• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAID Newb Help

JayEm

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Mariella
Processor AMD Athlon X2 7750+ BE
Motherboard AMD M4A78 Pro
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB DDR2 (Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5 x 2)
Video Card(s) XFX 5750
Storage Various 2.83TB Total
Display(s) Digimate 19" + 42" LG TV
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 7.1
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStreme 500W
Software Windows 7 x64
#1
I've never set ones of these up before so need some help!

Currently I've got three hard drives split into nine partitions with none of them apart from my music backed up; so I'm thinking of buying a couple of 1TB or 1.5TB drives and setting up a RAID1 array. How do I do it? Can I mix non-RAID and RAID drives? My motherboard is an ASUS M4A78 Pro.
 

OSWiz

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
43 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
System Name The Money Trap
Processor i7 930
Motherboard P6X58D-E
Cooling Swiftech H2O-220 Ultima XT
Memory G.Skill 3 x 2GB DDR3 2000 6-9-6-24
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX480SC SLI
Storage OCZ Vertex Turbo 60GB SSD
Display(s) Dell U2711 2560x1440 27"
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi
Power Supply Antec TPQ-1200
Software Win7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores [url=http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1335019][img]http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/13
#2
Holy Partitions Batman -- and RAID arrays too. In this day and age, with HDDs so cheap and super fast SSDs, there's really no need for partitioning nor RAID arrays. Ignore your partitions and RAID array -- what are you trying to achieve?
 

JayEm

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Mariella
Processor AMD Athlon X2 7750+ BE
Motherboard AMD M4A78 Pro
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB DDR2 (Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5 x 2)
Video Card(s) XFX 5750
Storage Various 2.83TB Total
Display(s) Digimate 19" + 42" LG TV
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 7.1
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStreme 500W
Software Windows 7 x64
#3
Holy Partitions Batman
:laugh: lol, it wasn't entirely intentional. At first I had an 80GB hard drive split into 3 for Windows XP, Ubuntu and storage. That quickly filled up so I added a 250GB drive and reinstalled XP onto it, leaving the first drive as it was. When that was full, it was about time for a major upgrade (the old Sempron 3k had seen better days) and I ended up buying a 500GB drive and a copy of Windows 7.

Now all the drives and partitions are in a mess, none of it is backed up which is my major concern. So RAID arrays are a no-no?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,556
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
It should be as simple as setting the SATA controller to RAID mode, then going into the RAID configuration during boot and configuring the array.

You will likely have to re-install Windows to do this properly though, as all the drives will likely switch to RAID mode, even if some of the drives are not actually part of a RAID array.

Yes, you can have drives that are just single drives mixed with drives that are in a RAID array.
 

JayEm

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Mariella
Processor AMD Athlon X2 7750+ BE
Motherboard AMD M4A78 Pro
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB DDR2 (Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5 x 2)
Video Card(s) XFX 5750
Storage Various 2.83TB Total
Display(s) Digimate 19" + 42" LG TV
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 7.1
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStreme 500W
Software Windows 7 x64
#5
You will likely have to re-install Windows to do this properly though, as all the drives will likely switch to RAID mode, even if some of the drives are not actually part of a RAID array.
Hmmm, if that's the case, I might have to ditch the idea and just plug a couple of drives in... Can't be bothered reinstalling the OS. :banghead:
 

OSWiz

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
43 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
System Name The Money Trap
Processor i7 930
Motherboard P6X58D-E
Cooling Swiftech H2O-220 Ultima XT
Memory G.Skill 3 x 2GB DDR3 2000 6-9-6-24
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX480SC SLI
Storage OCZ Vertex Turbo 60GB SSD
Display(s) Dell U2711 2560x1440 27"
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) X-Fi
Power Supply Antec TPQ-1200
Software Win7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores [url=http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1335019][img]http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/13
#6
Geez, yup, you got a real mess there, LOL. Just get a 2TB HDD and back up all the partitions on to it using Acronis True Image Clone.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.77/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#7
thats a lot of music