• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon X800 Non-Pro/X800 XL/X850 Voltmods

Urlyin

I still do pencil mods
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,272 (0.32/day)
Super XP said:
It sucks fresh air from the top & blows out the air in the bottom back.

I'm going to cover the front fans with some sort of foam or something to keep away dust from getting into the RAD finns & to control the sound when on Full Speed.

You could use a filter for a house AC/Furnace unit and cut it down to fit ... old house I lived in I had to mod the filters to fit the odd size. I would cut the filter and refit the frame to size ...
 

GoLLuM4444

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
233 (0.03/day)
Location
UK
Ok I tried the pencil mod (vcore) and it did nothing so I tried the VR way. I soldered one end onto one of the empty contacts where there is no resistor (as in the pic) but thought it might be toughing the neighbouring resistor so pulled it to the side slightly. The whole contact came off the pcb along with a couple of surface wires :eek:. Now the solder won't sit in the gap where the contact was and it's all over the resistor next to it instead. Also I managed to pull a capacitor off the opposite side with some neoprene and solder it on at 45 degrees. I think it works though. HELP! Any soldering gurus in the UK who can fix all my problems? Or any advice how to get the solder to stay?

Any help is appreciated.
GoLLuM
 
Last edited:

GoLLuM4444

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
233 (0.03/day)
Location
UK
Phew fixed it with some dodgy soldering. Now to try the mod again ;).
 

Urlyin

I still do pencil mods
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,272 (0.32/day)
GoLLuM4444 said:
Phew fixed it with some dodgy soldering. Now to try the mod again ;).

Gollu... take your time ... you just voided your warranty... you should run some benchmarks and play some graphic intense games before trying to mod it again... PM ViperJohn for some tips ... or send him the card ...
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
Hi, I just wanted to say what a good description for this mod. I've never done a volt mod before and it went off without a hitch! I'm at 1.41v vgpu and 470mhz core stable with ATITool!
 

GoLLuM4444

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
233 (0.03/day)
Location
UK
Urlyin said:
Gollu... take your time ... you just voided your warranty... you should run some benchmarks and play some graphic intense games before trying to mod it again... PM ViperJohn for some tips ... or send him the card ...
I voided my warranty long ago. I have no chance of RMA as I've hacked up the HSF to fit a Mach 2 on. Also the sub-zero operation of the card voided it a while ago. Much as I'd love to run some benchmarks the Mach 2 has now packed up :mad: and so has my PCI graphics card. Can't use my main computer for some time then... :mad::mad::mad:
 

webbyboy

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Urlyin, i guess the problem with me is the reading of the ohms on the multimeter. Possible to elaborate more of reading the the ohms on the multimeter? the 15k laws and etc?
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
I'm @ 1.45v watercooled and seem to get lookups after 476mhz core. Do I need to do the IGPU mod to go any higher?
 

DreamH20

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Sorry I was just the unregistered user above... just wanted to show my mod.. :D



can't seem to get past 476mhz core though.. :confused:
 
Last edited:

GoLLuM4444

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
233 (0.03/day)
Location
UK
If I'm not mistaken the IGPU mod is to Reduce the current so it doesn't overflow at high voltages like 1.8v. It will not affect the maximum overclock at 1.4v. (Well it won't increase it). Correct me if I'm wrong.
 

Urlyin

I still do pencil mods
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,272 (0.32/day)
GoLLuM4444 said:
If I'm not mistaken the IGPU mod is to Reduce the current so it doesn't overflow at high voltages like 1.8v. It will not affect the maximum overclock at 1.4v. (Well it won't increase it). Correct me if I'm wrong.

There is another name for it but it is known as over volt protection. Which means that the IGPU shuts down the card should it reach a certain voltage. The vmod for the IGPU allows you to go past the default setting... Goolu is correct in that it has no affect on your OC just allows you to crank up the GPU voltage higher ...

Dream if you're using H20 review the Max safe voltage settings in the begining of the article here you can go higher on the GPU voltage ... nice vmod :)

Webboy ... try reading through the Getting Started in this article here.. let me know if that doesn't help or you already read it...
 

daysleeper

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
24 (0.00/day)
Location
Haapavesi,Finland
jep i have done this pencilmodding now and i just can't get the vgpu or vdd any higher.I'm using the places that are shown in the pictures at the first page....why nothing happens :confused:
 

Urlyin

I still do pencil mods
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,272 (0.32/day)
DreamH20 said:
So what kind of voltage and mhz are people hitting with this mod???

