• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon VII & GPU-Z support?

Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Is the Radeon VII supported yet by GPU-Z?
In particular, there seems to be a problem in certain systems such as with the Intel X299 chipset, of being forced into "CSM enabled" mode when the Radeon VII is installed.
Would like to use GPU-Z to double-check that the "UEFI bios check box" for this card is indeed checked.
Thanks.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,002 (5.34/day)
Likes
12,425
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
According to the VBIOS info in TPU's Database, the Radeon VII VBIOS doesn't actually support UEFI. That seems like a pretty big oversight on AMD's part to me...
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,087 (1.02/day)
Likes
3,185
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#3
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,223 (2.13/day)
Likes
6,898
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#4
I am sure I read somewhere on the forums that @W1zzard was working on getting it to work with GPU-Z. I think there was something going on. Hopefully, he can correct me if I'm wrong.
 
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
608 (0.44/day)
Likes
883
Location
Renton, WA
#7
Are you kidding me? A 2019 GPU that does not support UEFI??
It's likely a reporting error. Every other Vega based product has UEFI, seems like a massive headache to make a card that doesn't. It may have a hybrid UEFI/BIOS for extended compatibility, and the database is just not recognizing it. (Something that AMD did actually offer with the Fury X.)
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,087 (1.02/day)
Likes
3,185
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#8
It's likely a reporting error. Every other Vega based product has UEFI, seems like a massive headache to make a card that doesn't. It may have a hybrid UEFI/BIOS for extended compatibility, and the database is just not recognizing it. (Something that AMD did actually offer with the Fury X.)
It was an optional BIOS with UEFI support for FuryX after the card was released for more than 6 months. I do remember that.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,559 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,236
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#10
It doesn't appear to be a reporting error. There doesn't seem to be a UEFI GOP image(and/or a compressed EFI ROM containing it) in the BIOS. At least not one that I can find by looking for it assuming the PCIR data structure(which they've always used in the past). There's only one instance of the Device ID in it too. So unless they've omitted that from the UEFI GOP image(which I can't imagine they could/would), it's not likely the UEFI GOP image exists in any form. Weird...

@vailr in case you didn't get the gist of that...unless they've changed things drastically in the manner that they've implemented UEFI GOP support(which AFAIK is not even possible while retaining compatibility)...the card doesn't have a BIOS that supports UEFI GOP(which is also evident by having to use "CSM enabled" mode). In other words...all is working exactly as it should be...given the circumstances. So far as I can tell...

NO UEFI GOP FOR YOU!

Unless...

WARNING! Proceed henceforth in this post with EXTREME CAUTION!

Now. You'd be a fool to try flashing it without a dual BIOS card(or another GPU/IGP to get you into Windows so you can use ATIFlash), and/or a means to flash the BIOS EEPROM via specialized hardware(SPI flasher), if it didn't work. However, I just made a Radeon VII BIOS with UEFI support using the latest Vega compatible AMD GOP version 2.4.0.0.0. I would NOT expect it to work. It might. But just to be clear...DON'T DO IT, DON'T DO IT, DON'T DO IT...I WARNED YOU NOT TO DO IT!!! That being said...the file is attached below for research purposes ONLY! NOT FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION!
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
608 (0.44/day)
Likes
883
Location
Renton, WA
#11
It doesn't appear to be a reporting error. There doesn't seem to be a UEFI GOP image(and/or a compressed EFI ROM containing it) in the BIOS. At least not one that I can find by looking for it assuming the PCIR data structure(which they've always used in the past). There's only one instance of the Device ID in it too. So unless they've omitted that from the UEFI GOP image(which I can't imagine they could/would), it's not likely the UEFI GOP image exists in any form. Weird...

@vailr in case you didn't get the gist of that...unless they've changed things drastically in the manner that they've implemented UEFI GOP support(which AFAIK is not even possible while retaining compatibility)...the card doesn't have a BIOS that supports UEFI GOP(which is evident by having to use "CSM enabled" mode). In other words...all is working exactly as it should be...given the circumstances. So far as I can tell...

NO UEFI GOP FOR YOU!
What a strange decision by AMD.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,559 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,236
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#12
What a strange decision by AMD.
It may be that they couldn't for some reason. That's pretty much the only reason I can think of for them not to have. I mean...it was easy enough for me to do it with lordkag's UEFI GOP updater tool. Surely they could have done it just as easily if they wanted to. Unless it's just not possible to make it work ATM.
 

DSM2

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Messages
3 (0.08/day)
Likes
2
#13
WARNING! Proceed henceforth in this post with EXTREME CAUTION!

