• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Radeon HD77xx/78xx/79xx BIOS Editor

blurter

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
One thing to note; my stock bios (Asus DirectCU II Top) was showing 1.175v in Asus GPU Tweak but measuring with a multi metre was showing an actual load voltage of 1.21v. I used this tool to bump the volts to 1182mv (my crap cards need a bump from default volts to run 1125Mhz core stable) which shows 1.188v in Asus GPU tweak but reads wit multi metre as actual 1.23v load. Looks like my cards bios overvolts and doesn't v-droop. :wtf:
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
always verify this stuff by measuring with a multimeter
I'm playing with this BIOS editor and I have got my voltage setting set to max 1.6 volts on the software selector but under load with GPU-Z I am seeing a max vddc of 1.3v.


I tried 1.45v first and the voltage maxed the same at 1.3v.


Do you know where my voltage measurement points are on the Vapor X HD7950?
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
I edited BIOS with that software and got the +50 power setting and increased my voltage to 1.45 then 1.6v only to find that GPU-Z maxes at 1.3v reading with either voltage setting under load on my Vapor X HD7950 card.


I'm trying to figure out where the voltage measurement points are on my card so that I can measure with a voltmeter for verification. Wizzard has recommended to use voltmeter to measure when editing the BIOS for verification.


I'm not sure if the BIOS editor is working on my card.


Editied BIOS on my card with settings but not sure if settings are working.

 
Last edited:

325ixa

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
is there any way to lock memory clock to 300 mhz and leave everthing else in bios as it is?

for powercolor 7970 card.

thank you.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
This looks like a truly excellent in-the-works HD 7k series vBIOS tool :thumb: I'll be watching (and helping where I can) with keen interest. I have a HD7950 that is somewhat of a beast (can do 1250MHz GPU @ 1.05v and 6400MHz memory @ 1.6v) but is gimped by the stock settings Sapphire set in the vBIOS. I don't care about Overdrive not "initialising" in CCC I just want to be able to vBIOS mod and forget all about having to use sh|t OC software :D

ED - Whers all the kickass smilies we used to have gone?
 

robnitro

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
new york
Really? 1.05v actual volts for 1250? What is the current in (VRM current IN- as seen in gpu z and hwinfo64) when you run games? I find that when running demanding games or tests like occt, vdroop is almost 0.1v which kills an overclock fast, unless you run a low powertune number, which throttles the card to keep current draw (and power draw low).

This looks like a truly excellent in-the-works HD 7k series vBIOS tool :thumb: I'll be watching (and helping where I can) with keen interest. I have a HD7950 that is somewhat of a beast (can do 1250MHz GPU @ 1.05v and 6400MHz memory @ 1.6v) but is gimped by the stock settings Sapphire set in the vBIOS. I don't care about Overdrive not "initialising" in CCC I just want to be able to vBIOS mod and forget all about having to use sh|t OC software :D

ED - Whers all the kickass smilies we used to have gone?
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
This looks like a truly excellent in-the-works HD 7k series vBIOS tool :thumb: I'll be watching (and helping where I can) with keen interest. I have a HD7950 that is somewhat of a beast (can do 1250MHz GPU @ 1.05v and 6400MHz memory @ 1.6v) but is gimped by the stock settings Sapphire set in the vBIOS. I don't care about Overdrive not "initialising" in CCC I just want to be able to vBIOS mod and forget all about having to use sh|t OC software :D

ED - Whers all the kickass smilies we used to have gone?


Hoping this BiOS editor works out for Vapor X HD7950 which I am working with.

What brand and model of HD7950 do you have with the high over clocks?
Did you use a multimeter for voltage readings?
 

kahboom

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2011
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Amd Gaming Rig
Processor Amd Fx 8350 5Ghz/Amd Fx 8320 4.9ghz
Motherboard Asus crosshair V-Z ROG 990fx Ek-FB version2 and Three Regular Chv5's
Cooling Custom waterloop/ Custom waterloop
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2400mhz 10-12-12-31 4x4gb
Video Card(s) Msi Twin Frozr III HD 7950 modded bios Swifttech waterblocks
Storage Intel 520series 180gb,Corsair G/S 180gb Sata III,1gb carvair black sataIII, 2Gb carvair green sataII
Display(s) 42" Vizio LCD TV
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Intergrated/ Intergrated
Power Supply Corsair 1200w AX-i
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores not yet listed
http://www.overclock.net/t/1395490/ati-hd-7950-bios-mod-thread Thanks to the editor Bios tool i was able to calculate the proper vrm signal. while this works fine. The only thing is that Msi Afterburner does not work, if you try to apply anything it kicks the card back to stock volts and lowers card to low 3d clocks, so using trixx now, im on water so fan profile does not matter.
 

