• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon HD77xx/78xx/79xx BIOS Editor

Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
89 (0.03/day)
Likes
25
Processor I5 2500k 3.7ghz
Motherboard Asrock H61M ITX
Cooling True Extreme 120
Memory (2x2)4GB 1333 CL9
Video Card(s) Asus GTX760 2GB DCU2 OC
Storage SSD X25-M G2 80GB/HDD 250GB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920*1080
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Steelseries 7.1 USB external sound card
Power Supply HX750W

torsrex

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Thank you very much for the edited bios dr.noob. With a slight raise in voltage (1.250V) I was able to hit both 1200mHz and also 1215mHz (stable for the time being, not gotten a lot of time to test it yet, but it passes 3dmark, as well as an hour of msi kombustor). For some reason anything above 1.250V causes the gpu to crash (when using frequencies from 1215mHz and above) resulting in a bsod, even running the aforementioned 1215mHz on 1.275V causes it to crash, even though it runs stable at 1.250V. Not sure why this is happening, but I guess that's just some hardware limitation that cannot be done anything about. Still though, thank you very much, as I'm now able to raise the clock to 1215mHz, up from 1180mHz previously while keeping the temperatures around 80-85 degrees. ^^
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
89 (0.03/day)
Likes
25
Processor I5 2500k 3.7ghz
Motherboard Asrock H61M ITX
Cooling True Extreme 120
Memory (2x2)4GB 1333 CL9
Video Card(s) Asus GTX760 2GB DCU2 OC
Storage SSD X25-M G2 80GB/HDD 250GB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920*1080
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Steelseries 7.1 USB external sound card
Power Supply HX750W
Thanks for your feedback and i'm glad everything worked as expected. Either is the vrm signal that needs to be edited(no idea how) or the chip is not so good.

My ex msi twinfrozr 7850 2gb OC, 900mhz stock, did 1250mhz 1.3v stable.
 

torsrex

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
You're very much welcome, for some reason, it seems like it's able to pass benchmarks (heaven, 3dmark, kombustor and so on), but not able to play any games without crashing (after around 10-15 minutes of playing). I tried to run the same benchmarks while running the new frequency (1215mHz) with the old max voltage (1.225V) and it passes the same benchmarks, but I'm still not able to play any games using these settings, which makes me believe that the voltages might not be successfully applied. The card has an asics value of 81% if that could be of any help.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
89 (0.03/day)
Likes
25
Processor I5 2500k 3.7ghz
Motherboard Asrock H61M ITX
Cooling True Extreme 120
Memory (2x2)4GB 1333 CL9
Video Card(s) Asus GTX760 2GB DCU2 OC
Storage SSD X25-M G2 80GB/HDD 250GB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920*1080
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Steelseries 7.1 USB external sound card
Power Supply HX750W
I can't help any further than this, sorry about that.
 

micairvas

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi all. I have 2 graphic cards sapphire dualX 7950. Earlier I used those two cards for gaming, but now I using them mostly for mining, unfortunately I have problem with overheating.
While mining temperatures goes to 82C, fan 70%, 1020/1250. I using stock bios. Can somebody please can give me some low voltage bios which is good for mining for sapphire 7950 dualX?
Also I using linux bamt for mining, so I cant simply decrease voltage with software....
Thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard ASRock P55 Pro/USB3
Cooling water (cpu, and HDDs)
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX KHX1600C9D3/4GX
Video Card(s) Asus HD7870 DCU II
Storage Crucial M4 64GB, WD red, Samsung Spinpoint
Display(s) BenQ 2222HDL
Case Chieftec Bravo B01-WWW
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Corsair 520HX
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Hi all!

1st, sorry for my english! :) So, i have an Asus 7870 DirectCU II (HD7870-DC2-2GD5-V2) and when i use only one display (on DVI, on hdmi not matters) , i get green dots on the screen in 2D. If i increase the 2D voltage only by 10 from 825 to 835, everything will be fine. I made a profile in asus gpu tweak, but i'd like to change the default 2D gpu voltage in BIOS. Can somebody help me. how could i change this?

Thank u!
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.44/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
i get crc error when i try to extract the exe. does any one have this some where in a old folder that they can attatch to a post?
 
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Windows 7
Processor X5460
Motherboard EP45-DS3R
Video Card(s) Club 7850
Hi.Can somebody help me change bios in my card? I downloaded all bioses from here
Code:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?did=1002-6819-1787-2320
, but only one works only in windows. I have black screen using this bios when i start furmark. (
Code:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/136746/Powercolor.HD7850.2048.121031.rom
).
Info about my card.

