• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Raid 0 Agility 4 256gb. Not blazing but still fast.

Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
408 (0.13/day)
Likes
66
#1
Raid 0 Agility 4 256gb. *bugged in sata2 speed* [solved]

Hi guyz ( and gurlz),

I buyed my first Agility 4 at newegg for 149.99$ (no MIR, instant rabate, canadian dollar) and i was happy with it. Its my 4th SSD if i dont count alllll the SSD i installed in friend and other people computer. But my gaol was to Raid 0 these thing as soon as i find a good deal. Tigerdirect had the Agility 4 256gb at 109.99$ on black friday so i buyed a second one.

At first i found the perfomance not that good but i realized that i was plugged on the Sata2 port on my X79 motherboard ... thats what happen when you are in a hurry to test your new goodies too late at night ;) Rebooted on Sata 3 ports and performance was at OK level but not blazing fast. Im still very happy with it cause the bang for the buck is damn good. In the end i have 512gb of Sata 3 SSD in Raid 0 for nothing more than 260$, nearly 50cent per gb !

The rig :
EVGA X79 FTW • I7 3820 @ 4.2ghz • PH-TC14PE
16gb G.Skill 2133mhz • EVGA GTX 670 + Accelero TTII
Tecnofront HWD BenchTable • Antec TPQ-1200-OC
Raid 0 2x Agility 4 256gb • Surround Asus VE278Q 5760x1080

Raid 0 Agility 4 256gb Sata 2


Raid 0 Agility 4 256gb Sata 3



ATTO : 299gb free / 452gb total. I didnt closed anything, AV and steam are running in background. Next to my post is a single agi 4 256 from neoseeker.



TRIM is working is showing as active.




Ultimate goal was to have more SSD space. Its aslo faster as a bonus for 260$ canadian total.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#2
Using IRST?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
408 (0.13/day)
Likes
66
#3
Its not software Raid, running from the motherboard controller if this is waht you want to know.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#4
That seems kind of low, but not unreasonable for SATA2 drives. Just one of my Force GTs will run faster than your RAID-0 and when I run it in RAID I get between 900MB/s and 1GB/s. Granted SATA 2 is your real bottleneck and it's not quite comparison apples to apples when you're talking about SATA 2 vs SATA 3.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
408 (0.13/day)
Likes
66
#5
Its not sata2 but sata 3 drives, they are Agility 4 256gb. I first missconnected them on sata2 ports, then moved to sata3 ports. ( it was very late at night when i first plugged it in ;) ) Agility 4 are not "blazing fast" drive like your Force GT is, if you look at the ATTO bench. My Raid is much much better on lower lenght read/write than a single Agility 4.

As i told, my goal was not to have a big Epeen but to have more SSD space. At 260$ for 512gb of SSDs, its a damn good price for the performance and space i have.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#6
Its not software Raid, running from the motherboard controller if this is waht you want to know.
No, I was asking if you were using IRST, which would also allow, if I recall correctly, TRIM on your RAID0 as you are using an X79 board (given you use the proper IRST version and RAID ROM, of course).
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
408 (0.13/day)
Likes
66
#7
Yes, after installing windows i installed the latest IRST driver from EVGA web site. I didnt check if theres is a newer one straight from intel web site for the same chipset.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#8
Those numbers are terrible. Honestly they shouldnt be that low,are you sure the drives are working correctly.

RAID0 ForceGT
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
408 (0.13/day)
Likes
66
#9
Each drive perform "single" as in every test ive seen on the web. The agil 4 are not Epeen drives ...

As for my Raid, i agree that these are not "awesome numbers" but anvil ( wich is a way better test than ATTO wich only is for show off ) gives goos result in some workload. Vertex 4 in Raid 0 shoudl deliver the numbers that you have in ATTO but Agility drive use lower speed NAND but the same controller. Thats why they are cheaper, and perfer lower on paper.

As for 24/7 usage, even a single cheapo sata2 drive feels the same as a GodLike Sata3 drive. Only huge loading or copy/paste see a real benefit. Or if you do some real work with the drive.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#10
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
408 (0.13/day)
Likes
66
#11
Installed the latest IRST and numbers are the same.

Didi you think that the fact that i first installed raid aray and windows on sata2 ports "bugged" my raid in Sata2 speed ? I dont think that my agility4 drive can deliver 1gb/s speed but if they can do better, why not !
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#12
What OROM is that board using? you need 11.6 for RAID TRIM you also need RST 11.6 for it to work correctly
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#13
you also need RST 11.6 for it to work correctly
This isn't a skt1155 board, it doesn't have RST, it has RSTe, which actually does make a difference. I'm pretty sure that even early versions of RSTe supports TRIM pass-thru. Mine has never had an issue with it even with the drivers that came with the motherboard.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
408 (0.13/day)
Likes
66
#14
Im currently installing W7 on my good old Vraptor 150gb and ill do some test today. Changing the stripe size, rechcink each drive alone, and more.


P.S. its been a long time i eared that much HDD noise ! loll
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
408 (0.13/day)
Likes
66
#15
currently running ATTO and Anvil on both drive alone. They perform equal so i dont think one of the drive is not OK.

Next, ill do some strip size testing.