This can very from card to card and on the cooling used... for the PCI-E cards there are a lot of variants coming out from the OEM manufactors, now we see the same versions coming out on AGP... generally speaking though from my experience a X800XT did 600mhz on the core with only a 1.55v while a X800XT PE could only do 590mhz at the same voltage... the same XT PE would freak out at anything above 628mhz with the VPGU at 1.68v with vertical lines of dark shaded colors, I was told by VJ that it was more than likely a weak shader pipe ... So don't concern yourself too much on what other cards are doing and how high they go because each card is different, so it comes down to trial and error on your part, set a maximum based on your cooling usage and in steps take the voltage up, testing the card for lockups each time... hope that makes sense .. :)
 

Urlyin

I still do pencil mods
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,272 (0.32/day)
daysleeper said:
jep i have done this pencilmodding now and i just can't get the vgpu or vdd any higher.I'm using the places that are shown in the pictures at the first page....why nothing happens :confused:

Day... have you taken the default readings for voltage and ohms? are you using a 2b pencil?
 

daysleeper

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
24 (0.00/day)
Location
Haapavesi,Finland
Urlyin said:
Day... have you taken the default readings for voltage and ohms? are you using a 2b pencil?
jep ,vgu aroun 1,4v and vdd 2,08v and i use same pencil that i used from x800pro@xt vivo penciling and still no result... :eek:
 

Urlyin

I still do pencil mods
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,272 (0.32/day)
daysleeper said:
jep ,vgu aroun 1,4v and vdd 2,08v and i use same pencil that i used from x800pro@xt vivo penciling and still no result... :eek:

Day ... do you check the ohms on the resistor for the VDD before you pencil and then after?
 

daysleeper

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
24 (0.00/day)
Location
Haapavesi,Finland
Urlyin said:
is it after you pencil it?
Before and after,is it the right resistor??.with my x800pro@xt vivo i got vgpu to 1,85v easily but now with this card nothing happens...... :(..i didn't use the vdd mod on my x800pro@xt vivo...
 

Urlyin

I still do pencil mods
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,272 (0.32/day)
daysleeper said:
Before and after,is it the right resistor??.with my x800pro@xt vivo i got vgpu to 1,85v easily but now with this card nothing happens...... :(..i didn't use the vdd mod on my x800pro@xt vivo...

I just started wih the VDD first... what is the ohm measurement on the VDD chip ISL6522 above the R311 used for the VR mod on pins 5 & 7 ?
 

daysleeper

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
24 (0.00/day)
Location
Haapavesi,Finland
Urlyin said:
I just started wih the VDD first... what is the ohm measurement on the VDD chip ISL6522 above the R311 used for the VR mod on pins 5 & 7 ?
you mean between pins 5 & 7?
 

Urlyin

I still do pencil mods
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,272 (0.32/day)
daysleeper said:
you mean between pins 5 & 7?

Red lead on pin 5 and the black on pin 7 ... should read the same as r311... set to ohms
 
U

Unregistered

Guest
what is VDDQ?

What is VDDQ? do I have to mod it to raise VGPU and VMem?
thanx for reply in advance
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
4,061 (0.58/day)
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name RiseZEN Gaming PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ Auto
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X570-E Gaming ATX Motherboard
Cooling Corsair H115i Elite Capellix AIO, 280mm Radiator, Dual RGB 140mm ML Series PWM Fans
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) ASUS DUAL RX 6700 XT DUAL-RX6700XT-12G
Storage Corsair Force MP500 480GB M.2 & MP510 480GB M.2 - 2 x WD_BLACK 1TB SN850X NVMe 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix 34” XG349C 180Hz 1440p + Asus ROG 27" MG278Q 144Hz WQHD 1440p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 450D Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries 5Hv2 w/ Sound Blaster Z SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750x Power Supply
Mouse Razer Death-Adder + Viper 8K HZ Ambidextrous Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum RGB Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 11 Pro - 64-Bit Edition
Benchmark Scores I'm the Doctor, Doctor Who. The Definition of Gaming is PC Gaming...
Unregistered said:
What is VDDQ? do I have to mod it to raise VGPU and VMem?
thanx for reply in advance

Maybe you can define all the terms? :)
 
Top