1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ram for Sandy Bridge on Sabetooth P67

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by djisas, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. djisas

    djisas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,752 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Darkness
    So heres the question:
    Ordered a bunch of things for my new build but the guys on the store called me and said my ordered corsair XMS3 ddr3 1600 1,65v wasn't good for the build and recommended me some G.Skill...

    A thorough investigation told me SB like 1,5V, further investigation on asus and corsair (official sources) tell me XMS3 is good or even dominator 1,65...

    I dont like G.Skill looks and im really inclined to get the XMS3 as planed...

    Im open to opinions...
     
  2. lucas4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    232 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    i have read various places, that SB prefer low voltage (1.5V) but 1.65V shouldnt do any damage :)!
    above 1.65V maybe risky tho!
     
  3. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231321

    I say this stuff.... I bought some for my setup. The reason I did is I didn't like running the ram at 1.65 volts when Intel even admits its risky. This stuff here runs below Intel's suggested 1.5volts and it has a great speed and timings. I see you don't like most G.Skill ram but this stuff looks pretty professional too.
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,081 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,182
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Ripjaws X, or Kingston's new line...uhhh...it has holes inthe top end on the heatspeader...sheesh, can't think of the name right now...

    Don't bother with anything not tested for P67, IMHO.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. lucas4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    232 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    i still think that 1.65V RAM should be fine :)!

    loads of manufactures have tested their 1.65V RAM on SB platforms and confirmed its fine.
    that tells me that most 1.65V RAM should be fine :)!

    im hoping my 1.65V corsair Dom will work ok with SB lol!
     
  6. djisas

    djisas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,752 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Darkness
    20mmrain seems to be running the xms3 on his rig...

    And both asus and corsair say it works with the board...
    So im just curious to see what others think and if they have had any experience with it...
     
  7. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,407 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,462
    Location:
    London, UK
    Been running 1.65v on my main rig for about 2 months crunching 24/7 with no problem. But I've no real idea if it's going to degrade over time.

    If you can get 1.5v RAM it would probably be better so as to keep on the safe side on things.
     
  8. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I run 1.65v GTX Dominators with mine often up to 1.72v and have had no issues. I have many different sets of ram here and have found none that have any problems with SB.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. djisas

    djisas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,752 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Darkness
    good to know...

    Ill decide on spot when i see the rams in my hand if they look good (because looks matter...) i might get the 1.5v gskill, but on the other hand i like corsair, im on my 2 set, XMS2 and dominator currently
     
  10. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    You can say it will be fine and you are probably right in the short time. But in the long run who knows. These systems have not been around long enough to know for sure. IMO why would you risk it when you could find RAM with the same performance as the 1.65 volt stuff but at 1.5 volts or lower. Like the stuff I am getting down to 1.35 and timings better than most memory modules running at 1.65 volts.
    It makes sense to me.... I mean do what you like.... I just think it is to early to tell it it will or will not have a negative affect. Why take the chance?
     
  11. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,035 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    I personally prefer G.Skill's Ripjaws over any Corsair RAM LOL
     
  12. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,961 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm running Redline 1600's at 1866 at 1.63v. Default on the sticks is 1.65v. No problems at all. A Mushkin Rep said they would be fine (As most manufacturers have said about 1.65v ram), and most sticks worth their salt are covered by a lifetime warranty, so where's the risk?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)