• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Raid0 + partitions

Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#1
hello

i was doing some more reserch into the new intel matrix raid as i have just bought a mobo that supports it without knowing :p, iv been running a raid0 with 2 WD 6400ks and has been well and all,

now this new raid controller will let me use raid0 and raid 1 on the same disks at the same time (not 0+1) so i was going to buy another 640 hdd and run raid 0 with half of the total space and raid 1 on the 2nd half.

upon reading up on this i discoverd this website and some tips on incressing performance with this exact setup http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=206&pgno=3


how ever it says on that page to put raid 0 on the inner tracks and raid 1 on the outer, and also partitioning the raid0 1st will use the inner tracks 1st towards the outer.

this is the exact opasite of how i thort this works. i always assumed it use'd the outer 1st and went to the inner, and that also a raid0 performed better on out outer part.

sorry for the long post but if any one could show me the best way to set this up it would be much appreciated.

(3 drives with raid0 and raid 1 on the new intel matrix raid controller that allows raid0 and raid1 on the same disks using different volumes)
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#2
This seems entirely pointless IMO, the whole point in Raid 1 is to protect against hard drive failure, put if the mirror is on the same HDD then it isn't providing any backup.
Plus you will increase the work the drive heads have to do, moving backwards and forwards between the partitions, and probably end up with lower performance thean you have now.

Rant over, :p
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#3
its not a raid 0+1 its raid 0 and raid 1 on the same disks, raid 0 isnt getting backed up to the raid 1, the raid 1 will only be accessed when i read/write to it if you get what i mean.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#4
its not a raid 0+1 its raid 0 and raid 1 on the same disks, raid 0 isnt getting backed up to the raid 1, the raid 1 will only be accessed when i read/write to it if you get what i mean.
So you have two partitons, one running in Raid 0 across to front half of drives, and one running Raid accross back half of drives?
Think I get it now, still dont quite see the point tho. :confused:
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#5
So you have two partitons, one running in Raid 0 across to front half of drives, and one running Raid accross back half of drives?
Think I get it now, still dont quite see the point tho. :confused:
It's nothing new. And it isn't completely pointless. You can use a percentage of the disks for a RAID 0 "partition" (lets just call it that) which increases boot times and overall performance. However you can use the other part of the disks as a mirror, saving important files. So in the end you have the performance boost from RAID 0 and the redundancy of RAID 1, when a disk files the OS is lost but the files stored on the second "partition" aren't.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#6
Yea still seems like it would slow the drive down!!
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#7
ok well leave the raid 1 out of the equation for a moment, whats the fastest part to put the raid 0 on the inner or the outer? and when you partition them does it start from the inner or outer?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#8
i'd say overall... tooooo complicated to set up...
second it seems like a waste of space. i've got this for a setup. i've got 1 64gig ssd for os iinstal. then i have two seagate barracuda 7200.11 320gig drives in raid 0-this is for games/apps and storage. all my important stuff gets back up to a 1Tb seagate drive i also have in the computer. no complications. no fancy raid arrays, just raid 0. i get insane disc performance and excellent reliability all at the same time.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#9
if the disks dont access the raid 1 partition how does that slow it down? its simply there for backup purposes every week or so, the raid0 does not interact with raid 1 at all, slow down would only occer if and when i backup to the raid 1.

P.S please forget about the whole idea of raid0 and 1 on the same drives and answer my 2nd question if you know the answer, whats the fastest part of the disk for a raid0 and when you partition your drives? also does it start from the inner or the outer with partition 1?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#10
what you should do is just keept he raid array for apps and storage, get another one like i have for back up, and throw and ssd in there for your os. you can't go wrong with the g.skill ssd. thing hits 120-180Mb/s average with 0.02 seek time. windows boot up is very zippy and the os is just smooth, i've had it for almost a month and i still haven't gotten used to it.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#11
what you should do is just keept he raid array for apps and storage, get another one like i have for back up, and throw and ssd in there for your os. you can't go wrong with the g.skill ssd. thing hits 120-180Mb/s average with 0.02 seek time. windows boot up is very zippy and the os is just smooth, i've had it for almost a month and i still haven't gotten used to it.
thats a nice idea and all but they cost $300 over here, where as the drive is only $99, im not looking to load windows faster, if i was i would have bought I-Ram and booted windows in less then 10 seconds from post to finish.

a simple run down of the setup im wanting to use is
Partition 1 / Partition 2
Disk 1 (320 raid 0 / 320 raid 1)
Disk 2 (320 raid 0 / 320 raid 1)

P.S the last time i checked an SSD was slower at booting windows then hdd due to some issue unless they have since fixed this, im not sure.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,320 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,726
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#12
hello

i was doing some more reserch into the new intel matrix raid as i have just bought a mobo that supports it without knowing :p, iv been running a raid0 with 2 WD 6400ks and has been well and all,

now this new raid controller will let me use raid0 and raid 1 on the same disks at the same time (not 0+1) so i was going to buy another 640 hdd and run raid 0 with half of the total space and raid 1 on the 2nd half.

upon reading up on this i discoverd this website and some tips on incressing performance with this exact setup http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=206&pgno=3


how ever it says on that page to put raid 0 on the inner tracks and raid 1 on the outer, and also partitioning the raid0 1st will use the inner tracks 1st towards the outer.

this is the exact opasite of how i thort this works. i always assumed it use'd the outer 1st and went to the inner, and that also a raid0 performed better on out outer part.

sorry for the long post but if any one could show me the best way to set this up it would be much appreciated.

(3 drives with raid0 and raid 1 on the new intel matrix raid controller that allows raid0 and raid1 on the same disks using different volumes)

I've used 2 Raid 5 setups each with 3HHD's in each with no problems at all.

This seems entirely pointless IMO, the whole point in Raid 1 is to protect against hard drive failure, put if the mirror is on the same HDD then it isn't providing any backup.
Plus you will increase the work the drive heads have to do, moving backwards and forwards between the partitions, and probably end up with lower performance thean you have now.

Rant over, :p
Yeah it's why i use raid 5, Al though having partitions does not make the raid slower.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#13
thx for your input but this still dosnt answer my question... still trying google to get a straight answer.

im not going to be running a raid 5 nor will it perform anything like a raid 5 does. i dont have a hardware raid controller and thus a raid 5 would slow down quite a lot for redundency i dont need on my raid 0.

it will perform exacly like a compleatly separate raid 0 using 2 hard drives and raid 1 using 2 hard drives.

here is a picture of what it looks like with 2 drives NOTE the raid 0 and raid 1 don't interact with each other at all! it is not the same as 0+1 on the same disks

 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#15
lmao..