• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ram Speed questions!

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
5,949 (3.39/day)
Likes
4,362
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#1
Hi everyone.

I have bought 6 x 4GB 1866 Ram, honestly i never care that much about learning how to read Ram's speed, i always have bought Ram with high MHz and XMP profile installed it and let it run and that was ok.

Now my question is:
Are my Ram running at 1866, lower or higher speed?

Here is a pic:
IMG-20160817-WA0012.jpeg


Thanks in Advance.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,083 (0.99/day)
Likes
2,142
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
Well if you multiply that by 2 you have your answer. So no it seems not. Are you using the XMP profile?

Edit: you can check under the SPD tab for the profile speeds available.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,180 (0.26/day)
Likes
442
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#3
Seems like the timings are abit loose aswell.

Post a pic of the SPD tab.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,083 (0.99/day)
Likes
2,142
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
Seems like the timings are abit loose aswell.

Post a pic of the SPD tab.
LOL yeah just added that to my edit...
 

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
5,949 (3.39/day)
Likes
4,362
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#5
Well if you multiply that by 2 you have your answer. So no it seems not. Are you using the XMP profile?
Why 2 if it's running Triple channel, should be x 3?

Evga SR 2 Motherboard doesn't have XMP profile.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
1,003 (0.38/day)
Likes
581
Location
Porto
System Name No name / Purple Haze
Processor Phenom II 1100T @ 3.8Ghz / Pentium 4 3.4 EE Gallatin @ 3.825Ghz
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming/ Abit IC7-MAX3
Cooling CM Hyper 212X / Scythe Andy Samurai Master (CPU) - Modded Ati Silencer 5 rev. 2 (GPU)
Memory 8GB GEIL GB38GB2133C10ADC + 8GB G.Skill F3-14900CL9-4GBXL / 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000
Video Card(s) Asus R9 Fury X Strix (4096 SP's/1050 Mhz)/ PowerColor X850XT PE @ (600/1230) AGP + (HD3850 AGP)
Storage Samsung 250 GB / WD Caviar 160GB
Display(s) Benq XL2411T
Audio Device(s) motherboard / Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro + Front panel
Power Supply Tagan BZ 900W / Corsair HX620w
Mouse Zowie AM
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 7 Pro 64Bit / Windows XP
Benchmark Scores 64CU Fury: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11269229 / X850XT PE http://www.3dmark.com/3dm05/5532432
#6
Why 2 if it's running Triple channel, should be x 3?

Evga SR 2 Motherboard doesn't have XMP profile.
iirc DDR3 stands for Double Data Rate type 3
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,180 (0.26/day)
Likes
442
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#7
DDR3 is dual data rate so 750MHz is 1500MHz effective speed. Triple channel is something different(and is working fine based on that cpu-z screenshot).
 

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
5,949 (3.39/day)
Likes
4,362
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,083 (0.99/day)
Likes
2,142
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#9
Why 2 if it's running Triple channel, should be x 3?

Evga SR 2 Motherboard doesn't have XMP profile.
Well if you can't use the XMP profile then it will just run the "standard JDEC profile" so that is what you are getting. Only thing you can do is write down all the XMP timings from the SPD Tab and put them in yourself if you want the advertised speeds.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
84 (0.07/day)
Likes
36
Location
USA
System Name The FPS Killer
Processor Intel i7-6700k @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 Liquid Cooler
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC GAMING
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD, Mushkin Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) 3 ROG Swift PG278Q Monitors
Case NZXT Noctis 450
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2 - 1000W Platinum
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
Why 2 if it's running Triple channel, should be x 3?
Double data rate (or DDR), it lets the memory transfer data on both the rising and falling edges of the clock signal, giving it the capability to move information nearly twice as quickly as with regular SDR SDRAM.

