• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RAM Timings

Nothgrin

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
145 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 C1 @ 3.83GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E64 WS Evolution 0802
Cooling Sunbeamtech CR-CCTF Core Contact Freezer 120MM + 400W TEC
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3 1800(PC3 14400) 4GB
Video Card(s) BFG NVidia GTX 260 (216 SP)
Storage Seagate Cheetah 15K.5 SAS 300GB (x2) 15K.6 SAS 300GB (x1) + Adaptec 2405 SAS RAID Controller
Display(s) LG 24" W2452T + LG 23" W2353V
Case Thermaltake Armor VA8003BWS Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Professional Titanium
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700W + 2x 400W 12V Meanwell Power Supplys
#1
I am currently running 4-4-4 DDR2-533 RAM and I just purchased 5-5-5 DDR2-667 RAM.

The 5-5-5 timing is for 667 speed. Would the timing be any lower when im running it at 533? :wtf:
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,698 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,436
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
sometimes in cpu-z under the memory tab , it will show timings for the lower speeds, sometimes not but a good place to start!
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,040 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,145
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#3
you'd have to try it out...read reviews or google that 667 memory would be your best bet, especially since you haven't provided brand/model specifics. Not all memory is created equal...cheap memory get's cheap results generally.
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.00/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#4
If you're running a C2D system, I would say that you want to run at the higher speed, with loose timings. From my experience and research, C2D's respond best to higher frequencies and loose timings.
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.55/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#5
If you're running a C2D system, I would say that you want to run at the higher speed, with loose timings. From my experience and research, C2D's respond best to higher frequencies and loose timings.
That is correct.
Ironically, it is the opposite for AMD systems.

The tighter the timings and the lower the freq. the better an AMD system does.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.57/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#6
It would probably default to running at the lower 533 speed. IT all depends on the memory, chips and motherboard.

Wow, I didnt know the slower the memory runs with tighter timings, the better it would perform on my AMD Opty system.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#7
Your CL4 memory is performing roughly as good as the CL5 memory @ 667.. so I'm not sure what exactly you want to know :wtf: unless you just wanted faster memory to try edging your way to 800MHz
 

Nothgrin

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
145 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 C1 @ 3.83GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E64 WS Evolution 0802
Cooling Sunbeamtech CR-CCTF Core Contact Freezer 120MM + 400W TEC
Memory Corsair Dominator DDR3 1800(PC3 14400) 4GB
Video Card(s) BFG NVidia GTX 260 (216 SP)
Storage Seagate Cheetah 15K.5 SAS 300GB (x2) 15K.6 SAS 300GB (x1) + Adaptec 2405 SAS RAID Controller
Display(s) LG 24" W2452T + LG 23" W2353V
Case Thermaltake Armor VA8003BWS Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Professional Titanium
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700W + 2x 400W 12V Meanwell Power Supplys
#8
I tested the 667 memory using CPU-Z and its running CL4 now so its all good :) and its running at lower 533 speed
 

new_rez

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
446 (0.11/day)
Likes
3
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel B2 conroe core 2 duo E6300 @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA965P DS4
Cooling Case = 5x80mm Thermaltake silent Fans, 2xDelta 80mm Fan, CPU = Thermalright Ultra-90 + 120mm fan
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ gold
Video Card(s) HD6850 oc - 965gpu - 1100 mem
Storage 80Gb Seagate 7200rpm 8Mb Cache, 80Gb Maxtor 7200rpm 8Mb Cache
Display(s) Samsung SM205BW 20"
Case Thermaltake XaserIII
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeMusic!
Power Supply Hiper 580W HPU-4M580
Software Windows 7 64bit ultimate
#9
If you're running a C2D system, I would say that you want to run at the higher speed, with loose timings. From my experience and research, C2D's respond best to higher frequencies and loose timings.
Did you do the research yourself or have you got a website to refer to? I would really like to read it :)
 

ElXtronic

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
That is correct.
Ironically, it is the opposite for AMD systems.

The tighter the timings and the lower the freq. the better an AMD system does.
This is because in AMD's the MCC is attached to the CPU since 2003. Not nessesarily better to have lower frequencies but as long as the RAM performs at a rate equal to the CPU's core clock it will make no difference if the mem freq is hightend. This is why the Mems cas lvls matter more in AMD boards. As for intel, at the moment the MCC is still attached to the NorthBridge causing the mem frequency to be rather important since the relay is set between 2 bus lines, CPU-vs-NB and NB-vs-MEM. Tranfer rate of course is effected by this due to the line between NB-vs-MEM is its own seperate from CPU bus. So he is correct, yet only reason i decided to post on this is because its not better if its lower freq if u pass out youre core clock, it still needs to match or be greater in freq to the cpu clock, timings matter signifigantly more in AMD boards.