Now. You'd be a fool to try flashing it without a dual BIOS card(or another GPU/IGP to get you into Windows so you can use ATIFlash), or a means to flash the BIOS EEPROM via specialized hardware(SPI flasher), if it didn't work. However, I just made a Radeon VII BIOS with UEFI support using the latest Vega compatible AMD GOP version 2.4.0.0.0. I would NOT expect it to work. It might. But just to be clear...DON'T DO IT, DON'T DO IT, DON'T DO IT...I WARNED YOU NOT TO DO IT!!! That being said...the file is attached below for research purposes ONLY! NOT FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION!
Anyone tried it already ?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
10,623 (2.51/day)
Likes
9,645
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FS/TS ext: FS 10778:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/18092626 TS 3734:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6001589
#14
A simple way to validate this would be to try to use UEFI secure boot.

IT shouldn't boot without a proper UEFI image IIRC.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,087 (1.02/day)
Likes
3,185
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#15
A simple way to validate this would be to try to use UEFI secure boot.

IT shouldn't boot without a proper UEFI image IIRC.
On the old FuryX with dual BIOS i actually had to flash BOTH to the UEFI version for secure boot to work. Weird.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,559 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,236
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#16
Anyone tried it already ?
Not that I know of. Looks like 5 people have downloaded it so far though. I would if I had one to try it on. But I'm setup with all the proper tools to fix it in a matter of minutes if it didn't work. I don't really think it will work either. If it's like previous Vega cards you can't really do a damn thing with the BIOS and get away with it. You can update the AMD UEFI GOP version(or change it to any version 2.0 or later) with previous Vega. But that's pretty much it. In fact...that is it AFAIK. I don't expect Radeon VII to be any different. Or, let me put it another way. You can't remove the UEFI support from, or disable the UEFI support in, a Vega BIOS(technically you can...but it won't boot if you do). So I doubt you can add it to a Radeon VII BIOS(also...you can...but it probably won't boot if you do). I'm thinking the same thing protecting the Vega BIOS from letting that happen, will also be protecting the Radeon VII BIOS from letting that happen. I could be wrong though.
A simple way to validate this would be to try to use UEFI secure boot.
I presume that's already been tried. Hence the need for "CSM enabled" mode. IOW...Secure Boot pitching a fit about not being able to find a UEFI GOP image is the only reason why you'd need to do that(need as in no boot period without disabling SB/enabling CSM mode). You'll just get a black screen during boot until the desktop appears with other UEFI features enabled(but without a VBIOS that supports UEFI GOP).
IT shouldn't boot without a proper UEFI image IIRC.
Well...define "proper"? With AMD cards, even if the Legacy ROM of the Hybrid BIOS has been edited you need a modded UEFI GOP image with a signature check bypass to use SB(or any UEFI GOP features). And even then some cards(and/or card + mobo combos) apparently can't use SB. Though other UEFI GOP features will work(fast boot etc.). My 280X doesn't have that issue on my MSI Z77 mobos. I'm able to use SB(and all the other UEFI GOP features) with an edited Legacy ROM and the modded UEFI GOP image.
On the old FuryX with dual BIOS i actually had to flash BOTH to the UEFI version for secure boot to work. Weird.
Not calling you a liar. But that makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. Only one VBIOS can be read at any given time on a dual/triple BIOS card. One with a switch anyway. Which they all have AFAIK.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,087 (1.02/day)
Likes
3,185
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#17
Not that I know of. Looks like 5 people have downloaded it so far though. I would if I had one to try it on. But I'm setup with all the proper tools to fix it in a matter of minutes if it didn't work. I don't really think it will work either. If it's like previous Vega cards you can't really do a damn thing with the BIOS and get away with it. You can update the UEFI GOP version(or change it to any version 2.0 or later) with previous Vega. But that's pretty much it. In fact...that is it AFAIK. I don't expect Radeon VII to be any different. Or, let me put it another way. You can't remove the UEFI support from, or disable the UEFI support in, a Vega BIOS. So I doubt you can add it to a Radeon VII BIOS. I'm thinking the same thing protecting the Vega BIOS from letting that happen, will also be protecting the Radeon VII BIOS from letting that happen. I could be wrong though.

I presume that's already been tried. Hence the need for "CSM enabled" mode. IOW...Secure Boot pitching a fit about not being able to find a UEFI GOP image is the only reason why you'd need to do that(need as in no boot period without disabling SB/enabling CSM mode). You'll just get a black screen during boot until the desktop appears with other UEFI features enabled(but without a VBIOS that supports UEFI GOP).

Well...define "proper"? With AMD cards, even if the Legacy ROM of the Hybrid BIOS has been edited you need a modded UEFI GOP image with a signature check bypass to use SB(or any UEFI GOP features). And even then some cards(and/or card + mobo combos) apparently can't use SB. Though other UEFI GOP features will work(fast boot etc.). My 280X doesn't have that issue on my MSI Z77 mobos. I'm able to use SB(and all the other UEFI GOP features) with an edited Legacy ROM and the modded UEFI GOP image.

