• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Raid 0 attempt gone bad. Cause for future concern?

Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
303 (0.08/day)
Likes
44
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard Gigabyte AX370 Gaming 5
Cooling 2x ML140, 1x AF140, 2x SP120, 1x AF120 / Cryorig H5 Universal
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengence RGB DDR4 (3466 kit @ 3333)
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 (undervolted)
Storage x1 SanDisk X400 256GB, 1x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB, RAID0: 2x WD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung CF27F398
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Realtek (ALC1120)
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G510s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#1
I attempted a RAID 0 configuration yesterday with a Seagate and Western Digital. After a good hour of studying it all I went ahead and did setup the array.

I ran into problems from the start, but long story short I managed to install Windows 7 x64. After enduring random unresponsive programs after I had the basics up and running I decided the speed, while nice, was not worth the slow OS response I saw. At that point I decided to go back to a regular non-RAID setup. [I used 64K block size and had Fast Initialization enabled (just FYI).]

This is where my real problems began. After restoring my non-RAID configuration my system starting acting very weird. For ease of reading I'll use bullet points:
  • Slow post time
  • Chassis fan headers 1 & 2 power up then power off after post, then power the LED's on, but the fans only spin when physically aided.
  • System reports a failed overclock when there was no overclock
  • System crashed once after entering and exiting the bios.

I began to diagnose, and in my panic I took out several parts at once:eek:, but when installing I put them back in one at a time testing each to see if if any of them was the cause for the trouble. No dice. I even tested the power supply and every rail checks out. Also ran extended tests on all hard drives with WD's Data Lifeguard tool, and they all check out.

As of now it's up and running and performing perfectly again:wtf:.

With that information I have a few questions:
  1. Do I have any reason to worry about my PC or any of it's components in the near future?
  2. I was offered an RMA from ASUS, but if I don't have to use it I don't want to. To those with similar experiences would it be best to RMA my board?
  3. After reinstalling my 2nd drive [of three] (the Seagate) my bios gave me information about which drives and devices were on each SATA port. This info was never available before and ever since I rebooted it has not come back. Is this another 'good' sign that I need to RMA it?

On the note of RAID 0:
  • Was it a mistake to RAID two differing brands of HDD? Their specs are similar, but the WD does have that 2 processor feature.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,022
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Was it a mistake to RAID two differing brands of HDD? Their specs are similar, but the WD does have that 2 processor feature.
Yes, RAID, especially RAID 0 should be done on two identical drives.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,543
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#3
i say dont worry about the system being weird, likely a loose connection.

as for the RAID issues, erocker covered that.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Was it a mistake to RAID two differing brands of HDD? Their specs are similar, but the WD does have that 2 processor feature.
With modern controllers, it doesn't matter. The controller will handle the different drives without problem, but one drive might have to wait while the other finished a task in the event that one drive is faster than the other.

Most of your problems sound like some other kind of BIOS issue or setting.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
Yea the rule of thumb is to use the SAME model drives for raid and u shouldn't have any issues unless its a onboard raid issue. ive got two WD blue drives (same model number) in raid 0 in my I7 machine. I also have 2x WD 250GB sata drives (same model but there older than the blues) in my XEON HTPC machine and both machines are very fast using programs, starting windows, starting and installing programs.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#6
i setup a 4 disk raid0 with 2 WD greens and 2 seagate 7200.11s and had no problems... i also tried 2 WD blacks instead of the seagates and had no issues.



this definetly sounds like either a bad bios config or lose connection... maybe both.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
335 (0.13/day)
Likes
57
Location
London, England, UK
System Name Devil's Canyon PC build
Processor Intel i7-4790K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-G1 Gaming WIFI-BK
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Black Edition Air Cooler, 2x Akasa 120mm PWN Piranha Fans (push-pull config)
Memory Patriot Viper 3 "Black Mamba" 32GB (4x8GB), 2133MHz, C11-11-11-30, 1.5v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce X3 GeForce GTX Titan X 12GB GDDR5 (Non-Pascal)
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD, 1TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, Seagate 8TB Archive HDD, 2TB Samsung M9T HDD
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift 27" 144Hz G-Sync Gaming Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D Midi Tower - Black, 3x230mm Bitfenix SPECTRE PRO, 1x120mm Bitfenix PWN (SP)
Power Supply Seasonic 660W Platinum Certified Modular
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
While I would like to point the finger at the fact that you are using non-identical HDDs for Raid-0 it is possible the whole thing may have gone wrong due to one of the HDDs being faulty and might need a good format (hopefully that might cure the problem... that's if it isn't hardware related...).

Well that is the only other reasonable explaination I could think of other than the most obvious one with the HDDs being non-identical to each other.