• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Random crashes on Asus x570+Trident Z Neo 16GTZNC

DieVirulenz

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
13 (0.13/day)
TL/DR: New Ryzen System reproducibly crashes a few applications(mainly Blender, most run perfectly fine) , RAM timing issue or RMA case?

Hi,

for about a month I got my new Ryzen 3 (Zen 2) system. For the most part is runs buttery smooth and as expected. Specs are:

Ryzen 3900x
Asus x570 Strix-E Gaming, 1.0.0.3 ABBA updated
G.Skill Trident Z Neo, F4-3600C16D-16GTZNC, Hynix CJR
Nvidia GTX 1080
bequiet 680W PSU


BIOS-settings are on default(updated to ABBA 1.0.0.3) except I activated the DOCP profile for my RAM (which is on the QVL of the MB, btw.). Chipset drivers are installed both first from AMD directly then from ASUS again, as is stated in the description of them on the ASUS page).

Played some games (Mordhau, Greedfall, Battlefront 2, several others) everything works fine. Rendering with FFMPEG works fine too.

So a few days ago I installed Battlefield 5 to see how it performs (hadn't played on my old rig in month) and it crashes to desktop, sometimes after a minute, sometimes after one or two matches. As this is Battlefield which has been prone for crashes like this I though lets try some more things, and a few games and tools really show similar behavior after trying quite a few from my library (for example "Exanima" starts on DOCP V1 but just freezes after a few seconds, "Between the Stars" shows a similar behavior).

What really shocked me was when I installed Blender and fired it up and it just crashes after a few seconds (maybe 10-30).

I began fiddling with my RAM timings, tried BF and Blender with some different settings: all on AUTO(so 2133HZ), manually set DOCP values and suggested values from Ryzen RAM Timing calculator both "Safe" and "Fast. The behavior stayed the same, some settings felt a bit more stable at first but in the end it stays the same.

Note: I never had a BSOD so far, and I monitored my temperatures for processor and GPU, which are both well inside specifications, in case that helpes pinpointing.

Now I am at a loss, I ran a memtest from USB stick over night with DOCP activated and this did not return any errors, I really am not sure what the culprit might be now. Does anyone maybe have a similar or even the same combination of RAM and MB and might sahre some comparison on behavior?

Might it be a BIOS issue, or rather some DRAM timings? Havent really overclocked in years, so no real experience regarding this.

Maybe someone here know about similar issues or got any ideas, let me know if I can supply any more information regardings this to track this down.

Thanks in advance!!!
 

DieVirulenz

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
13 (0.13/day)
I dont think so, do you suspect 680w might not be enough? I might just get a bigger one and try that, but I figured it should be enough.

Anyways thanks, I'll keep it in mind!
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
193 (1.54/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS
Memory Patriot Viper 16gb ddr4400
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1070 HB SLI
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
If you're running the newest driver consider downgrading to the latest studio drivers, they're more stable and could resolve the issue.

Also battlefield especially is designed to take full use of your cpu, it may just be overheating and throttling.
 

DieVirulenz

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
13 (0.13/day)
If you're running the newest driver consider downgrading to the latest studio drivers, they're more stable and could resolve the issue.
I am not certain what you mean with "studio drivers"?

Also battlefield especially is designed to take full use of your cpu, it may just be overheating and throttling.
I will recheck the temps once more, just to be sure. Also shouldn't BF2 be utilizing the CPU in the same way then?

Anyways thanks, will check temps again.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
193 (1.54/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS
Memory Patriot Viper 16gb ddr4400
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1070 HB SLI
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d

In the results list after you select your hardware will be Nvidia Studio Driver, try the latest one to see if there's a difference.
 

DieVirulenz

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
13 (0.13/day)
Ahh okay, so thats some kind of LTS driver I assume?

Will give it a try later and report back, thx!
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
165 (0.03/day)
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @5GHz 1.3v
Motherboard EVGA Z390 Dark
Cooling EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU / EKWB Radeon VII block w/backplate, XSPC EX360 and XSPC TX360 Rads
Memory 32GB (2x16) HyperX Fury Black 2666MHz 1.2v CL16 @ 3500MHz 1.35v 16-20-20-20-40-1t
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon VII @ 2050/1200 - 1110mv +30% power
Storage Inland 1TB NVMe, AData 512GB SX8200 Pro nvme, 2x Sandisk 512GB SATA SSD, 6TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF
Case NZXT H700i
Audio Device(s) Integrated SB Core3d
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 750W 80+ Titanium
Mouse Steelseries Rival 650
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
What other items do you have in your system? The 680w supply may be the culprit if you've got several SSDs and/or HDDs or other components using power. You said temperatures are within spec, what would those be? Have you monitored your CPU clocks and the voltage/current with AMD Ryzen Master? Have you tried installing memory in different slot configurations? 1/3 or 2/4?
 

DieVirulenz

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
13 (0.13/day)
So the driver didn't make a difference.

What other items do you have in your system? The 680w supply may be the culprit if you've got several SSDs and/or HDDs or other components using power. You said temperatures are within spec, what would those be? Have you monitored your CPU clocks and the voltage/current with AMD Ryzen Master? Have you tried installing memory in different slot configurations? 1/3 or 2/4?
I got 1NVME for my sys, two more SSDs and two HDDs, chassis and CPU: 4. But usually when I game they should just idle. Should...also I don't think that for example when I start Blender that much watts will be needed, still it crashes.

