1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Raid 1 on one hdd (nas)?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by TSX420J, Jun 13, 2014.

  1. TSX420J

    TSX420J

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    378 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Hey everyone,
    It's been a while since I've posted a thread or asked a question. Anyway, I wanted to ask a question regarding RAID 1.

    Ok, I'm buying a 2 bay NAS. My initial budget allows me to only buy the NAS and 1 4tb HDD. In the future I plan on adding a second 4tb HDD and setting up RAID 1.

    My question is; can I configure RAID1 on one HDD from the start, so that when I get the second one, I can pop it in and build the array without risking data corruption?

    Thanks in advanced. Cheers!
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,879 (5.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,831
    Not likely.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,175 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    599
    I always thought that any version of a raid array required a min of HDD's ro run ie: RAID0 requires a min of two HDD's

    you can read here what is needed for the various raid array types

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAID
     
  4. TSX420J

    TSX420J

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    378 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41

    Thanks friends. I was worried I couldn't.

    I really wanted to start organizing all of my media backups and 5+ hdd's but I guess I'm going to have to wait to get both drives.
     
  5. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,806 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    This will depend on the NAS. Write to the manufacturer of the NAS you're looking to buy and see if it's supported. A well-written manual would also state it.

    Windows mirroring works like this, where you start with a drive and can add a mirror of it at a later time. I've seen it as a feature on RAID controllers as well.
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,879 (5.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,831
    Yeah, RAID Level Migration is what this is called on RAID controllers. Some NAS devices will support this, but most of the inexpensive 2 bay variants I've seen won't.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,717 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,708
    Location:
    Wyoming
    A person could opt to install either Drive Bender or Drive Pool on the NAS drive. This would allow for either extending the storage amount as you add drives, or mirroring once you add the second drive.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,607 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,391
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not necessarily, you can run RAID0 on one hard drive. I have done it a lot for system configurations at work.

    But RAID1, i think you have to have 2 drives.
     
  9. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,175 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    599
    how the hell do you set up RAID0 on 1 HDD and more to point why would you as your not likely to gain any advantage speed wise are you over say running it in AHCI mode
     
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,607 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,391
    Location:
    Seattle, WA

    It might depend on the raid controller used. I was dealing with enterprise infrastructure performance machines. I always wondered why the buildout required single drives to be in RAID0, but I just shut up and did it.
     
  11. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    What you're looking to do is to build a degraded RAID 1. I have done this before in mdadm (Linux software RAID), but I am not sure how many NAS units allow you to do it either through Linux or their proprietary utilities.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)