mingolito

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2013
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
http://www.overclock.net/t/1395490/ati-hd-7950-bios-mod-thread Thanks to the editor Bios tool i was able to calculate the proper vrm signal. while this works fine. The only thing is that Msi Afterburner does not work, if you try to apply anything it kicks the card back to stock volts and lowers card to low 3d clocks, so using trixx now, im on water so fan profile does not matter.
IDEM friend My only problem is the same situation with MSI saves the settings vcc than 1300mv. The second problem is that the bios editor at least for my card gigagyte 7870 oc voltage does not exceed the tax even if 1350mv 1400mv with bios editor imposed by gpu-z or hwinfo I always 1.350mv voltage of max.
Sorry for the English writing busted by 'Italian unfortunately.:wtf::confused::rolleyes:
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
Really? 1.05v actual volts for 1250? What is the current in (VRM current IN- as seen in gpu z and hwinfo64) when you run games? I find that when running demanding games or tests like occt, vdroop is almost 0.1v which kills an overclock fast, unless you run a low powertune number, which throttles the card to keep current draw (and power draw low).
Hoping this BiOS editor works out for Vapor X HD7950 which I am working with.

What brand and model of HD7950 do you have with the high over clocks?
Did you use a multimeter for voltage readings?
To answer you both;

- 1.05v measured with GPU-Z running Unigine Valley, settings used (set through CCC) were; 24xEQ, Edge Detect, Supersampling AA, Morphological enabled (just because), 16x AF, High Quality texture filtering, and tessellation set to 64x. So yea, about as much stress as I could put on the card :p Powertune was left at 0 as I flashed my 7950 with a 7970 vBIOS to get the higher GPU voltage (which I assume as it was 1.05v under extreme load vBIOS set voltage must be around 1.2v)

- HD7950 I have is a Vapor-X (8+8 pin), ASIC quality is 89%. I argued with some Sapphire techs on their forums about how badly designed the VRM cooling on this card is and physically showed them they have set the wrong memory voltage (according to the memory manufacturers own whitepaper) among other points, the techs just fell silent. :rolleyes: Once again its up to us enthusiasts to fix what the manufacturer has feked up.

Maybe its just me, but using this patcher it reads my Vapor-X 7950 vBIOS fine, I make my changes (including checking the box to patch VID) but GPU-Z still reports same crappy stock voltage (haven't tried 1250MHz again yet since going back to the stock vBIOS because of this). Am I missing something here or is there a bug in the utility?
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
KetXXX have you figured out where the voltage measurement points on the VApor X are?


I think there is a possibility because of custom PCB of Vapor X that the software (GPU-Z, HWinfo ect.) is reading voltage wrong.


If I figure out the voltage measurement points of our Vapor Xs I will post info... if you find out first please post.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
Maybe I'm going bonkers but I think some shaders at least are unlocking with the HD7970 vBIOS I was using on my 7950, I'll look at things more when this utility is more mature but basically now I have reverted to a tweaked stock vBIOS for my card I'm down about 12FPS vs the 7970 vBIOS in Valley. Right at the very start of the test with the 7970 vBIOS I was getting a solid 42FPS with everything maxed in CCC with the exception of AA, I switched that back to a "normal" 8x. Back with the vBIOS that came with my card I'm seeing around 32-33FPS :/

At a glance differences:

Tweaked 7950 vBIOS:
32-33FPS in the start of the Valley test
Can't clock GPU quite as far even with 1.2v vBIOS set (max is 1200MHz)
Can't clock memory as far either - only to about 1450MHz
GPU and VRM temps are lower, GPU by about 5c, VRMs by about 23c

7970 vBIOS
Solid 42FPS at start of Valley benchmark
GPU happily runs 1250MHz
Memory happily runs 1500MHz
GPU and VRM temps are higher, GPU by about 5c, VRMs by around 23c (making their max temp a bacon-and-eggs-fryup of 109c)

Of course all CCC / Valley settings were the same for these tests. Anyone else experience this before?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
yep, but change in perf isn't the shaders unlocking. you can tell if you have 7970's and 7950's...the perf increase isn't quite up to 7970 levels. It's close though, and seems to be more than memory timing tweaks. I spent a couple of months doing this to many many cards.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
KetXXX have you figured out where the voltage measurement points on the VApor X are?


I think there is a possibility because of custom PCB of Vapor X that the software (GPU-Z, HWinfo ect.) is reading voltage wrong.


