• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Radeon HD 4850 Voltmods

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
u dont mention the volts u sere running it...also what mod?pencil or solder?
and u did it on a reference cooler????????u NEVER voltmod on stock!!!NEVER!!!!
 

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
There it is!PENCIL MOD!!!
It has happened to me too something similar.The card was unstable on cod4 and crashed after 3 minutes of play.I run it on 1,34volts and guess what?I measured the vcore and it was 1,24!!!The pencil is removed through time of palying due to air movement mostly and u have to reshade the resistor!After i did this it works great again at 1,34.So in your case there must have been sunned removement of pencil from the resistor and the card coldnt even boot.I t might have been posible to reshade and make it work again!!!Did u try that?
 

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
well u could try at least force a reflash through atiflash to the stock bios and see what happens.I am curious for your case cos from the 4 months i vae it i only bought musashi 4 days ago,and all this time i had it on 1,34/2.45 core mem@781/1150 with no probs!!
 

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
yeah it will be great!!!!!but does your mobo support it?!!!And now that i think of it,why dont u RMA the card???????Put the stock cooler back on and send it back..??
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
pyckmeister banned for posting rickrolled link
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
i SCRIBBLED it, both of the mods and nothing works it has no affect, how could i convince ncix its broken even thought it works fine but wont pencil mod?
From what u say it sounds like u want to rma your card right?
Well theres one way i use and it has always worked!Flash your card with a bios(even the original) and at the moment it says:dont turn off or restart ,DO IT!!!RESTART your pc and the card wont have a bios to boot and it will be in operational!!!
Of course the shop wont susspect that!Or will it??
That is the best way, and it is reversible with another bios flash.

But you should know that when you die you will go to tech-hell for doing this... If you posted this on XS (if it was up) you would get a ban.
 

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
That is the best way, and it is reversible with another bios flash.

But you should know that when you die you will go to tech-hell for doing this... If you posted this on XS (if it was up) you would get a ban.
REALLY???I didnt know that...But its well known way for RMA!!!Anyway from now on i ll just refer to it as the UNFORTUNATE BLACK OUT DURING FLASHING.Is that LEGAL???!!!!:laugh::laugh::laugh:
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name A
Processor AMD X2 5000
Motherboard AMD
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston DDR2 3GB
Video Card(s) Integrated
Storage Maxtor 250GB
Display(s) Compaq 17inch CRT
Case Compaq
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Powerlogic
burn my las gpu on this. XD
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
I am having a hard time figuring out what resistor I need for a permanent volt mod. How many watts does it need to be?

Can some please direct me in the right way for the resistor I need. Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,170 (0.84/day)
Likes
527
Location
Florida, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230V3
Motherboard Gigabyte H97
Cooling stock
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 2TB WDs (storage)
Display(s) 2x BENQ GW2250 + ViewSonic 24"
Case Cooler Master Centurion 5 :P
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- JBL 4412 Studio Monitors / Polk PSW505
Power Supply Antec 550W
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard MS Sidewinder
Software Win 10 Pro x64
xfx 4850/4830 non-reference pcb

shot of the back


front
 
Last edited:

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
This is the XFX card right?
With NON REFERENCE design it will be difficult to find the mod man...
 

TrekBMX18

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Has anyone else found that when they measure their voltages before doing any mods that it is higher than it should be? I tweaked my voltage up to 1.158v by modifying a CCC profile but when I took the multimeter to my card it is showing 1.198v.
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Has anyone else found that when they measure their voltages before doing any mods that it is higher than it should be? I tweaked my voltage up to 1.158v by modifying a CCC profile but when I took the multimeter to my card it is showing 1.198v.
Your multimeter could be bad.
 

