• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ram voltage advice

Joined
Jul 12, 2006
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2D E8400 @ 4000
Motherboard Gigabyte DS3
Cooling Stock cooler from E6400
Memory Crucial 800MHz/PC2-6400 Ballistix
Video Card(s) Sapphire Toxic HD6850 @ 950/1150
#1
Just seeking a little advice on ram voltages.

When multiple sticks of ram are used on a board, is there a need to increase the voltage, i.e does the voltage drop slightly when more than 1 stick is use?

I have at the moment 4 Gb of Crucial Ballistix (2x2 Gb). Board is Gigabyte DS3. Running ram at +0.3 (board gives 1.8 and ram requires 2.0) for stable over clock.

When I put in another 4 Gb will I need to increase the voltage slightly or will the board quite happily push 2.1V to all the ram slots (4x2 Gb.)?

Thanks for help guys.
 

Undead46

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
256 (0.10/day)
Likes
22
Location
USA, Texas
Processor i7-2600K @ 4.5GHz - 1.335VCore
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution (B3)
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 2133MHz 7-11-8-27-1N (F3-12800CL6D-4GBXH)
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6950 (Unlocked)
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD (OS & Games), 500GB WD Caviar Blue, 250GB WD Caviar Blue
Display(s) Dell 23" U2311H IPS Monitor
Case Cooler Master HAF X Full Tower
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Professional - 64bit
#2
Depends what the RAM's rated voltages are...

Just keep the voltage set to Auto and you should be fine.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,715 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,419
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#3
Its not the ram (Vdimm) that you increase the voltage on though, its the CPU-NB (amd) or vtt/Qpi (Intel).
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2006
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2D E8400 @ 4000
Motherboard Gigabyte DS3
Cooling Stock cooler from E6400
Memory Crucial 800MHz/PC2-6400 Ballistix
Video Card(s) Sapphire Toxic HD6850 @ 950/1150
#4
I thought auto often over volted components on a board.

Rams rated at 2V by the way, hence I'm giving 0.1 over fot OC stability.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,715 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,419
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#5
Auto does tend to overvolt in favor of stability. but again, when running more sticks, its not the ram you need to add voltage to.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2006
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2D E8400 @ 4000
Motherboard Gigabyte DS3
Cooling Stock cooler from E6400
Memory Crucial 800MHz/PC2-6400 Ballistix
Video Card(s) Sapphire Toxic HD6850 @ 950/1150
#6
Am I right in thinking that the MCH voltage on a DS3 is the NB voltage.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,715 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,419
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#7
Damn socket 775...

Yes, thats the one. :)
 

Funtoss

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
588 (0.23/day)
Likes
61
Location
New Zealand
System Name My Heater
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B-E Plus
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 NT
Memory Patriot 4GB 800MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 460 1GB
Storage 2x Western Digital 640GB (1.28TB)
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2349wm 24"
Case Raidmax Hurricane
Audio Device(s) C-Media 8738
Power Supply Aywun Megapower 650w 80+
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#8
i heard that some ram can go up to 2.1 - 2.2v :D
 

Funtoss

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
588 (0.23/day)
Likes
61
Location
New Zealand
System Name My Heater
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B-E Plus
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 NT
Memory Patriot 4GB 800MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 460 1GB
Storage 2x Western Digital 640GB (1.28TB)
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2349wm 24"
Case Raidmax Hurricane
Audio Device(s) C-Media 8738
Power Supply Aywun Megapower 650w 80+
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#9
i wouldnt try it though lol
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#10
i used to run DDR2 by Gskill @ 2.22v
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#11
Just use there max rated voltage and be aware that setting your voltage varies.

Example my Asus mobo rams set to 2.02 but is actually running 2.10 and the new MSI mobo it's set too 1.65 but is actually running at 1.613.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,808 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,579
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#12
i never go over max allowed voltage from the product manufactur ^^
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,448 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,695
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#13
Just keep the voltage set to Auto and you should be fine.
And that's exactly the reason why there are quite a bunch of people complaining about stability issues with their Crucial sticks. Those modules need to be set manually to the right speed, latency and voltage, because that info is not stored in the SPD profile for some reason.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
896 (0.29/day)
Likes
77
Location
Baltimore, MD
System Name Cool Runnings Mark 2
Processor i7 4770k No OC
Motherboard MSI Z87 MPower
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory GSkill TridentX 2400MHz 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 AC+
Storage Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD, 3 more HDDs
Display(s) Acer G276HLDbd Black 27" 6ms, Acer AL2216Wbd Black 22" 5ms
Case Corsair 600t
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win10 Pro 64-bit
#14
richard, if your ram required 2.0v, running 2.1 or 2.2 will not hurt it
when you run more sticks of ram, depending on the chipset of your motherboard, you may have to increase the voltage to your northbridge. also, you'll need to call the manufactorur of the ram your using and ask what ram timings should be run using 2 kits of said ram
refer to http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=142279 for more info
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
171 (0.06/day)
Likes
34
Location
@/In a place where you aint ;) :)
System Name [HELIX]
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K @ Stock
Motherboard Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z97
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 [2x140mm]
Memory Kingston HyperX 16GB 1866Mhz CL10 XMP Beast Series
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G [2x100mm Semi-Passive] | Intel HD4600
Storage Intel 520 120GB SSD | WD Green 2TB | WD Green 1TB | Samsung SP F1 640GB | Seagate BD 150GB
Display(s) DELL U2412M (24" 1200p @ 60Hz) | Samsung SM 940BW (19" 1440x900 @ 60Hz)
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2, Black, Windowed [3x140mm/4x120mm]
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3Di | Marantz SR3001 A/V Rcv. | TANNOY Mercury MX-M 7.1 Spk.| QED Cbl. | COAX.
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W [1x140mm Semi-Passive, Modular, 80+ Gold]
Software OS:Win7x64EESP1 | 4GB SanDisk Cruzer USB-Stick w. Win7x64 (OS Installer)
Benchmark Scores NEW [HELIX]: COMING SOON OLD [PARALLAX]: 3DMARK11:P4054 [http://3dmark.com/3dm11/588204]
#15
Storytime :)

And that's exactly the reason why there are quite a bunch of people complaining about stability issues with their Crucial sticks. Those modules need to be set manually to the right speed, latency and voltage, because that info is not stored in the SPD profile for some reason.
That makes a lot of sense as I have had issues in the past with an old Crucial BallistiX DDR2 PC8500 2x1GBkit when OCing a E6550 on a Gigabyte P35C-DS3R...as the rig worked great for some months but suddenly without warning BSOD!

I figured out by reading on various forums that the mems got stuck in an "infinite loop" [in the BIOS ofc.]:eek:

I also remember having tried everything (the usual + unusual ways) to get my BIOS/CMOS settings cleared but the system refused to POST:banghead:
So well I gave up on trying.

However about a year or two after me giving up, I gave the old system a final chance, I slapped one stick of Kingston 1GB DDR2 PC6400 on the mobo the BIOS got cleared & finally I could run the system (The platform is now in my opinion almost [as I have no PSU/Case 4 it] obsolete & thus stuffed + packaged in my warderobe [Sadly]).

Well enough with the storytelling, I just wanted to give some kind of input/feedback.

Thanks Chevalr1c & all other writers...

:toast:

//Dog
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,448 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,695
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#16