1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon X800 Voltmods

Discussion in 'Articles' started by Urlyin, Sep 30, 2004.

  1. nicepun

    nicepun New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woodbridge, VA
    I'll take some pics this weekend when I revamp my setup because I'm getting rid of my cpu tec/pelt. I'm still cannot believe my mem sucks!!
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2005
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Unregistered Guest

    Hello,
    I´m searching for an x800 pro vivo pcie card with 1,6 ns RAM. I tought that all vivo has 1,6 ns RAM but mine had 2,0 ns RAM. It´s an Card from ATI. I want to send it back. But i don´t know where i get the reight one. Can somebody help me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. nicepun

    nicepun New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woodbridge, VA
    Well after doing some more reading of this thread I raised my vddq to 2.22v and my vdd to 2.15 and this helped out some. I have a temp on one of my ramsinks and the highest it gets is 41c. I hope this is not too high!!!

    7180 3DM05, not bad I guess!
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2005
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. pierrick30 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i was wondering about a max temp for the second sensor of the x800.Im watercooled so the core doesnt get higher than 43°C even with 1.7V Vcore but the other sensor can go up to 65 especially when OCing the RAM.The PCB is really hot to the touch.What would be a "safe" value?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. nicepun

    nicepun New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woodbridge, VA

    Do you mean the GPU Ambient temp?? 65c is quite high if you ask me. Mine is usually 3~5 degrees lower at idle and around 10 degrees lower at full load. What's your VDD and VDDQ set at???
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. pierrick30 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    65 is really the highest limit when OCing
    i usually have 40°C in idle and about 50°C in fulli didnt mod the VDD and VDDQ .
    my Vcore is currently 1.65V
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. nicepun

    nicepun New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woodbridge, VA

    How's the cooling for your case?? What about room temp?? Do you suffer from any lag or sudden crashes in games?? What core/mem OC values for 24/7 use??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. pierrick30 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my case is open but there isnt much airflow in it.
    my room temp....sorry i cant tell precisely should be about 20-25°C(if it helps my motherboard sensor indicates 36°C)
    i dont suffer lags
    i use 500/500 as usual value with an 1.6v Vcore
    the maximum stable values are 570/570 with this Vmod
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,347 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    When you switch to WC you loose all the air a fan cooled GPU keeps circulating around the card so everything on the card runs warmer ..... You can see the fan that was added to my X800XT Pe in this pic here and my side case fan does the rest ... here
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. MeridiusZN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have the following problem: ...my X800SE goes well OC...with no vmod to 580/560. With Vgpu mod 1,53 i can hit 620 MHz on GPU...but when i had tried Vmem mod..something strange happend. I had changed Vmem from 2,02 to 2,05....OC on mem rose up to 575...but with Vmem 2,1 it went to hell...i couldnt set clock of memory modules higher than 550 and massive artifacts was showed everywhere. Even when i had changed VDDQ to 2,15....what is the problem? I have zalman V700Cu on GPU and small blue zalman passive coollers on memory modules. THX.

    EDIT: all vmods i have mentioned was pencil mods according to instructions on the first page.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,347 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    Meridius .. the recommended VDD is 2.05v and the VDDQ is 2.15v ... I believe the SE has the 2.0ns mem chips ... try 2.05v for VDD and 2.08v for VDDQ ... it may also be your BIOS is running tighter mem times, try ATITool to change the timings
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. malik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys i did the mod i have the vcore at 1.69 620 on core watercooled but i cant get more then 590 out of the mem i have vdd at 2.08 and vddq at 2.16 whats the max i can go on the vdd and vddq?I didnt do the overcurrent voltmod will i be ok and can i run the vdd and vddq at those settings 24 7? Whats the max i can put on agp voltage in the bios its currently 1.6 and does raising it help ocing?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Zoors New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Text correction suggestions.

    A)

    "VR IGPU Over Current Protection Vmod

    Locate resistor R1596 in Image 5 and set your VR to 250k. Check the resistance on the resistor to compare after you solder the VR on. Again after soldering the VR on check the resistance. Like with the pencil mod you want to drop the resistence around 20 Ohms."


    Should be 20kohm not 20 ohm.

    B)

    Pencil Time

    For example if your starting Ohm reading is .418k and your new reading is .400k obviously it's a 18k drop in resistance."


    Its not really wrong but unclear and invites to confusion. Better write 418 ohms and 400 ohms.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2005
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,347 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    Those settings are fine for 24/7, to go much any higher you should have active or passive cooling in place ... raising the AGP voltage in the BIOS will not help your VGA card over clock, it can help with stabilizing the NB for higher memory settings on Intel chipsets ...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,347 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    Zoor thank you for pointing this out ... I will correct the 20 ohm to 20k ohm ... and correct the second with inserting ohms in " your new ohm reading is " .... " a 18k ohm drop in resistance "
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Unregistered Guest


    Thx man i have a his x800pro vivo @flashed to x800xtpe gpu i have the saphire bios right now whats the best overclocking bios for x800xtpe in the bios collection i saw a x850xtpe bios for agp is it possible to flash to that bios?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. pierrick30 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    they are the same only frequencies varies
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,347 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    Can't say that I've tried it but with different cores I would say no .. I've always used the ATI BIOS, some work better for others....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Unregistered Guest


    Thx for your help whats the bios that oces the highest? I heard changing to the xt bios instead of xtpe might help goin higher?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,347 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    NP ... that could be possible... depends on the cards in most cases, if your card has memory that ocs well then a BIOS with more aggressive memory timings will work good for said card, obviously if the card doesn't have memory that ocs well then you'll need to chose a different BIOS. I've found it's best to test a few and find which works best for your card. You can also use a BIOS editor like Rabit to view BIOS settings and or ATITool to make changes to the memory timings
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Unregistered Guest



    Thx Urlyin any guides on how to change timimgs?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. pierrick30 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    woukd like one too XD
    but due to the very large number of memories available on all cards(u can even have different revison with different ram) i doubt he can provide us optimal parameters for each one of them....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,347 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    Pierrick is right it would be difficult to do ... including the fact that like the GPU, memory oc will vary from card to card ... I can give you some tips using ATITool to help set the best timings for your card and with a profile can be loaded with ATITool.... these are based on the XT800XT PE some default settings may not be the same but DDR3 none the less...... and the end result we be from trial and error

    Your memory OC will usually go down due to the tighter timings but the increased
    memory bandwidth they yield more than make up for that. Try the top one first (TrcdRD = 7)
    and the bottom (TrcdRD=8) second. The top one is always clock for clock faster but with
    same chipset the bottom allows the memory OC to be higher offsetting that too. The red slashes indicate a timing to be changed from it's stock setting
    Source ViperJohn
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 27, 2005
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Cally New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I would love to do this mod but after all the trouble I had just doing the flashing for the first time I don't dare think about this. My hands aren't steady enough anymore to do this work. I can't see sending my card all the way to Viperjohn just to do the volt mod. If there was someone in central Va. that did the vmod I would ask them to do it. Other than that I will just run the card as it is.
    The knowledge on these forums is terrific though. People are lucky to have so many smart people together on one site.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,347 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    Cally ... if you're happy with the performance of your card ... great! enjoy it ... the flash to an XT with the added pipes is still a nice improvement ... Good job :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)