• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon VII and Eyefinity with none Displayport monitors

Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.Skill Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 2x Acer P243w and 1 Acer G245h in the midle
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
I jumped the Hype Train and bought a Sapphire Radeon VII - delivery 22.2.2019. I am using a 3 monitor setup and need a DVI-D or HDMI to displayport solution. My monitors only support 60Hz and 1920x1200 resolution.

I am considering this solution http://www.clicktronic.com/en/products/dvi/productview/displayportdvi_adapterkabel_casual/ but would a HDMI solution be better?

I curently run my games in a 6300x1200 Eyefinity mode on my 3 monitors.

Any experience with Vega 56 / 64 and Eyefinity without Displayport?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
135 (0.08/day)
Location
Perth , West Australia
System Name gamer 14
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700 X
Motherboard Asus AMD X 370
Cooling Standard Air
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2 x 8 gb DDR 4
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700 XT 8 GB Strix
Storage Intel SSD 240 gb Speed Demon & WD 240 SSD Blue
Display(s) Asus XG 32 V ROG
Case Corsair AIR ATX
Audio Device(s) Realtech standard
Power Supply Corsair 850 Modular
Mouse CM Havoc
Keyboard Corsair Cherry Mechanical
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Unigine_Superposition 4K ultra 7422
would it be possible to invest in a 144 hz , 2k or 4 k monitor to get the best of your new GPU ?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.Skill Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 2x Acer P243w and 1 Acer G245h in the midle
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Im happy with my setup just needed a most over due upgrade from my R9 290
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
135 (0.08/day)
Location
Perth , West Australia
System Name gamer 14
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700 X
Motherboard Asus AMD X 370
Cooling Standard Air
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2 x 8 gb DDR 4
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700 XT 8 GB Strix
Storage Intel SSD 240 gb Speed Demon & WD 240 SSD Blue
Display(s) Asus XG 32 V ROG
Case Corsair AIR ATX
Audio Device(s) Realtech standard
Power Supply Corsair 850 Modular
Mouse CM Havoc
Keyboard Corsair Cherry Mechanical
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Unigine_Superposition 4K ultra 7422
that's good then , actually I had a r9290x in 2014 and was very pleased :rolleyes:
um for my info this sounds like a setup ive not used before eg : so the monitors u have don't have display port ?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.Skill Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 2x Acer P243w and 1 Acer G245h in the midle
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Yes and I am not sure what would be the better solution, all monitors support DVI-D. But HDMI would be easier and then only demand to converter cables because the card already have one HDMI
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.Skill Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 2x Acer P243w and 1 Acer G245h in the midle
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Have you used those before?

And is DVI-D a better choise than HDMI?
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
723 (1.36/day)
Location
Haswell, USA
System Name Matrexx 55 | Clevo P770ZM
Processor i7 8700K 5GHZ 1.35v | 4790K 4.6ghz 1.3V |
Motherboard Z390 Gaming X | Z97 Clevo |
Cooling Macho Rev B | Laptop heatsinks
Memory 64GB | 32GB 2400MHZ SODIMM
Video Card(s) Vega 56 | GTX 980M
Storage 512GB MX100 + 1.5TB Spinpoint HDD | 256GB MX300 + 1TB HDD|
Display(s) 1080P 144HZ/1200 66HZ (2)/ 1440P 60HZ | 1080P 75HZ 15.4 |
Case Matrexx 55 | Laptop shells
Audio Device(s) Various sound cards
Power Supply 750W | 330W |
Mouse too many
Keyboard K552 | Acer and Dell OEM KB's |
Software Windows 8.1/Windows 10/OSX "Mojave"
Displayport>HDMI>DVI>VGA
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.Skill Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 2x Acer P243w and 1 Acer G245h in the midle
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
So you would recommend 3 times displayport to HDMI instead of the displayport to DVI-D
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,945 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.Skill Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 2x Acer P243w and 1 Acer G245h in the midle
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Yes HDMI and DVI-D and VGA
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,945 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Yes HDMI and DVI-D and VGA
Then you'll have easier time buying generic DP to HDMI cables.
But regarding your original question: no there will be no difference between HDMI or DVI-D (at least for your particular monitors).
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
570 (1.40/day)
Displayport>HDMI>DVI>VGA
HDMI = DVI, the exact same signaling.
There are completely passive inexpensive cables or adapters that can convert between one and another, both ways.