Drizzt5

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
612 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name IcingDeath
Processor Q6600 @ 3.825ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5E X38
Cooling D-tek fuzion v2/mcw60 + mcr320-qp-res
Memory 2x2gb Ocz reapers ddr2 1066
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 800/1000
Storage 2x Segate 500gb 32mb cache in Raid0
Display(s) LG 24"
Case 3d aurora
Power Supply xion 800W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
No, my multimeter is definately working fine. Tried multiple different ones.
Have your temps gone up a lot? Idk never heard of that happening.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
results

voltmodded my Sapphire Radeon 4850 Toxic a few weeks ago (its reference design with high quality ram, that can do 1200 memclock for sure)...despite it had an vf-900 on it, its load temperatures went to 100ish temperatures:twitch: i improved it to 90ish temperatures mit liquid metal (which one time during a hot period here and many hours intensive gaming at those temperatures somehow lost 90% of its volume and truh touch of the badly constructed fan mounting it formed an air pocket somehow. neithertheless i got 780-790 corestable and somewhat 1225-1250 ddr3 clock (theire samsung 1200mhz rated,lightly voltmodded). later my psu degraded, i somehow erased mod because i thought it somehow degraded truh the fans pushing air at it, it crashed me constantly (but in fact it was my psu which was degraded,not able to hold the clocks and crashing thru overload, and its dieing right here in this rig atm, i sometimes hear a quiet humming frum it, while i write this). with new mods i tried i wasnt able to do more than 765-735 in 2 weeks trying . i got me a miltimeter and found that nothing beyound 1,25 could be given on the card before it died heatcrash at 765 (way lower than former mod, despite i had no multimeter in the beginning)... so 1,25 was not that what was needed to get to 800 stable... memory clocking good though producing more heat and energy fluctuations... with only VERY MILD increases i was able to reach the 1250 realm with 2,3v vmem again. the temps went like 5c° up just trough 25mhz clock increase. on the attempt to reseat the cooler with new paste (in fact it was tacens silver goop, with just 25% silver, had nothing else). on the applycation in a not so well lit room, i somehow got a tiny amount of the goop on the transistors surrounding the die, but i didnt noticed and remounted the VF-900. after sticking it in my rig, i booted,went to bios,bios crashed with screen error
i rebootet and tryied the foolish attempt to boot in windows. it hummed and crackled, screen went black, card crapped.... (in fact im too poor to just go buy a new one like i prefer, i cleaned card and rmad, hope i have luck, or i will have to stay onboard for a while, but thats nasty, i cant play crysis properly, i have to vomit if the config is lower than 1152x864 (without aa and af) and at least high (even that seems too low). am i sent to techhell now?:)
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
voltmodded my Sapphire Radeon 4850 Toxic a few weeks ago (its reference design with high quality ram, that can do 1200 memclock for sure)...despite it had an vf-900 on it, its load temperatures went to 100ish temperatures:twitch: i improved it to 90ish temperatures mit liquid metal (which one time during a hot period here and many hours intensive gaming at those temperatures somehow lost 90% of its volume and truh touch of the badly constructed fan mounting it formed an air pocket somehow. neithertheless i got 780-790 corestable and somewhat 1225-1250 ddr3 clock (theire samsung 1200mhz rated,lightly voltmodded). later my psu degraded, i somehow erased mod because i thought it somehow degraded truh the fans pushing air at it, it crashed me constantly (but in fact it was my psu which was degraded,not able to hold the clocks and crashing thru overload, and its dieing right here in this rig atm, i sometimes hear a quiet humming frum it, while i write this). with new mods i tried i wasnt able to do more than 765-735 in 2 weeks trying . i got me a miltimeter and found that nothing beyound 1,25 could be given on the card before it died heatcrash at 765 (way lower than former mod, despite i had no multimeter in the beginning)... so 1,25 was not that what was needed to get to 800 stable... memory clocking good though producing more heat and energy fluctuations... with only VERY MILD increases i was able to reach the 1250 realm with 2,3v vmem again. the temps went like 5c° up just trough 25mhz clock increase. on the attempt to reseat the cooler with new paste (in fact it was tacens silver goop, with just 25% silver, had nothing else). on the applycation in a not so well lit room, i somehow got a tiny amount of the goop on the transistors surrounding the die, but i didnt noticed and remounted the VF-900. after sticking it in my rig, i booted,went to bios,bios crashed with screen error
i rebootet and tryied the foolish attempt to boot in windows. it hummed and crackled, screen went black, card crapped.... (in fact im too poor to just go buy a new one like i prefer, i cleaned card and rmad, hope i have luck, or i will have to stay onboard for a while, but thats nasty, i cant play crysis properly, i have to vomit if the config is lower than 1152x864 (without aa and af) and at least high (even that seems too low). am i sent to techhell now?:)
If I were you, I would take off the vmem mod. I have found out the hard way that raising the voltage on most video cards' mem chips is a bad idea, unless they are undervolted from the factory.