Dual channel or in your case Triple channel should not be confused with double data rate (DDR), in which data exchange happens twice per DRAM clock. The two technologies are independent of each other and many motherboards use both, by using DDR memory in a dual-channel configuration.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,863 (0.60/day)
Likes
837
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage Samsung 850EVO,PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809/W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#11
If you are going to OC the X5677's, try manually setting the ram for 1333.
 

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
5,949 (3.39/day)
Likes
4,362
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#12
If you are going to OC the X5677's, try manually setting the ram for 1333.
The X5677 are overclocked, i was reading that when you increase Bus speed automatically ram frequency increase, but in my case it seems that it's not working that way, i know that i am missing something, what? i don't know, something really funny, when i change Timings and voltage to 165v CPU-z show the new timings but it doesn't show the new voltage:confused:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,083 (0.99/day)
Likes
2,142
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#13
The X5677 are overclocked, i was reading that when you increase Bus speed automatically ram frequency increase, but in my case it seems that it's not working that way, i know that i am missing something, what? i don't know, something really funny, when i change Timings and voltage to 165v CPU-z show the new timings but it doesn't show the new voltage:confused:
Yeah CPU-Z can't/doesn't do it. You can double check with something like AIDA or HWinfo I'm sure.
 

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
5,949 (3.39/day)
Likes
4,362
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#14
DDR3 is dual data rate so 750MHz is 1500MHz effective speed. Triple channel is something different(and is working fine based on that cpu-z screenshot).
It's not working fine, 1866 ÷ 2 = 933 and the Ram is running at 1500 ÷ 2 = 750.

Btw an user from another forum told me:

You need to increase CPU Uncore Frequency to raise memory multiplier. Don't leave it at 12X.

That's mean that in certain parts i am right when i say that it's not running properly.
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
860 (0.36/day)
Likes
692
Location
Ireland
System Name SilentIO
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.8GHz, 1.35V
Motherboard Asus Z97M Plus
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 2400MHz, CL11, 2x8GB, DDR3 1,65V
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Storage 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB in Raid0, Samsung 960 PRO 1TB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 Evolution II Matte 27 @120Hz
Case Cooler Master Silencio 352
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster e5 + Kingston HyperX Cloud II / Logitech Z333 + Blue Snowball
Power Supply Corsair CX500M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Ubuntu Mate 17.10
#15
If you are going to OC the X5677's, try manually setting the ram for 1333.
WHY? Why would you underclock the RAM? It's rated for 1866MHz.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2016
Messages
823 (0.97/day)
Likes
633
Location
Croatistan
System Name 1.21 gigawatts!
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim with Arctic MX-4
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB with back plate
Storage Mushkin Triactor 240GB + Toshiba X300 4TB
Display(s) Philips 237E7QDSB/00 23" FHD IPS
Case Aerocool Aero-1000 white + 4 Arctic F12 PWM Rev.2 fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio Boost 3 with Nahimic Audio Enhancer
Power Supply FSP Hydro G 650W
Mouse Cougar 700M eSports white
Keyboard E-Blue Cobra II
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 1.82.2 (4,8 GHz + XMP): 574 ST / 2887 MT Cinebench R15: 948 (stock) / 1044 (4,7 GHz)
#16
Nope. Your RAM is running in odd 1500 MHz mode. Are they the same sticks (same latencies and same clock speed) from the same manufacturer?
Maybe you'll have to manually adjust your timings and voltages to achieve 1866 MHz.
 

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
5,949 (3.39/day)
Likes
4,362
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#17
WHY? Why would you underclock the RAM? It's rated for 1866MHz.
Maybe you should read the while thread:slap:

I don't want to downclock it, the problem is that Ram is running at 1500 and they are rated 1866.