(actually, DVI is theoretically superior since it can use dual-channel signals, allowing higher resolution that HDMI which is single channel . Or it was, until HDMI 2.0 made it unnecessary)
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,367 (1.36/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Don't you need active display port adapters?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.Skill Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 2x Acer P243w and 1 Acer G245h in the midle
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Don't you need active display port adapters?
Good question - any ideas?

My monitors all support 1920x1200 60Hzso max resolution should not be limited by HDMI
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,945 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Don't you need active display port adapters?
Yes, but most of those are bus-powered (transceiver is usually on a small PCB inside one of the connectors).
All the bigger "active" converters are only made that big to justify higher price tag, or to accommodate extra features (pseudo-MST for multiple outputs, audio DAC, etc.).
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.Skill Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 2x Acer P243w and 1 Acer G245h in the midle
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Yes, but most of those are bus-powered (transceiver is usually on a small PCB inside one of the connectors).
All the bigger "active" converters are only made that big to justify higher price tag, or to accommodate extra features (pseudo-MST for multiple outputs, audio DAC, etc.).
Would these Displayport to DVI-D cables work? http://www.clicktronic.com/en/products/dvi/productview/displayportdvi_adapterkabel_casual/

I am considering the Displayport to HDMI as the alternative http://www.clicktronic.com/nc/en/products/displayport/productview/displayporthdmiTM_adapterkabel_casual/
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
1,308 (0.40/day)
Location
Right where I want to be
System Name Ratchet
Processor Ryzen 3800X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VII Formula
Cooling Ek Velocity
Memory F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage 1TB WD M.2 SSD/ 2T WD SN750
Display(s) DELL AW3420DW / HP ZR24w
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 1000W
Mouse Corsair Scimitar/Glorious Model O-
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
HDMI = DVI, the exact same signaling.
There are completely passive inexpensive cables or adapters that can convert between one and another, both ways.

(actually, DVI is theoretically superior since it can use dual-channel signals, allowing higher resolution that HDMI which is single channel . Or it was, until HDMI 2.0 made it unnecessary)
Beat me to it. This, it really comes down to whether the GPU is going to be connected to a Television or a Monitor, HDMI and DVI respectively should be the connector of choice. Except in the case of 4k resolutions HDMI is the default connector, as DVI-D can't handle beyond 2560 x 1600
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.Skill Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 2x Acer P243w and 1 Acer G245h in the midle
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Well I think I am going for 2 times Displayport to HDMI cable then, since I can use one of my existing HDMI cables directly on the Radeon VII

Now Im just waiting for the card - the shop Komplett acutally promises cards as early as the 17 feb now. Hope Sapphire was the best rebranded card of choise

Thanks for all your input will update when my card is in place :lovetpu:
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,945 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Why would you wanna spend 35 euro per cable? Just get some generic $5-$8 ones and call it a day. Invest the remaining money into my non-profit beer fund. :D
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIAFTY6YB9738&Description=Displayport to HDMI&cm_re=Displayport_to_HDMI-_-183-007H-00075-_-Product