As far as the core, the VF-900 isn't the best cooler to use for these cards. It was designed in a time that the heat output of our cards was lower in general. If you want to vmod, upgrade your cooler to something a bit stronger.

Also, if your psu is dieing, quit using the computer. It can kill absolutely everything hooked up to it if/when it blows. Mobo, cpu, ram, HDD's and all.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
I know its dangerous, but i use it with undervolting to 1.163v for my proc,and 2v to my rams. as soon as i hear thunder,the pc will be shut down by me, other guy asked me to do so if that happens. do you know how much dangerous the vmem-mod is on samsung chips? theyre rated for 1200 0.8ns (theyre K4J52324QH-BJ08)... and 2.05V (on the next card, i want to do everything right...and i know that this baby needs bandwith more than coreclock.)

im having a twin turbo sent to me with my new psu, dont worry^^
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
I know its dangerous, but i use it with undervolting to 1.163v for my proc,and 2v to my rams. as soon as i hear thunder,the pc will be shut down by me, other guy asked me to do so if that happens. do you know how much dangerous the vmem-mod is on samsung chips? theyre rated for 1200 0.8ns (theyre K4J52324QH-BJ08)... and 2.05V (on the next card, i want to do everything right...and i know that this baby needs bandwith more than coreclock.)

im having a twin turbo sent to me with my new psu, dont worry^^
I just don't do vmem mods anymore, unless the card comes with the ram voltage lower than it's rated to handle. So if the mem is rated for 2.0V, but the card comes at 1.8v, I'll mod up to the 2.0V. Every single time I've ever gone over the factory rating, my memory has degraded over time, and eventually died.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
its rated at 2,05 and ran 2,0-2,1... dangerous?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
its rated at 2,05 and ran 2,0-2,1... dangerous?
That might be OK, but I wouldn't go any higher at all. The Samsungs on my 8800GT were rated for 2.0, I ran them at 2.06 and they died on me. So do it at your own risk.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
luckily, everything beyond 2.2 produced too much heat to go further... thru this i was able to push to 1250 stable. i had stock-heatsink-temps, but i needed bigger 92mm fan on the vf900, second 92 mm fan for the pwms, 3 fans pushing fresh air, one blowing it out of the case. if the accelero isnt cool enough, i will repeat the process with 120mm fans on the card this time.(i will first use arctic ceramique, but later maybe will use liquid metal) what dou you guess the toxic can do with adequate cooling? on core and memory?.. 1200 mem are stable without voltage increase
 

cr1pz

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
54 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Argentina
System Name Stay frosty
Processor Intel Core 2 duo E 7400 45 nm @ 3,8 ghz (1,4 volt)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-ep43-ds3L
Cooling Stock + 2 Direct Thermaltake Thunderblade coolers to Gpu and Cpu (Injecotr/extractor)
Memory Generic Kingston DDR2 PC2 6400 800 Mhz 4-4-4-12 @ 2,00 Volt
Video Card(s) Sapphire radeon 4850 512 Gddr 3 @ 720/933 Mhz
Storage MAXTOR STM 3500320 AS (500 GB )
Display(s) Benq 24 " DVI Full High def. 1080p and HDTV support .
Case -
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek.
Power Supply Power cooler type R Modular 550 true watts
Software Windows xp sp3 (Wolf 2 distribution )
W1zzard , I saw you're the ''MAN'' here , I have a question : After making the voltmod I have to increase Core vaules with RBE tools and flash it with atiflash , etc ? ... Beacause I' ve been doing bios flashing and the Overdrive option in CCC disappeared after flashing...
By the way , I haven't done any vmod yet.. only changed values in RBE tool .
Thank you ;)
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
for voltage change, try ati tray tools... that helped for me, after doing the mod