
#75
I've shaded it to 500Ohms and set 1,15V in BIOS to reach 1,4V. That's all you need.