• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Radeon HD 5700 @ PCIe x8 instead of 16x (even with 100% load on it..)

Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Messages
3 (0.08/day)
Likes
4
System Name Prod4
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Cooling Air
Memory 8GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (ATI)
Power Supply 500 Watt
#1
Hello people,

I see that my Radeon HD 5700 is running @ x8 2.0 instead of x16 2.0 :/


As we can see on the screenshot I made running the render test (who keep busy the GPU at 99%) but she still stay at x8

I connect my HD5700 on the PCIe X16 port of mt motherboard (purple on the diagram)

I have one Gigabit nic card on the PCIe X1_1 (blue)



and that's it's.. any idea what can cause that ?
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#2
Have u tried to reseat ur CPU and Graphics card to see if that fixes the issue?

What bios are you running?
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,183 (2.11/day)
Likes
8,944
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i5 6500 / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + Scythe 1200rpm + 4 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,830 (3.63/day)
Likes
8,968
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#4
Remove the nic card and try the test again ,see if that helps

Also be certain you have the proper PCI speed checked in your bios settings

At the end of the day whether it's running @ X8 or x16 performance won't be affected. Also, the 5700 was a pcie 2.0 gpu right??
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,480 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,638
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#5
I have a 5770. The PCIE speed it wont matter as the card will not get faster.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Messages
3 (0.08/day)
Likes
4
System Name Prod4
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Cooling Air
Memory 8GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (ATI)
Power Supply 500 Watt
#6
...What bios are you running?
The F2 it's not the last one but the newer one don't mention any thing about pcie change
Gigabyte said:
  1. Beta BIOS
  2. Update CPU AGESA code
  1. Update CPU AGESA 3.7.0.0
  2. Support GIGABYTE On/Off Charge

Remove the nic card and try the test again ,see if that helps

Also be certain you have the proper PCI speed checked in your bios settings
Will do
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,861 (1.95/day)
Likes
1,385
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#7
Really doesn’t matter

As even with High end GPUs the performance is negligible between x8 & x16

As long as it does what you need it to just move on.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Messages
3 (0.08/day)
Likes
4
System Name Prod4
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Cooling Air
Memory 8GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (ATI)
Power Supply 500 Watt
#8
Voilà ! problem solve !

I had actually a WiFi nic on the PCIe x8 port. (I forgot about this nic) and according to the manual those port share PCIe lines.

without that card = everything back to normal.

 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,830 (3.63/day)
Likes
8,968
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#9
nice. glad its fixed
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#10
Voilà ! problem solve !

I had actually a WiFi nic on the PCIe x8 port. (I forgot about this nic) and according to the manual those port share PCIe lines.

without that card = everything back to normal.



It's always good to open ur case and look if anything is in the slot, since it's only newer boards that support overview of what's connected to every port and slot.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,830 (3.63/day)
Likes
8,968
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#11
since it's only newer boards that support overview
i never knew this function was available , not until i was dicking around in my UEFI one day, and saw a 3d version of all the components installed, and to my surprise, Where they were installed.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
Always read the motherboard manual.