Not calling you a liar. But that makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. Only one VBIOS can be read at any given time on a dual/triple BIOS card. One with a switch anyway. Which they all have AFAIK.
Just pointing out what I observed. Could actually be anything and most likely due to Windows 10 bugs preventing boot up.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
10,623 (2.51/day)
Likes
9,645
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FS/TS ext: FS 10778:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/18092626 TS 3734:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6001589
#18
Well...define "proper"?
In that case, essentially it simply means existing and with valid signature. That is afterall, the entire point of secure boot: firmware and boot validation.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
3,277 (0.64/day)
Likes
771
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name RiseEN Gaming PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ stock
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X370 GAMING X AM4
Cooling Corsair H115i PRO RGB, 280mm Radiator, Dual 140mm ML Series PWM Fans
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ SE
Storage Corsair Force MP500 480GB M.2 (OS) + Force MP510 480GB M.2 (Steam/Games)
Display(s) Asus 27" (MG278Q) 144Hz WQHD 1440p + 1 x Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1080p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 450D Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries 5Hv2 w/ ASUS Xonar DGX PCI-E GX2.5 Audio Engine Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair TX750W Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64-Bit Edition
Benchmark Scores I'm the Doctor.
#19
What a strange decision by AMD.
I do have to admit this Radeon VII is a mysterious device, that should have had increased numbers over Vega 64, but does not, despite its performance advantage. And now doesn't seem to have UEFI.
Radeon VII Cores = 3840 Why not match Vega 64?? I wonder.
Vega 64 Cores = 4096
 
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
608 (0.44/day)
Likes
883
Location
Renton, WA
#20
I do have to admit this Radeon VII is a mysterious device, that should have had increased numbers over Vega 64, but does not, despite its performance advantage. And now doesn't seem to have UEFI.
Radeon VII Cores = 3840 Why not match Vega 64?? I wonder.
Vega 64 Cores = 4096
Hardware couldn't increase because 64CUs is the absolute limit of GCN in a monolithic die. They could have matched Vega 64 exactly, but then you're asking for even lower yields as nearly perfect fully-functional dies have to be used. There's also the side of power delivery needing to be bolstered, as well as thermal dissipation being even less manageable. Honestly going for fewer, faster CUs makes more sense than brute-forcing the extra hardware and dealing with the extra resources that go along with that.

But that's all off-topic.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
3,277 (0.64/day)
Likes
771
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name RiseEN Gaming PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ stock
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X370 GAMING X AM4
Cooling Corsair H115i PRO RGB, 280mm Radiator, Dual 140mm ML Series PWM Fans
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ SE
Storage Corsair Force MP500 480GB M.2 (OS) + Force MP510 480GB M.2 (Steam/Games)
Display(s) Asus 27" (MG278Q) 144Hz WQHD 1440p + 1 x Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1080p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 450D Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries 5Hv2 w/ ASUS Xonar DGX PCI-E GX2.5 Audio Engine Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair TX750W Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64-Bit Edition
Benchmark Scores I'm the Doctor.
#21
Hardware couldn't increase because 64CUs is the absolute limit of GCN in a monolithic die. They could have matched Vega 64 exactly, but then you're asking for even lower yields as nearly perfect fully-functional dies have to be used. There's also the side of power delivery needing to be bolstered, as well as thermal dissipation being even less manageable. Honestly going for fewer, faster CUs makes more sense than brute-forcing the extra hardware and dealing with the extra resources that go along with that.

But that's all off-topic.
Thanks for the great explanation. Makes sense to me now.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,559 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,236
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#22
Just pointing out what I observed.
And I'll take your word for it. Strange things do happen. That's for sure. But that, specifically, shouldn't ever happen. The switching circuit is designed to enable only one BIOS to be read at a time. It shouldn't be possible for any external firmware(ie motherboard UEFI/BIOS), or any OS software/program/app, to detect if both BIOSes support UEFI(or even to detect there being another BIOS at all, other than the one able to be read at the time).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,087 (1.02/day)
Likes
3,185
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) Acer K272HUL, HTC Vive
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Professional/Linux Mint
#23
And I'll take your word for it. Strange things do happen. That's for sure. But that, specifically, shouldn't ever happen. The switching circuit is designed to enable only one BIOS to be read at a time. It shouldn't be possible for any external firmware, or any OS software/program/app, to detect if both BIOSes support UEFI(or even to detect there being another BIOS at all, other than the one able to be read at the time).
As an end user i had little intetiom to dolve something mysteries like that. So flash both BIOS is went.

At least AMD provided UEFI bios back then. I hope they do so again for Radeon 7. Maybe not everyone needs it, but at least it is nice to have.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
770 (0.75/day)
Likes
147
System Name Bro2 / Bro
Processor Ryzen 2700X / Intel I7 3770K @4Ghz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon / ASrock Extreme 4 Z77
Cooling Wraith Prism / BOX
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14 / Kingston 16 GB Hyper Beast XMP @ 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Gigabyte GTX 780Ti Windforce 1150/7000
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB, Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / 2x SSD OCZ vertex 3 120GB , Samsung Black 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G / Cooler Master Silverlight
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit / Win 7 ultimate 64bit
#24
Does RVII have dual bios like Vega's do? Somehow I missed that information.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,820 (3.47/day)
Likes
21,276
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#25
Top