Temperatures (tops)after two hours Battlefront 2: 76°GPU, 66°CPU

Havent monitored voltages, what would I look out for? Spikes of some kind?

I currently have the DIMMs in 2/4, which is suggested by the mainboard. I will go ahead and try to switch it to 1/3 and see if that helps. I will also try to get some other DDR4s and switch them
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,761 (0.86/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
In my experience, all the game crashes I've had, have been related to memory timings.
Try the DRAM calculator and safe settings to see if that helps.
 

DieVirulenz

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
13 (0.13/day)
I tried them already, it felt a bit different, but in the end all the crashes still occurred.

I'm going to try to switch to slower timings later, like: 16-20-20-40 and give it a shot.

But I also feel that it has to be related to RAM in some way. As all of these components are rather new I am just not sure if its just a glitch in some software (BISO, Windows, anything really) or if its a RAM malfunction on HW level.

Well off to some more testing and thanks so far for all the help, really appreciated!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,067 (6.33/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Are you getting BSOds at all or just restarts?

If it auto restarts you need to disable auto restart upon crash for memory, bump the ram voltage up a little.

If no dice RMA them.
 

DieVirulenz

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
13 (0.13/day)
No, no bluescreens at all. Only a few applications crash reproducibly.

The system doesn't freeze either or anything.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,067 (6.33/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Have you checked the event viewer?

When the apps crash do you get a error on screen?
 

DieVirulenz

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
13 (0.13/day)
Yes I have, there are errors when something crashed. I would have to check those though when I get back home.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,067 (6.33/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yes I have, there are errors when something crashed. I would have to check those though when I get back home.
Write those errors down for each app that crashes
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
857 (5.75/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 95W, TDC 60A, EDC 63A, Scalar X2)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3600 CL16-16-16-32 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III 850Pro 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i 93% eff
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
...and could not hurt to monitor the system with HWiNFO64 (sensors only) for anything odd. Gives a tone of temps, voltages, wattage of all components.
Assume you're running Win10? Have you checked the EventViewer? Right click the Win10 logo down left and you can find it.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
756 (2.21/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
Your PSU is definitely more than enough for that system... don’t pay attention to them.

In my experience, random crashes are typically voltage related, IMC to be more specific. Mine is finally dialed in to perfection, but it took a lot of tweaking.
 

DieVirulenz

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
13 (0.13/day)
TLDR: RAM was faulty!! In just a few applications, especially OpenGL it crashed leading to the Graphicscards driver. But it was just the RAM in the end.

Soo I had to step back a day after trying out all kinds of solutions, everything to no avail, and getting way too frustrated. I ordered myself a break...and a new kit of RAM.

Well long story short, after I switched the RAM everything runs buttery smooth and so far no crashes in all applications which crashed continously beforehand.

Therefor I wish to thank you all again for your support and ideas, it helped a lot and I really appreciated it, just wanted to let everyone know what the culprit was in the end.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
5,589 (6.16/day)
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard HyperX Alloy SilverSpeed (w.HyperX wrist rest),Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
TLDR: RAM was faulty!! In just a few applications, especially OpenGL it crashed leading to the Graphicscards driver. But it was just the RAM in the end.

Soo I had to step back a day after trying out all kinds of solutions, everything to no avail, and getting way too frustrated. I ordered myself a break...and a new kit of RAM.

Well long story short, after I switched the RAM everything runs buttery smooth and so far no crashes in all applications which crashed continously beforehand.

Therefor I wish to thank you all again for your support and ideas, it helped a lot and I really appreciated it, just wanted to let everyone know what the culprit was in the end.
same kit ?
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
5,589 (6.16/day)
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard HyperX Alloy SilverSpeed (w.HyperX wrist rest),Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
Good point and no its a Corsair Vengeance Pro (CMW16GX4M2Z3600C18) now, also from the QvL for my board.
lol,and people are saying corsair is the worst for ryzen :rolleyes:
IMO this wasn't necessarily the ram was faulty,just the IMC on Ryzen is friggin picky when above 3200.
 

DieVirulenz

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
13 (0.13/day)
Well, hopefully it will behave now, and I do agree, but if it runs now I'm happy. Thx!
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
179 (1.01/day)
System Name Neon Master
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard x570 Aorus Master F10
Cooling H115i RGB Platinum 280mm/Case Fans NF-A14 x4
Memory 2x16GB 3733 C16 G.Skill Neo
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Strix
Storage MP600 1tb+2tb / 860 Evo 1tb / WD4005FZBX
Display(s) LG 27GL850-b
Case Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) BeyerDynamic DT 770 Pro (250 Ohms)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse Scimitar Pro rgb
Keyboard K95 Platinum rgb
Software W10Pro 1909
Whenever you build a system try make some time for a bit of ram/cpu/gpu stability torture to ensure they run stable at stock. Like an hour or two of memtest and another couple hours of CPU / gpu benches. Just to make sure no errors or throttling occur vrm getting really hot etc.
I would still run tests on the old sticks of ram to see if and which one is causing the problems.
 
Top