• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon Navi 2 cards having problems with videos?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Warigator

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2022
Messages
22 (0.15/day)
I have a new Radeon 6000 card and it drops frames in YouTube videos like crazy, also interrupts sound during gameplay (only in some games) and during watching videos. My drivers are up-to-date.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2020
Messages
474 (0.80/day)
System Name Dusty
Processor 5900x
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengence LPX 32GB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X
Storage yes
Case Fractal Design Define R6
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w
VR HMD Oculus CV1
Your going to need to supply more information than that.
What browser do you use, which videos, quality settings, which codec is it attempting to use etc.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Turn off hardware acceleration in webbrowser, its not needed.

What are your system specs?
 

Warigator

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2022
Messages
22 (0.15/day)
I mean 2160p 60fps vp09. I turned hardware acceleration off and it's even worse. I use Google Chrome browser, but it's the same in Firefox. It's slightly better in Microsoft Edge, but I prefer to not use that browser. Things used to be normal before I changed to Radeon 6000 series. My CPU is fast enough to handle 4K videos.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
328 (0.32/day)
Processor i9-9900K @ 5.1GHz (H2O Cooled)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
Cooling CPU = EK Velocity / GPU = EK Vector
Memory 32GB - G-Skill Trident Z RGB @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) AMD RX 6900 XT (H2O Cooled)
Storage Samsung 860 EVO - 970 EVO - 870 QVO
Display(s) Samsung QN90A 50" 4K TV & LG 20" 1600x900
Case Lian Li O11-D
Audio Device(s) Presonus Studio 192
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2S
Keyboard Matias RGB Backlit Keyboard
Software Windows 10 & macOS (Hackintosh)
I have a new Radeon 6000 card and it drops frames in YouTube videos like crazy, also interrupts sound during gameplay (only in some games) and during watching videos. My drivers are up-to-date.


can you actually prove the 6000 series GPU is the culprit? to do so you would need to install a different card, and lets assume the problem goes away. that would lend itself to proving your theory. if the problem stays, there's your sign you need to look elsewhere in your setup for the smoking gun.

I wouldn't stop there though. if it were me I'd swap the cards back and forth more than once to make sure the pattern repeats, whether the issue stays or goes away at that. it would remove any doubt the problem or solution is a fluke

and FYI 6000 series GPUs are called RDNA2 to distinguish between RDNA architecture on the 5000 series GPUs. Navi is names for the chips, those all have two digits like Navi 22 for example. there is no such thing as Navi 2
 
Last edited:

auxy

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2021
Messages
16 (0.05/day)
My CPU is fast enough to handle 4K videos.
VP9 is incredibly CPU-intensive to decode. I'm not sure what CPU you have, since you didn't say, but I would not assume that your CPU is fully capable of CPU-decoding 4K60 VP9 codec. A lot of people have this impression that video decoding is this simple thing; it isn't. If it were, we wouldn't have whole dedicated blocks of silicon for the task.

On a Ryzen 5 5600G, decoding a 4K60 YouTube video with AV1 codec uses around 70% of the CPU, and it will skip a few frames here and there. VP9 decoders aren't as well-tuned as AV1; if you're using any older CPU, I would be surprised if it actually were fast enough to CPU-decode.

Anyway, what specific "Radeon 6000 Series" GPU did you get?
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
209 (0.23/day)
2160p 60fps vp09 on Radeon 6000 should work fine, there's a problem there somewhere. Could be a few things, maybe try driver clean install first.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2020
Messages
474 (0.80/day)
System Name Dusty
Processor 5900x
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengence LPX 32GB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X
Storage yes
Case Fractal Design Define R6
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w
VR HMD Oculus CV1
VP9 is incredibly CPU-intensive to decode. I'm not sure what CPU you have, since you didn't say, but I would not assume that your CPU is fully capable of CPU-decoding 4K60 VP9 codec. A lot of people have this impression that video decoding is this simple thing; it isn't. If it were, we wouldn't have whole dedicated blocks of silicon for the task.

On a Ryzen 5 5600G, decoding a 4K60 YouTube video with AV1 codec uses around 70% of the CPU, and it will skip a few frames here and there. VP9 decoders aren't as well-tuned as AV1; if you're using any older CPU, I would be surprised if it actually were fast enough to CPU-decode.

Anyway, what specific "Radeon 6000 Series" GPU did you get?

No, VP9 is not harder to decode than AV1, its the other way around. AV1 is significantly harder to decode than VP9.



Dav1d being the default AV1 decoder in ffmpeg, chrome, firefox and VLC.
 

auxy

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2021
Messages
16 (0.05/day)
No, VP9 is not harder to decode than AV1, its the other way around. AV1 is significantly harder to decode than VP9.



Dav1d being the default AV1 decoder in ffmpeg, chrome, firefox and VLC.
Testing (right now) doesn't support your statement. I see much higher CPU usage decoding a YouTube video in VP9 (forcing software decode) than the same video in AV1 (no GPU decode available).
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2020
Messages
474 (0.80/day)
System Name Dusty
Processor 5900x
Motherboard MSI B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengence LPX 32GB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3070 Gaming X
Storage yes
Case Fractal Design Define R6
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w
VR HMD Oculus CV1
Testing (right now) doesn't support your statement. I see much higher CPU usage decoding a YouTube video in VP9 (forcing software decode) than the same video in AV1 (no GPU decode available).
1: That is testing done by the developer of the AV1 decoder used in the major browsers currently, as well as other tools who wish to make use of it.
2: That seems like a issue on your side specifically in that case. Because it's not exactly an unknown that AV1 is harder to decode in software compared to older less complex codecs. Hardware acceleration however generally means it doesn't matter that much.
avp9.PNG
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
11,173 (1.84/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
Ctrl+alt+del

choose task manager

list tasks by GPU or CPU performance and see what’s taking up time when it’s skipping, take a screen shot and post it
 

Warigator

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2022
Messages
22 (0.15/day)
I have an Nvidia card lying around, that's weaker and it runs VP09 in perfectly smooth 4K 60fps.

