• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAM timings

Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
#1


I had a 2GB RAM from Kingston (now in Slot 1) rated at 800Mhz

I got another ram 2GB from TwinMOS also rated at 800Mhz and when put, the system wouldnt work, except if I set the memory controller mode to unganged and 667Mhz.

Whats the solution? At 800Mhz, the computer gets stuck at the POST screen. I have a feeling if I relax the timings (or thats what someone at TPU said) it might work at 800Mhz.
 
Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,401 (5.43/day)
Likes
9,570
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#3
http://i.imgur.com/62DVu.png
Whats the solution? At 800Mhz, the computer gets stuck at the POST screen. I have a feeling if I relax the timings (or thats what someone at TPU said) it might work at 800Mhz.
He may be right you know :D I gave my buddy 4 random sticks of 1066 RAM from my old pc and had to loosen the timing on three of them to the stock timings of the 4th. 1 gskill, 1 kingston, and two corsair xms. worked fine for him over the last 2 years.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
#4
The sticks are probably just incompatible. Could you take a pic of each type of stick?
Is there anything particular your looking for? I could tell. Trying to find a cam with good focus :laugh:
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,511 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,596
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#5
Try manually setting your timings to 6-6-6-18-2T before you try changing the memory frequency to 800Mhz. I suspect that your BIOS is defaulting to 5-5-5-15 and your 6-6-6-18 DIMM isn't very happy about it, except at 667Mhz. I would make sure you're running the voltage that the DIMMs want as well. One might like a little more than the other. It should say on the DIMM themselves if the stickers haven't been taken off.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
#6
Here ya go:



No consistent information across both of them. :/

There is alot fields to set if I do it manually:

Here is some more info read by AMD's Overdrive

 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,951 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,909
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#7
Voltage bump may solve it... or relax timings to 6 or 7
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,577 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,943
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#8
Yeah, as mentioned, try the looser 6-6-6 primary timings, and/or slight voltage bump up to 2.0 V, and that's about all the options you have.

They are different PCBs, so might have slightly different tolerances, even when running the tighter stick at the looser timings, so if you are still met with problems trying those two thing, you may just be SOL.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
#9
Just a moment, here are the BIOS settings:





So:
6
6
6

What about the others?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,577 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,943
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#10
Otheres are more controller-related, and looking at the screen shots earlier, are identical between the sticks(secondary and tertiary timings usually relate to speed of the DIMM that the IC itself)

6-6-6-18 should be all you need to change.

Ganged mode probably doesn't work because of the different PCBs used.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
#11
Ok, so I set it to 6-6-6-18

and for the rest of the settings I took what was mentioned under SPD (since it seems to be the manufacturer's settings for the RAM causing issues).

Rebooted, and then changed to 800Mhz and it worked fine! :D

Thanks everyone in this thread. If only I had started this thread 1 year ago, I wouldve had 800 speeds :D

Btw if it was dual channel the speeds(transfer rate) would be doubled? It says single channel atm.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,951 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,909
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#12
Ok, so I set it to 6-6-6-18

and for the rest of the settings I took what was mentioned under SPD (since it seems to be the manufacturer's settings for the RAM causing issues).

Rebooted, and then changed to 800Mhz and it worked fine! :D

Thanks everyone in this thread. If only I had started this thread 1 year ago, I wouldve had 800 speeds :D

Btw if it was dual channel the speeds(transfer rate) would be doubled? It says single channel atm.
Cool. Yes, if you do dual channel, you'll probably get 5-10% bump in speed. May not work with two different stick, but should.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,511 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,596
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#13
Cool. Yes, if you do dual channel, you'll probably get 5-10% bump in speed. May not work with two different stick, but should.
Should work fine if they're the same size. Synchronous dual-channel results in performance boosts, async doesn't (two different sized DIMMs).
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
#14
Guys I had a system crash after which my bios reset itself to the last best setting ie 667mhz one. I tried to set it again to the above 800 MHz setting and after that I wouldn't get any post screen only continuous beeps. Restarted a couple of times and the there were 3 beeps and a reset. Then again continuous 12+beeps.

Removed the stick in first slot and got the same beeps. Then kept only the first stick and its stuckk at memory testing...
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
#15
Sigh so this is what happened:

Twinmos only worked. 800mhz
Twinmos in slot 1 Kingston in slot 3 beeps
Kingston n slot 1 worked 800 MHz
KinKingston g in s1 twin in s3 667mhz worked (ie the config in the 1st post)

It really odd be coz the day I got it to run in 800mhz I ran tests too... And it never crashed. One week later (not turned on in betwee), the system is getting hiccups and restarted 3 times, the 3rd time causing those continuous beeps.

667mhz4lyfe I guess

Gotta sell these dam sticks
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,511 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,596
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#16
Sigh so this is what happened:

Twinmos only worked. 800mhz
Twinmos in slot 1 Kingston in slot 3 beeps
Kingston n slot 1 worked 800 MHz
KinKingston g in s1 twin in s3 667mhz worked (ie the config in the 1st post)

It really odd be coz the day I got it to run in 800mhz I ran tests too... And it never crashed. One week later (not turned on in betwee), the system is getting hiccups and restarted 3 times, the 3rd time causing those continuous beeps.

667mhz4lyfe I guess

Gotta sell these dam sticks
You should upgrade that motherboard and get some DDR3. I can only imagine how much your starving that 6-core by using DDR2. :p
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
#17
So my computer just refused to boot with constant beeps (after working fine for 1 whole week on witcher 2 and some 3d modelling). Did a hard reset then after 3 beeps, the BIOS tried to restore itself, then got to the Windows loading screen and bam, BSOD on Memory_Management.

3 restarts later same BSOD. Reduce the memory speed from 667 to 533, and it goes into Windows, though a bit slow than usual, and a few seconds after the browser loads the white lines distort the screen and freeze.

On induvidual sticks the system boots fine at 800mhz ram speed. But just for the sake of it, I try memtest+ and HCI memtest to see what the hell is the issue.

memtest+
Kingston, slot 1 = Pass (1 Pass)
Kingston(slot 1) + twinmos (slot 4) = errors
Kingston(slot 1) + twinmos (slot 3) = errors
Twinmos, slot 3 = errors
Twinmos, slot 1 = freeze
Twinmos, slot 2 = reports 400mhz, when the post screen showed 200mhz (also freeze at 2:00 walltime)

HCI memtest:
Twinmos, slot 1 = error at 8.5% coverage.

Still havent done a comprehensive test for the kingston stick, but I guess at the moment its safe to assume that its the Twinmos stick that has gone bad, and not my motherboard slots or the CPU memory controller
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,511 (4.82/day)
Likes
5,596
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#18
I guess at the moment its safe to assume that its the Twinmos stick that has gone bad, and not my motherboard slots or the CPU memory controller
I agree. If the Kingston memory is working well by itself it definitely isn't the memory controller which leaves you with the other stick of memory.