Link to orginal card bios(in RBE i can't change voltage)
Code:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/9drxw8
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,900 (0.77/day)
Likes
897
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
Hi

Welcome to TPU

Link to orginal card bios(in RBE i can't change voltage)
Code:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/9drxw8
Make a copies of the original vbios image [keep one in a safe place]

Go here download VBE7 v.0.0.7b.exe

Run VBE7 and open a copy of the vbios image to edit and then save changes

Then flash the edited vbios image

Note: the vga card voltage regulators are not fully supported, but dose have a predefined table

Warning: making changes to the original vbios image will disable UEFI
UEFI image detected.jpg

atb

Law-II
 

kalliman

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
I'm trying to edit the BIOS on my XFX 7870 DD, but I'm receiving this message:
"Your card is non reference, voltage control is impossible."

The title of the message box is "wait for the next version". When we will have next version?

Thanks.
 

mekker

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I'm trying to edit the BIOS on my XFX 7870 DD, but I'm receiving this message:
"Your card is non reference, voltage control is impossible."

The title of the message box is "wait for the next version". When we will have next version?

Thanks.
Tryp VBE7, but currently you can choose only a few values from the voltage-table of the bios, because the card has a cheap crap vrm controller/sensor. I don't know why do you want to give 1,3v for that card, I have a Tahiti 7870 DD too, and I had to undervolt it, because it was boiling like hell. If you don't have a custom cooler on it, or it is not a Pitcairn-core card - look it in GPU-Z -, then you will just roast your card.
 
Last edited:

kalliman

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Tryp VBE7, but currently you can choose only a few values from the voltage-table of the bios, because the card has a cheap crap vrm controller/sensor. I don't know why do you want to give 1,3v for that card, I have a Tahiti 7870 DD too, and I had to undervolt it, because it was boiling like hell. If you don't have a custom cooler on it, or it is not a Pitcairn-core card - look it in GPU-Z -, then you will just roast your card.
I tried VBE7, but it seems that it doesn't support my vrm controller :(... Btw, Do you know what is ( or how to find out ) the exact vrm model ?

About the temperatures - indeed the cooler of this card is crap. I deeply regret that I've choosen XFX, but its too late now. But I cleaned it and put Noctua's thermal paste and that magically dropped the temperatures with ~5 degrees. Also currently I have crossfire, and the upper card is Sapphire 270X toxic. It has 3 coolers and also it is able to cool the bottom card from its back side. Well in general in that configuration I don't have much temperatures issues and I'm able to pass Furmark burn test. While gaming the temperatures are ~ 60. But the problem is that I think that XFX card is slowing the whole configuration. That is why I want to increase its speed a bit.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,875 (4.50/day)
Likes
6,170
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
I tried VBE7, but it seems that it doesn't support my vrm controller :(... Btw, Do you know what is ( or how to find out ) the exact vrm model ?

About the temperatures - indeed the cooler of this card is crap. I deeply regret that I've choosen XFX, but its too late now. But I cleaned it and put Noctua's thermal paste and that magically dropped the temperatures with ~5 degrees. Also currently I have crossfire, and the upper card is Sapphire 270X toxic. It has 3 coolers and also it is able to cool the bottom card from its back side. Well in general in that configuration I don't have much temperatures issues and I'm able to pass Furmark burn test. While gaming the temperatures are ~ 60. But the problem is that I think that XFX card is slowing the whole configuration. That is why I want to increase its speed a bit.
As I said in the VBE7 thread, why even bother to check what voltage regulator you have, you know it's not software programmeable, just google "XFX HD7870 DD voltage locked" and you will come across hundreds of links that confirm that XFX have stopped using programmable controllers for some of their models.
 

mekker

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
270X is just a renamed 7870 OC, it has the same Pitcairn core. So on the same clocks, the XFX should be faster. If you really want to OC it, then buy a second-hand cooler with vrm cooling (e.g.: Arctic Twn Turbo, Alpenföhn Peter, Zalman VF etc.) - it costs less than 50$ -, and set the voltage in VBE to the maximum plus set the TDP limit to max (+20%) too. I think that may be enough for an 1200-1250Mhz clockrate.
Some Google-translate crap, it may help you with setting the ideal TDP limit and voltage.
The only software solution for higher voltage is to modify the voltage table, but VBE doesnt support it yet, so you have to find it out on your own.

