• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Ram loose in ram slot.

Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Hanoi-Vietnam
System Name My husband:)
Processor I7-2600k
Motherboard P8z77-V deluxe
Cooling H80 Corsair
Memory 8gb Gskill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX560Ti
Storage Corsair SSD 90gb
Display(s) DELL U2312HM
Case Corsair 650 white
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software windows7 64 bit
#1
Hi everyone!
I have a question.
When i start PC,Can RAM stick be damaged if it loose in Ram slot ?I mean the clips ram slot didn't close.
I didn't insert RAM stick backwards,but one side clip in, and the other doesn't.
Can Ram sticks be burned?
I repleaced its and its fine now
Thx alot
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
A long time ago it might have caused a problem, but nowadays i think you're fine to continue using it, we get loose ram sticks all the time at work (damn kids kick the towers off the shelving frames), and reseat the memory constantly.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Hanoi-Vietnam
System Name My husband:)
Processor I7-2600k
Motherboard P8z77-V deluxe
Cooling H80 Corsair
Memory 8gb Gskill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX560Ti
Storage Corsair SSD 90gb
Display(s) DELL U2312HM
Case Corsair 650 white
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software windows7 64 bit
#3
A long time ago it might have caused a problem, but nowadays i think you're fine to continue using it, we get loose ram sticks all the time at work (damn kids kick the towers off the shelving frames), and reseat the memory constantly.
Thanks!
I thought Ram sticks or Ram slot will be burn if they loose in ram slot.
I didn't see a spark when i start PC and no smelled burning.
Hope they well:)
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#4
are you sure you put it in right? in newer motherboards the bottom is actually fixed. so you need to slide it into the bottom notch and press the top, and it clicks into place.
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,854 (0.66/day)
Likes
506
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#5
are you sure you put it in right? in newer motherboards the bottom is actually fixed. so you need to slide it into the bottom notch and press the top, and it clicks into place.
yes but it can still be removed unlike if you clip it
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#6
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Hanoi-Vietnam
System Name My husband:)
Processor I7-2600k
Motherboard P8z77-V deluxe
Cooling H80 Corsair
Memory 8gb Gskill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX560Ti
Storage Corsair SSD 90gb
Display(s) DELL U2312HM
Case Corsair 650 white
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software windows7 64 bit
#7
reply!

I didn't insert Ram sticks backwards.But i forgot close the Ram clip.
Im using ram kit 8gb Gskill sniper with P8Z77-V deluxe MB.
I tested my Ram sticks with WindowsDiagnostics and with AIDA64 .Thay fine:(
Im not sure can they be damaged after my mistake.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#8
If it doesn't fit the notch, take a knife and make a new notch in the middle
bad idea.

what RCoon said.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Hanoi-Vietnam
System Name My husband:)
Processor I7-2600k
Motherboard P8z77-V deluxe
Cooling H80 Corsair
Memory 8gb Gskill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX560Ti
Storage Corsair SSD 90gb
Display(s) DELL U2312HM
Case Corsair 650 white
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software windows7 64 bit
#9
aaa

If it doesn't fit the notch, take a knife and make a new notch in the middle
bad idea.

what RCoon said.
I dont understand what you say=,=
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#10
he make joke
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#11
No, if the RAM was in the right way (not backward) even if it was not seated properly it is unlikely that you would damage it ... it just wouldn't work right.
If the RAM is now seated properly and passes RAM tests, you are good to go.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#12
I wouldn't think there is enough power running through the RAM slots to actually damage anything. I see this all the time with low power systems, it is very difficult to damage something when there isn't enough power to do any damage.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Hanoi-Vietnam
System Name My husband:)
Processor I7-2600k
Motherboard P8z77-V deluxe
Cooling H80 Corsair
Memory 8gb Gskill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX560Ti
Storage Corsair SSD 90gb
Display(s) DELL U2312HM
Case Corsair 650 white
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software windows7 64 bit
#13
Merry Christmas!

Thank you all!
I didn't see a spark and no smelled burning when i start my PC with my loose RAM.
No black points on RAM Pins.
Now my PC runs well but i need to check it everyday.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#14
The only way you would damage the RAM is if you shorted something out.
There is no real way to do this when it's in the slot, even if it's loose.
I've opened computers where the RAM is hanging loosing in the slot and simply plugged them back in and they work fine.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Hanoi-Vietnam
System Name My husband:)
Processor I7-2600k
Motherboard P8z77-V deluxe
Cooling H80 Corsair
Memory 8gb Gskill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX560Ti
Storage Corsair SSD 90gb
Display(s) DELL U2312HM
Case Corsair 650 white
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software windows7 64 bit
#15
Merry Christmast!

The only way you would damage the RAM is if you shorted something out.
There is no real way to do this when it's in the slot, even if it's loose.
I've opened computers where the RAM is hanging loosing in the slot and simply plugged them back in and they work fine.
Thanks for your answer!
But sorry,i dont understand what this phrase mean : "shorted something out"
Sorry ,my English is so bad:(
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#16
Oh boy, let me see ... Shorted out means that voltage and current from somewhere goes to somewhere else where it does not belong. If you take a wire and stick it into both plugs in an electrical outlet you are "shorting it out".
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Hanoi-Vietnam
System Name My husband:)
Processor I7-2600k
Motherboard P8z77-V deluxe
Cooling H80 Corsair
Memory 8gb Gskill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX560Ti
Storage Corsair SSD 90gb
Display(s) DELL U2312HM
Case Corsair 650 white
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software windows7 64 bit
#17
Merry Christmas!

Oh boy, let me see ... Shorted out means that voltage and current from somewhere goes to somewhere else where it does not belong. If you take a wire and stick it into both plugs in an electrical outlet you are "shorting it out".
:slap:
You should be my English teacher:)
I'm only good with Vietnamese.
Now i see my problem:)
Thank you again.Love from Vietnam:)
Merry Christmas!
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#18
TPU is a global community. There are many people here who will take the time to help you, even if it means helping you with the English language. That's what makes this website great.
If you don't understand something, always ask. Someone will help. :)
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Hanoi-Vietnam
System Name My husband:)
Processor I7-2600k
Motherboard P8z77-V deluxe
Cooling H80 Corsair
Memory 8gb Gskill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX560Ti
Storage Corsair SSD 90gb
Display(s) DELL U2312HM
Case Corsair 650 white
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software windows7 64 bit
#19
Tpu!

TPU is a global community. There are many people here who will take the time to help you, even if it means helping you with the English language. That's what makes this website great.
If you don't understand something, always ask. Someone will help. :)
This is a great site,great community!
I learned too many experience from TPU.:toast:
I knew our community for a long time,when i start to use GPU-Z:rockout:
Wish our community more grow up:D