If I figure out the voltage measurement points of our Vapor Xs I will post info... if you find out first please post.
Will do. I realised a long time ago GPU-Z is at least reading temps wrong. Using my temp gun if GPU-Z reports say 86c for the VRMs my temp gun says they are 64.7c, I'm inclined to go with my temp gun not only because its accurate to within 2% but the card itself isn't generating much heat in the VRM area, certainly not 86c worth.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
yep, but change in perf isn't the shaders unlocking. you can tell if you have 7970's and 7950's...the perf increase isn't quite up to 7970 levels. It's close though, and seems to be more than memory timing tweaks. I spent a couple of months doing this to many many cards.
Shame this vBIOS tool can't read the vBIOS I tried on my card, I'd at least be able to see what GPU voltage is set and fiddle with things a bit to try and sort VRM temps out. If anyone wants to try the 7970 vBIOS I tried I'll attach it to this post.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
Shame this vBIOS tool can't read the vBIOS I tried on my card, I'd at least be able to see what GPU voltage is set and fiddle with things a bit to try and sort VRM temps out. If anyone wants to try the 7970 vBIOS I tried I'll attach it to this post.
Did you flash that to your VApor X HD7950 with Elpida memory?
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
My Vapor-X has Hynix memory but I've used a Vapor-X vBIOS that looks like it was "for review samples only" as it has 1.6v memory voltage set and not 1.5v, like all the shipping Vapor-X cards have. So you can add false advertising I'd think to the Sapphire Vapor-X 7950 resume. Actually manipulating voltage in review samples sent out to make the card look better than what people will actually get (a severely gimped version) is outright disgraceful.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
many early 7950's had 1.6V memory in BIOS. I have a Gigabyte card like this, retail. I don't think Sapphire did anything wrong, they simply revised their card's BIOS.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
Thats the problem, the vBIOS I have isn't a early version, its 15.25.01, the only vBIOS newer for Vapor-X cards is 15.25.99. While Sapphire are within their right to make "revisions", they are also obligated to provide a changelog, which they have not. I'd put money on anyone seeing memory voltage being reduced wouldn't touch the "improved" vBIOS with somebody elses 100ft barge pole.
 

kahboom

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2011
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Amd Gaming Rig
Processor Amd Fx 8350 5Ghz/Amd Fx 8320 4.9ghz
Motherboard Asus crosshair V-Z ROG 990fx Ek-FB version2 and Three Regular Chv5's
Cooling Custom waterloop/ Custom waterloop
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2400mhz 10-12-12-31 4x4gb
Video Card(s) Msi Twin Frozr III HD 7950 modded bios Swifttech waterblocks
Storage Intel 520series 180gb,Corsair G/S 180gb Sata III,1gb carvair black sataIII, 2Gb carvair green sataII
Display(s) 42" Vizio LCD TV
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Intergrated/ Intergrated
Power Supply Corsair 1200w AX-i
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores not yet listed
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
^^^ nice work Over @ overclock :)
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
3,831 (1.48/day)
Likes
2,220
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5820K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz 15-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 32GB + Samsung 950Pro 256GB NVMe + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Now I am confused.

Does the tool fix checksum or I have to fix it afterwards.

Did anybody really follow wiz's suggestion and measured the darn voltage? I have a GV-R797OC-3GD v2.

So it is voltage locked, but I can flash a 7970TO bios and artificially my voltage is uppable to 1.26V but in the real life with measuring the real voltage it still has it's born 1.90V. Or as far I understood, the real voltage setting for V2's sets by changing ASIC quality and the vid is for tools?

I will go home from work and do some experiments.

PS.

"По отзывам буржуев был косяк" lmao :D :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2010
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Denmark
have tried to set for 50% power limit, but can not see anything on the msi afterburner / ccc but tests tendons on my 7970 1400/1800 can run a tad more now .
got blue screen after 10 minutes when I stare a game up,with VBIOS.
vgpu was also dropped from 1.3v to 1.273v load

I were out on a quiet start with my ref card, so my desire was 1.325v load, but it went the opposite way

ASIC 85.4

hmm
 

kahboom

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2011
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Amd Gaming Rig
Processor Amd Fx 8350 5Ghz/Amd Fx 8320 4.9ghz
Motherboard Asus crosshair V-Z ROG 990fx Ek-FB version2 and Three Regular Chv5's
Cooling Custom waterloop/ Custom waterloop
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2400mhz 10-12-12-31 4x4gb
Video Card(s) Msi Twin Frozr III HD 7950 modded bios Swifttech waterblocks
Storage Intel 520series 180gb,Corsair G/S 180gb Sata III,1gb carvair black sataIII, 2Gb carvair green sataII
Display(s) 42" Vizio LCD TV
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Intergrated/ Intergrated
Power Supply Corsair 1200w AX-i
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores not yet listed
Now I am confused.

Does the tool fix checksum or I have to fix it afterwards.

Did anybody really follow wiz's suggestion and measured the darn voltage? I have a GV-R797OC-3GD v2.

So it is voltage locked, but I can flash a 7970TO bios and artificially my voltage is uppable to 1.26V but in the real life with measuring the real voltage it still has it's born 1.90V. Or as far I understood, the real voltage setting for V2's sets by changing ASIC quality and the vid is for tools?

I will go home from work and do some experiments.

PS.

"По отзывам буржуев был косяк" lmao :D :D
For compatiblity reasons its best to use your own bios and if you edit bios correcting the checksum is something you would have to manually do. The tool is a great calculator. In bios if you flash or edit the whole table just above the table there is the max voltage. You might have to enter bios and raise this anyways i dont think this tool uncaps voltage, just raises ASIC values. Its a good start.
 

Taker

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Compatibility HD7970 Vapor-x?

Hello. I have two HD7970 Vapor-x (one x07 version and another version x0b). I would like to modify the bios Vapor-x but the program will not let me. It will be compatible with this wonderful program HD7970 Vapor-x?

Thank you very much and greetings .