One of the maker of VBE7 is active on a non-English speaking forum what I visit recently, so I can ask him again, whether he will continue the project or not. Darkhmz (who u can find on TPU forum) has been inactive for 10-11 months.
I have no much knowledge about OCing, so I can't give you more useful advices.
 

kalliman

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
270X is just a renamed 7870 OC, it has the same Pitcairn core. So on the same clocks, the XFX should be faster. If you really want to OC it, then buy a second-hand cooler with vrm cooling (e.g.: Arctic Twn Turbo, Alpenföhn Peter, Zalman VF etc.) - it costs less than 50$ -, and set the voltage in VBE to the maximum plus set the TDP limit to max (+20%) too. I think that may be enough for an 1200-1250Mhz clockrate.
Some Google-translate crap, it may help you with setting the ideal TDP limit and voltage.
The only software solution for higher voltage is to modify the voltage table, but VBE doesnt support it yet, so you have to find it out on your own.

One of the maker of VBE7 is active on a non-English speaking forum what I visit recently, so I can ask him again, whether he will continue the project or not. Darkhmz (who u can find on TPU forum) has been inactive for 10-11 months.
I have no much knowledge about OCing, so I can't give you more useful advices.
Hi,

Most likely my card has unprogrammable voltage regulator - thus it is not, even theoretically possible, to to modify the voltages. As I said I don't have thermal issues, I just wanted to up my XFX more. Unfortunately, this seems impossible and even if possible I don't think the benefits would be more than several FPS, which are not a big deal. Next time I'll choose some of the big manufactures and never again XFX.

Btw, In general it seems that we have a very funny story with XFX. Initially they released unlocked cards with better design and sent them to the reviewers. later they simplified the VGA design ( most likely in order to save some money ). And people like, me read the reviews, which claims that the card is cheaper, cool and not overheating, but bought the second and less effective version of the card and then have problems. I'm not sure that this theory is 100% true, but I'm 101 % sure that will never buy XFX again.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,875 (4.50/day)
Likes
6,170
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
Hi,

Most likely my card has unprogrammable voltage regulator - thus it is not, even theoretically possible, to to modify the voltages. As I said I don't have thermal issues, I just wanted to up my XFX more. Unfortunately, this seems impossible and even if possible I don't think the benefits would be more than several FPS, which are not a big deal. Next time I'll choose some of the big manufactures and never again XFX.

Btw, In general it seems that we have a very funny story with XFX. Initially they released unlocked cards with better design and sent them to the reviewers. later they simplified the VGA design ( most likely in order to save some money ). And people like, me read the reviews, which claims that the card is cheaper, cool and not overheating, but bought the second and less effective version of the card and then have problems. I'm not sure that this theory is 100% true, but I'm 101 % sure that will never buy XFX again.
It's partly true, additionally they were finding that with their higher end models with non reference coolers that were initially voltage unlocked, lots of enthusiasts were pushing them to the limit in voltage terms, burning them out then trying to RMA/Warranty replace, it put XFX in a difficult situation because at one time they were proud to quote that overclocking would not void warranties.
 

mekker

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
As far as I know there is a Pitcairn-core XFX 7870, which came with unlocked voltage, but that's another model.
I am satisfied with the card despite of all the issues. It was the cheapest 7870 and it is ~20-25% stronger, than a stock Pitcairn 7870.
Just underclocked, running at 1100/1500Mhz, used some new thermal grease and the card stays under 75-80C after 30mins of Furmark (w/o 100%fanspeed).
You say waste, I say best buy. (but I am totally off now sorry)

+1 really interesting thing:
There was a kid ("sakulthefirst") on overclockers.net forum, who stated that he had underclocked his card, but I have no idea how. He is even online on Steam, but no responding for buddy request... (open the link)
 

kalliman

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Btw, just to mention that My XFX 7870 is the GHz edition and it is running at 1000/1200. My other card is running at 1100/1500 and that is why I think that the first one is slowing my CF configuration. ( The UH benches confirm that ).
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,875 (4.50/day)
Likes
6,170
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
I just sold my old Gigabyte HD7870 OC card, it was voltage unlocked but even without additional voltage it would do 1220mhz, I once gave it 1.3V for kicks and chickened out once I got to 1325mhz, best card I ever owned! Completely silent too.
 

kalliman

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2014
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Even in a single mode my XFX it is stable in just 1100/1250. In Crossfire mode UH4.0 benchmark crashes or the whole OS gets frozen .