Not sure where you'd get those in Denmark, but here in Ukraine you can probably get one of those in any office supply or electronics store at approximately the same price.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.Skill Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 2x Acer P243w and 1 Acer G245h in the midle
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
I have a local Danish dealer with fair prices and is going to support them, but will look in to the alternatives :)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,469 (3.99/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
When I ran 3 DVI displays on 6870s in crossfire and with the 390, I needed at least one active DP (or mini-DP in the case of the 6870,) adapter. I'm not sure if the same is required for this card... or even the Vega 64 I have now for that matter now that I have a 4k on DisplayPort. In the past, these cards only could drive two HDMI or DVI displays without an active adapter. I'm not sure if that's still a thing now or not.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,565 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I jumped the Hype Train and bought a Sapphire Radeon VII - delivery 22.2.2019. I am using a 3 monitor setup and need a DVI-D or HDMI to displayport solution. My monitors only support 60Hz and 1920x1200 resolution.

I am considering this solution http://www.clicktronic.com/en/products/dvi/productview/displayportdvi_adapterkabel_casual/ but would a HDMI solution be better?

I curently run my games in a 6300x1200 Eyefinity mode on my 3 monitors.

Any experience with Vega 56 / 64 and Eyefinity without Displayport?
Assuming your monitors are 1920x1200 @ 60 Hz, those will work but they look awfully expensive.


When using DP to DVI, it can only do single-link (1920x1200@60Hz) because it lacks the physical connections to do dual-link. The active adapters that can do full DP to DVI dual-link are very expensive (like $100). Sooooooo, DP 1.3 to HDMI 2.0 is the way to go.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R7 3800x@4525MHz/E5800@4GHz/Skylake 6400
Processor R7 3800x/E5800/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus P5QL-EM/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 16GB CMK16GX4M2B3600C18 CL14/Kingston HyperX PC8500 - 4GB/G.Skill Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/HD7800XT / R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/Seagate 7200 series 12, 11, 10 and 9 / 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 2x Acer P243w and 1 Acer G245h in the midle
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/Gold Silverstone 850watt/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Got my card and the Displayport to HDMI cables worked perfect, had a minor driver issue - but DDU clean install with a DDU uninstall of AMD and Intel GPU drivers did the trick.
 

IceZero09

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
4 (0.13/day)
Hey guys, I hope you don't mind me asking a very similar question in this old thread. I have just bought an RX 5700 XT (haven't received it yet) and have 3 x 1920 x 1200 resolution monitors (haven't used Eyefinity for years, not since the HD 5870 days when I had 2 x HD 5870 in Crossfire. I'm also currently just using 2 of the screens connected via DVI, the other one is sitting in the cupboard right now), however, two of my Monitors have only DVI and VGA connectors, the third one which is a Dell U2410 has pretty much everything (Displayport, HDMI, DVI etc. but they would all be older versions of each format. I'd assume Displayport is 1.2, but I guess none of that would matter on the resolution I'm on?).

Anyway, I remember back in the day you needed expensive active Displayport to DVI adapters, but since this new card doesn't have DVI, is that still needed? Would that still be the case, or could I just use some cheaper Displayport to DVI or HDMI to DVI cables along with one Displayport to Displayport cable, or one HDMI to HDMI on the Dell U2410. What would be best to use on the Dell U2410 for the straight through cable? Displayport or HDMI? I'd assume Displayport as the RX 5700XT has 3 x Displayport and 1 x HDMI outputs on it.

Can someone please give me some links to what I would need. Not so much for the prices, but more so, so that I can see what cables I'd need?

Before you guys mention get a gaming Monitor, I just wanted to say that I wanted to try out Eyefinity one more time before deciding on whether or not to buy a gaming Monitor. Do you guys think I should definitely go for a gaming Monitor when I can afford one over this Eyefinity setup I am trying to get going?

I've been looking at current gaming Monitors and was looking at FreeSync Monitor that is also G-Sync compatible. The rest of the specs I'm looking at - 27in 144Hz 1440p. Something like this is what I have been looking at https://www.pccasegear.com/products/47572/lg-ultragear-27gl850-qhd-144hz-g-sync-hdr-ips-27in-monitor I'm also open to other recommendations if you guys have any for Monitors.
 
Top