• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAM - 2 sticks vs 4?

Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#1
I am looking at some DDR2 1066 RAM and was wondering which configuration would preform the best with the quad core in my specs - two sticks of 2 GB totaling 4 GB or four 1 GB sticks? The machine is question is used for music production and gaming.

Also, another question, if the RAM I install is not listed on ASRock's website as being compatible with my mainboard is there any real risk of system instability?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.90/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#2
You want 2x2 GB sticks if you're running 1066. Early AMD CPUs have a warning stating they only do 1066 with 2 sticks max.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#3
You want 2x2 GB sticks if you're running 1066. Early AMD CPUs have a warning stating they only do 1066 with 2 sticks max.
So would my rig be faster over-all with just the DDR2 800 I already have installed?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.90/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#4
Well, something like that certainly doesn't warrant spending money, imho. I think you should try to OC your current sticks if possible and save the money for something else. :p
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#5
well, they are being bought for me so the person can have my DDR2 800 sticks - I told them to just get the 1066 for themselves, but ugh... I'm thinking they want me to work out the details so they can ultimately buy this tower from me once it is replaced in a few months... =/

So, two 2GB sticks... I regret building this computer more and more daily, ahaha.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.37/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#6
What d'you have now with your current sticks, 2 x 2GB or 4 x 1GB?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#7
Two sticks would be better. Less voltage and more overclocking friendly.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#9
currently, 4 x 1 GB DDR2 800

EDIT: The price range I was given restricts me to 4 GB max...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.90/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#10
Why not grab a second 5770? :laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#11
Why not grab a second 5770? :laugh:
The first one arrives Monday actually =P It's replacing my busted 4850... I will just be happy to be able to reboot my computer again with having to shut down then power back on.

Would the 780G chipset support Crossfire on a pair of 5770s? I googled and binged - nada.

My plan is to build a new rig, and move my PSU and 5770 into the new build with another 5770 to Crossfire it with - but if I am forced to keep this build I will invest in a new Phenom... I'm really hoping to not be stuck with it though. This build has been a nightmare thanks to the faulty 4850... I also max out the CPU while working on music, so I am over due for something new.
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#12
Alright. If you already have 4x1GB there's no use in chaning to 2x2GB unless you can do it for free. There is no performance increase AFAIK, but overclocking 2 sticks is easier than overclocking 4 sticks.

There is very little chance of incompatibility with RAM that's not on the manufacturer's website. In theory, all RAM should work with all boards. (Assuming same type and the board supports it specs)

I wouldn't invest any money in DDR2 at this point. It's getting phased out and plus it's so expenseive, you might as well get DDR3.

If you're looking to upgrade, I would upgrade your CPU to a Phenom X2. (unlocks to X4) Next, get a 790X mobo and 4GB DDR3 and a 2nd 5770.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#13
Alright. If you already have 4x1GB there's no use in chaning to 2x2GB unless you can do it for free. There is no performance increase AFAIK, but overclocking 2 sticks is easier than overclocking 4 sticks.

There is very little chance of incompatibility with RAM that's not on the manufacturer's website. In theory, all RAM should work with all boards. (Assuming same type and the board supports it specs)

I wouldn't invest any money in DDR2 at this point. It's getting phased out and plus it's so expenseive, you might as well get DDR3.

If you're looking to upgrade, I would upgrade your CPU to a Phenom X2. (unlocks to X4) Next, get a 790X mobo and 4GB DDR3 and a 2nd 5770.
Well, it's free for me and I get to pick it out too within ~$100 - this dude just wants to trade my current RAM for it.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.37/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#14
What make is the RAM he wants to trade?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#15
What make is the RAM he wants to trade?
what ever I pick out on newegg basically, ~$100, but I'm finding myself kinda like 'wtf?' at the reviews on the 1066 - that RAM is cursed, ahaha.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.37/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#16
Honestly I don't think it's worth the move really, you'll get a little bit of a benefit at 1066 and a little more headroom when OC'ing (depending on the RAM). However, if you've got nothing to lose by going to 2 x 2GB @ 1066MHz for free, then go for it. Even a tiny increase is better than no increase right?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,200 (0.28/day)
Likes
131
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#17
Honestly I don't think it's worth the move really, you'll get a little bit of a benefit at 1066 and a little more headroom when OC'ing (depending on the RAM). However, if you've got nothing to lose by going to 2 x 2GB @ 1066MHz for free, then go for it. Even a tiny increase is better than no increase right?
+1
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#18
Honestly I don't think it's worth the move really, you'll get a little bit of a benefit at 1066 and a little more headroom when OC'ing (depending on the RAM). However, if you've got nothing to lose by going to 2 x 2GB @ 1066MHz for free, then go for it. Even a tiny increase is better than no increase right?
Well, if I can only use 1 channel on my board for 1066 then the 800 is faster over all - 6.4 GB/s x 2 = 12.8 GB/s from the two 800 channels I have in use right now vs. 8.5 GB/s from the 1066 running in one channel... Just actually looked and saw the speed ratings on the 'product tour' tab on the RAM and I was like 'wtf? screw that.' So, no RAM for me.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
1,066 (0.25/day)
Likes
485
Location
Charlotte NC
System Name Rigel / Dorothy / Vega
Processor Ryzen 1700 / 4690k / Pentium G3220 (stock)
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming+ / Asus Z97-E / ASRock H97M-ITX
Cooling H110i / Kraken X61 / Stock
Memory 16gb ddr4-3200 gskill TridentZ / 16GB ddr3-2400 gskill Sniper / 8gb ddr3-1600 gskill ripjaws
Video Card(s) GTX1070 / GTX970 / GTX770
Storage Samsung 840 Evo 250gb / 840 Evo 120gb / Mushkin ECO2 120gb
Display(s) 3x Dell P2211H / Acer G235
Case Thermaltake V51 / NZXT S340 / CoolerMaster Elite 130
Audio Device(s) onboard / onboard / onboard
Power Supply eVGA 650BQ / Corsair CX750M / eVGA 600B
Mouse Logitech G500s / Anker Gaming Optical / Logitech K400
Keyboard Azio MGK1 / Tesoro Lobera Spectrum / Logitech K400
Software Windows 10 Pro
#19
Go for it. 2 sticks is better than 4 when you think of overclocking and stability and if you're getting the $100 to spend on a set, why not go for it.
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#20
Get the fastest stuff you can. Faster stuff can run slower, but slower stuff may not be able to run faster.

