• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rambus Implements XDR Memory Interface in Ultra Low-Cost Package

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,502 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,520
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
Rambus Inc., one of the world's premier technology licensing companies specializing in high-speed memory architectures, today announces the implementation of its award-winning XDR memory architecture using an ultra low-cost LQFP package. In a paper to be presented at DesignCon, Rambus will discuss the benefits of differential signaling delivering high memory bandwidth in a cost-effective package, ideal for consumer electronics such as set-top boxes and HDTVs.

“Today’s consumer electronics require high bandwidth and low-cost manufacturability,” said Martin Scott, senior vice president of Research and Technology Development at Rambus. “Our team has demonstrated that the superior signal integrity of the XDR memory architecture, which enables the highest data rates of any DRAM technology, also makes possible high-speed operation in very low-cost device packaging.”

To showcase the capability of its XDR memory architecture to operate at multi-gigabit data rates in an ultra low-cost package, Rambus has implemented an XDR memory controller in an LQFP package that can operate reliably at data rates of up to 3.2Gbps. Rambus will demonstrate this achievement at DesignCon (booth #205). The paper titled, Feasibility of Multi-Gigabit Memory Interface in LQFP Packages, will be presented at DesignCon on February 4, 2009 and will be available on www.rambus.com.

Source: Rambus
 

kwchang007

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (0.99/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#2
I know P4 + Rambus ended in disaster but why not build a gfx card architecture using Rambus XDR memory....or are they not compatible?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,502 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,520
Location
Hyderabad, India
#3
I know P4 + Rambus ended in disaster but why not build a gfx card architecture using Rambus XDR memory....or are they not compatible?
Technology isn't the stumbling-block, the market is. Memory chips using the XDR2 technology may cost more to sell and distribute, since the volumes are far lower than those of our usual DRAM. Major players such as Intel and NVIDIA have had troubled relations with Rambus, they find it the irritating patent-Nazi. Without the participation of those two companies, no standard can really take off. Ofc you have GDDR5 that you find only on ATI cards, but NVIDIA has made the commitment to use it in its next generation of products. GDDR5 will survive. The demand graphics cards industry creates, the supply Samsung, Hyundai (and hopefully Qimonda) maintain, evenly balances things out, and you have an affordable technology in the end.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
448 (0.11/day)
Likes
39
#4
Intel have to make some x58-820 chipset and promote this new Rambus memory :roll:.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.90/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#5
Intel have to make some x58-820 chipset and promote this new Rambus memory :roll:.
We'd have to go back to having a memory controller on the mobo, unless they updated the i7 with it. :p

I don't want to wait for that. XD
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
448 (0.11/day)
Likes
39
#6
We'd have to go back to having a memory controller on the mobo, unless they updated the i7 with it. :p
I don't want to wait for that. XD
There is a chip called Memory Translator Hub (MTH) ;).

I was joking. It was quite a saga back then in 2000 year with Intel's 820 Chipset (and not pleasant one, if I may add).
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
180 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#7
x58-i820 lol ... more likely x69 :roll:

but put that aside, intel and amd are not the whole computer world.
rambus done an excellent job with xdr, in fact so good that micron and others used their ideas in ddr2/3..4 chips. (and federal curt looks favorably in this kind of industrial espionage i wonder what ati would say 2-3 from now about their secrets gone to envidia by that stanford runaway dally)
and after all as small memory market player they targeting consumer electronics where lower cost and smaller number of modules make a big difference. in fact it wouldn't be too much of surprise that tegra2 use xdr interface instead ddr2. it's simply more power efficient and as it came out more bang for buck when small size matters.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,976 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,337
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#8
Rambus, ahh yes. I worked on a Dell the other day that had 512Mb of that crap in it.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,142
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#9
I have a Dell with 1gb of the old Rambus in it. It's kinda fast-ish..:ohwell: Isn't this new Rambus ram QDR?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,780 (5.13/day)
Likes
5,184
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
too bad cant get this design in a 240 Pin DDR2 Package, Talk about a major player.
 

kwchang007

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (0.99/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#12
XDR isn't new and is ODR (octal), XDR2 is x16, I presume that's called HDR. The PS3 uses XDR.
How would you get 8 signals per clock cycle? Like DDR runs at the max and min I believe, QDR would be max, min + x intercepts? And ODR would be well i have no clue...
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
180 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#13
How would you get 8 signals per clock cycle? Like DDR runs at the max and min I believe, QDR would be max, min + x intercepts? And ODR would be well i have no clue...
DDR3(PC3) uses 4 muxed signals per cycle to transmit 8 bits and next to promised ddr4 will use 8 muxed signals. But rambus is not ODR or HDR cause they are not 4 or 8 times phase shifted like ViA's ex-initaitive QDR that has 2+2 phase shifted signals. it's in fact just like that old QDR just with insane chopping CR up to 500MHz. While DDR3 for now is just @312,5MHz only (ddr3-2500: http://hothardware.com/News/Elpida-Develops-50nm-DDR3-SDRAM/)
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#14
How would you get 8 signals per clock cycle? Like DDR runs at the max and min I believe, QDR would be max, min + x intercepts? And ODR would be well i have no clue...
Google probably knows. I don't :) It's just like I don't know what's in my food, I just know it's there and it's safe to eat.
 

kwchang007

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (0.99/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#15