Nope. Your RAM is running in odd 1500 MHz mode. Are they the same sticks (same latencies and same clock speed) from the same manufacturer?
Maybe you'll have to manually adjust your timings and voltages to achieve 1866 MHz.
Of course they are all the same, i have bought it all together.
IMG_20160818_140256.jpg
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
860 (0.36/day)
Likes
692
Location
Ireland
System Name SilentIO
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.8GHz, 1.35V
Motherboard Asus Z97M Plus
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 2400MHz, CL11, 2x8GB, DDR3 1,65V
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Storage 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB in Raid0, Samsung 960 PRO 1TB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 Evolution II Matte 27 @120Hz
Case Cooler Master Silencio 352
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster e5 + Kingston HyperX Cloud II / Logitech Z333 + Blue Snowball
Power Supply Corsair CX500M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Ubuntu Mate 17.10
#18
Maybe you should read the while thread:slap:

I don't want to downclock it, the problem is that Ram is running at 1500 and they are rated 1866.[/QOUTE]

Of course they are all the same, i have bought it all together.
View attachment 77996
Re-read my quote.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2016
Messages
823 (0.97/day)
Likes
633
Location
Croatistan
System Name 1.21 gigawatts!
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim with Arctic MX-4
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB with back plate
Storage Mushkin Triactor 240GB + Toshiba X300 4TB
Display(s) Philips 237E7QDSB/00 23" FHD IPS
Case Aerocool Aero-1000 white + 4 Arctic F12 PWM Rev.2 fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio Boost 3 with Nahimic Audio Enhancer
Power Supply FSP Hydro G 650W
Mouse Cougar 700M eSports white
Keyboard E-Blue Cobra II
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 1.82.2 (4,8 GHz + XMP): 574 ST / 2887 MT Cinebench R15: 948 (stock) / 1044 (4,7 GHz)
#19
It's quite strange why they run at odd 1500 MHz. Timings seem to be OK, matching with those on the sticker... What else? Check RAM voltage, VCCIO, VCCSA and adjust them properly. If that doesn't work, try with dual channel for testing purposes.
 

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
5,949 (3.39/day)
Likes
4,362
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#20
Re-read my quote.
You wrote: WHY? Why would you underclock the RAM? It's rated for 1866MHz.

What do you mean?

Maybe i am too old to understand what you mean.
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
860 (0.36/day)
Likes
692
Location
Ireland
System Name SilentIO
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.8GHz, 1.35V
Motherboard Asus Z97M Plus
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 2400MHz, CL11, 2x8GB, DDR3 1,65V
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Storage 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB in Raid0, Samsung 960 PRO 1TB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 Evolution II Matte 27 @120Hz
Case Cooler Master Silencio 352
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster e5 + Kingston HyperX Cloud II / Logitech Z333 + Blue Snowball
Power Supply Corsair CX500M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Ubuntu Mate 17.10
#21
You wrote: WHY? Why would you underclock the RAM? It's rated for 1866MHz.

What do you mean?

Maybe i am too old to understand what you mean.
Sir, with all respect...



Your RAM is rated for 1866 MHz, and this gentleman was suggesting you to run it at 1333MHz, hence my response.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,863 (0.60/day)
Likes
837
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage Samsung 850EVO,PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809/W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#22
Is the system stable with the ram @ 1500 or does it crash?
What are the others in the Xeon club getting for ram speed?

For the "others" this is not a desktop chip, it is a server chip.
 
Last edited:

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
5,949 (3.39/day)
Likes
4,362
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#23
Sir, with all respect...



Your RAM is rated for 1866 MHz, and this gentleman was suggesting you to run it at 1333MHz, hence my response.
Now I got what you mean:clap:

Is the system stable with the ram @ 1500 or does it crash?
The system is stable but that's not the point, the point is why are the running at 1500 when the can/should run at 1866.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,863 (0.60/day)
Likes
837
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage Samsung 850EVO,PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro 1809/W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro

Knoxx29

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
5,949 (3.39/day)
Likes
4,362
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8086K 5.3GHz 1.36V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z 3866MHz @4000MHz - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX V 3000MHz 32GB - G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133MHz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#25
For the "others" this is not a desktop chip, it is a server chip.
It doesn't matter, there are people out there with the same board and the same chip that I have and they have Ram running at 2000+.
 
Top