How can you run only 1 channel of DDR2-1066? DDR2-1066 RAM can always clock down to whatever you want, so it'll be able to run at DDR2-800 if you tell it to.

But it does bother me that you're spending $100 on DDR3, even if the final cost for you is nothing. Can you get DDR3, and also upgrade your CPU/mobo or is that not an option. I say this because in the future, you're gonna wanna get a better CPU, and you'll find that you'll have to get new mobo and new RAM, but if you already have DDR3, that's just one less thing to buy in the future.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#21
Go for it. 2 sticks is better than 4 when you think of overclocking and stability and if you're getting the $100 to spend on a set, why not go for it.
OCing is not something I feel particularly comfortable with... I decided a while back that OCing is just not wise on this computer. If I did something wrong or a stick failed I'd be screwed over for making tunes. :( This machine is my studio, and I cannot afford to replace a part just because I wanted to OC it.

Get the fastest stuff you can. Faster stuff can run slower, but slower stuff may not be able to run faster.

How can you run only 1 channel of DDR2-1066? DDR2-1066 RAM can always clock down to whatever you want, so it'll be able to run at DDR2-800 if you tell it to.

But it does bother me that you're spending $100 on DDR3, even if the final cost for you is nothing. Can you get DDR3, and also upgrade your CPU/mobo or is that not an option. I say this because in the future, you're gonna wanna get a better CPU, and you'll find that you'll have to get new mobo and new RAM, but if you already have DDR3, that's just one less thing to buy in the future.
Ah, I mis-interpreted the 'channel' thing - 1 dim is what that meant, not 2, lol - so, 6.4 x 4 = 25.6 vs. 8.5 x 2 = 17...

I can't just pop out my RAM and hand it to him for some DDR3, ahaha. My computer is the only way I got to stay in touch with people, so it's just not an option to have 'down time' - If I asked for DDR3 (and had some stand-in DDR2) it might end up sitting here gathering dust for a few months before I get the funds together for a build, and that's assuming I am able to do that.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.28/day)
Likes
300
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
#22
Its not worth upgrading to 1066 when you already have 4gb ddr2 800, i mean, in games thats like 3 to 4 fps. If you are not going to OC then spend the money on something else.

I have a dual e8400 and a quad q9550, and i notice no diference (in performance or stability) in having 2x2gb or 4x2gb or 2x1gb or 4x1gb:p, whether they were OC or not.

About the ram not being in ASRock, i dont know, my ram (OCZ platinum ddr2 1066 4x2gb) is not listed either and it works, but i know that with my board (ASUS P5E) there are some incompatibility issues with some Crucial Ballistix 2gb sticks , and some Corsair Dominator also 2gb sticks, so you should search in google if your board has some incompatibility issues to, or ask people with your same board what ram they are using , and go and buy that:D
 

Flyordie

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
1,870 (0.55/day)
Likes
246
System Name Shay's Revenge
Processor Phenom II X2 550 @ 4,012Mhz 1.488V
Motherboard DFI LANParty 790GX-M2RS
Cooling ThermalTake V1 "Black Widow"
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reapers 4-4-4-12-1T @ 1.8V
Video Card(s) BBA HD5770 Crossfire @ 900Mhz Core 5.6Gbps VRAM
Storage 3x SATA (320GB/ 160GB/160GB Seagates)
Display(s) Westinghouse L1916HW 1680x1050 VGA/DVI/HDCP
Case ThermalTake Element V
Audio Device(s) RealTek Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-550HT Active PFC F3 80PLUS Bronze
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 w/ SQL Hack
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 13,200 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=495939
#23
You want 2x2 GB sticks if you're running 1066. Early AMD CPUs have a warning stating they only do 1066 with 2 sticks max.
Thats iffy... the IMC supports 4 sticks running 1066 but the IMC is very very finnicky about it. However, 2x2GB sticks are recommended. Only use 4x1GB sticks if you have them already.
 

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.28/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#24
OP, i have the same board as you and let me say it runs perfectly fine. to your question on CF'ing two 5770s idk what would happen. i would think CF should work with any ATI Card regardless of the chipset.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#25
Just a question here... earlier cpu have difficulties to run 1066 due to limitation but do yuo consider that and amd phenom x2 BE550 would take those 1066 on 4 sticks dual channels without problems ?