Task manager shows low CPU and GPU utilization during video playback.

Even the beginning intro (when you start the game) video in Final Fantasy XIII stutters. It isn't that way with older Radeon cards or older Nvidia cards from my experience. And I didn't need to do anything for it to work seamlessly on older hardware.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
4,305 (3.52/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Even the paltry RX 6400 has VP9 hardware decode, and since it still stutters with hardware acceleration disabled we can rule out the graphics card.

It's far more likely to be an issue with the Windows audio drivers. There will be HDMI audio drivers left behind by the Nvidia card and it wouldn't be the first time I'd seen these cause problems when changing to either Intel graphics or AMD graphics.

I think @mb194dc is on the right track; The next thing I would do if it was my problem to solve would be to uninstall the motherboard's sound driver, uninstall any AMD/Nvidia drivers via control panel, and then perform a safe-mode DDU to remove AMD and Nvidia drivers, it won't hurt to use it on the Realtek drivers if you have Realtek onboard sound enabled, either.

 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
3,433 (1.55/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14 @3800Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6900 XT Red Devil 1.1v@2400Mhz
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD / LG 27GN950
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) Realtec 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
I have an Nvidia card lying around, that's weaker and it runs VP09 in perfectly smooth 4K 60fps.

Task manager shows low CPU and GPU utilization during video playback.

Even the beginning intro (when you start the game) video in Final Fantasy XIII stutters. It isn't that way with older Radeon cards or older Nvidia cards from my experience. And I didn't need to do anything for it to work seamlessly on older hardware.
First of all, give people full spec of your system and what software you are using otherwise nobody will try guessing what the problem might be.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I have an Nvidia card lying around, that's weaker and it runs VP09 in perfectly smooth 4K 60fps.

Task manager shows low CPU and GPU utilization during video playback.

Even the beginning intro (when you start the game) video in Final Fantasy XIII stutters. It isn't that way with older Radeon cards or older Nvidia cards from my experience. And I didn't need to do anything for it to work seamlessly on older hardware.
Its an old friggin game from 2009, what you expect? Not optimized for newer hardware.

Contact square and AMD on their forums. For this problem or submit bug report through drivers...

XB 360/PS3

First of all, give people full spec of your system and what software you are using otherwise nobody will try guessing what the problem might be.

At most youd probably need a User/Fan patch for newer hardware.

I remember running a x1950 Pro AGP and had to have WMP running in Background just to keep MCM2 from running in Hyper Mode, same for Deus EX, I believe UT 99 as well.
 
Last edited:

Warigator

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2022
Messages
22 (0.15/day)
I uninstalled all Nvidia drivers and FF XIII intro still stutters.
I use FF XIII intro only as an example, the point is than various videos stutters, not only this one.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Sounds like a problem elsewhere in your rig
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I uninstalled all Nvidia drivers and FF XIII intro still stutters.
I use FF XIII intro only as an example, the point is than various videos stutters, not only this one.
Somewhere else in your system and the game is old as hell.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
53,898 (8.33/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz +Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
20 posts in with no system specs

Heres the thing: You have a problem you cant solve, but you're forcing everyone to solve it the exact way you did - meaning no one can help you since your method obviously didn't fix the issue.

^ Fill out the system specs. Change the drop down to yes.

In the time since you changed GPU from whatever mystery it was to whatever the new card is, windows updates happened, driver changes happened, for all we know you updated firmwares and changed a dozen things you deemed unimportant but might actually be the cause of your symptoms.

Hell this could just be the ryzen fTPM bug but we'd never know, why even ask for help if you won't listen to what anyone is saying?
 

hicelery

New Member
Joined
May 17, 2022
Messages
2 (0.05/day)
I have the same issues on my Navi 22 system (ryzen 3600, 16gb 3200mhz, 6700xt, b550M on latest bios)
This issue occurs using instant replay supplied in the driver package and is present in drivers 22.3.1 to present.
Instant replay not only makes hardware accelerated programs unresponsive or laggy, but begets a huge performance hit to games (around 50fps in high refresh titles at 1080p)

I outlined my findings in a reddit post here: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/upgn4d The issue seems to lie entirely in using a ryzen 3000 series cpu with the newer drivers - I have swapped every other piece of hardware and tested 2 6700xts in alder lake systems and this issue isnt present

The best work around for now is to report the issue to AMD and rollback to 22.2.3
 

hicelery

New Member
Joined
May 17, 2022
Messages
2 (0.05/day)
Well that's interesting to hear - try turning instant replay off and seeing if your video issues resolve, if so send a bug report to amd and hope they fix it in a later driver
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,494 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Well that's interesting to hear - try turning instant replay off and seeing if your video issues resolve, if so send a bug report to amd and hope they fix it in a later driver
He is to friggin vague.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top