• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Random Disconnects and Frequent Ping Spikes??

Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#1
Ok, as the title says, I'm getting random disconnects and very frequent ping spikes during games. The disconnects seem to happen after the computer has been on for a while. I'll leave my computer on at night seeding some files and the next morning nothing I won't be able to access the internet. A simple restart fixes this though. To make sure it wasn't just my computer, I got set up a backup computer running Win7 RC right next to my main one and it works fine.

Also, during games (BF2) I get a very high average ping as well as frequent ping spikes. My average ping will jump from 30ms like it should to around 300ms. Then sometimes, it'll spike to 600ms or something then it'll go back down to something near 300. I know this is isolated to this computer, because I got BF2 running on the backup computer and went to the same server and its ping was like 30ms, while my main computer was like 300ms. Both of these computers are plugged into the same switch, which connects to a router.

I've also checked the background processes. Everything that isn't necessary to game with was killed. So the only thing that would access the internet would be the game. Still had the same issues.

Just for fun, I even threw another NIC that I had laying around. SAME ISSUE. So that seems to eliminate the mobo's integrated NIC as the issue.

I don't know where the problem lies. It's frustrating because this ultra fast watercooled quad core machine can't get a decent ping while this other Pentium D machine plays fine. :banghead: Help is greatly appreciated.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#2
Try a new cable or different port on the switch yet?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,263 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,070
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
your modem is choking because of all those piretedz that you uploadz in your sleepy timez reboot the system cut the hardlines and rush the sploiter...



basically reboot the router and modem and your pc
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#4
your modem is choking because of all those piretedz that you uploadz in your sleepy timez reboot the system cut the hardlines and rush the sploiter...



basically reboot the router and modem and your pc
I thought that too, but that wouldn't let the other computer access the internet either.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,313 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,723
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#5
I was thinking the same. Maybe so many open connections that is killing the connection.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,263 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,070
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
I thought that too, but that wouldn't let the other computer access the internet either.
untrue if his other systems arent using that much bandwidth then they should be fine the system thats having the trouble is the one he always uses and that he also uses to soak up all the internet. so naturally that system will experience the slowdowns.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#7
untrue if his other systems arent using that much bandwidth then they should be fine the system thats having the trouble is the one he always uses and that he also uses to soak up all the internet. so naturally that system will experience the slowdowns.
No, if his connections were choking his router/modem enough to warrant a full modem and router reboot, all systems on the same router or modem will experience problems, and lose their connection, as it's the router or modem that bombed. I fought with this for a long time on my old D-Link and Motorola Surfboard combo. If either one was overwhelmed, all networked PCs lost the internet.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,263 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,070
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#8
No, if his connections were choking his router/modem enough to warrant a full modem and router reboot, all systems on the same router or modem will experience problems, and lose their connection, as it's the router or modem that bombed. I fought with this for a long time on my old D-Link and Motorola Surfboard combo. If either one was overwhelmed, all networked PCs lost the internet.
well im just basing it off of his connection timing out because he's doing too much not necissarily his router or modem mad f@#$ up. because if his connection was slow because he's hitting the router too hard he would notice it using those programs were as the others arent so they would act normal. but w/e idk lol im not even sure wtf is going on right now im multitasking hardcore right now so im not gonna lie loosing my train of thought a little so if im not making sense feel free to disregard.
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#9
Ok so I did everything suggested and everthing is working now. I restarted the modem and router, switched ports on my switch, went back to the intergrated NIC and stoped torrenting. I don't know what caused the issue, but I suspect it was the modem or router. Weird because I've done heavy torrenting before without issues before, which is why I didn't suspect the router or modem. I even have the # of connections and bandwidth limited in utorrent so I can browse the internet while seeding without issues. Whatever the issue was, it's fixed now. Thanks :toast:
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#10
Bad news. The same issue popped up again. I sat down at the computer in the morning (computer runs WCG 24/7) and nothing would load in Firefox nor Chrome. And just now, I got on BF2 again and had the same high ping issues and before. I restarted my computer and router. Same results.

Any ideas?? The backup computer plays BF2 fine... :confused::banghead:
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#11
Time for a clean install, perhaps?
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,259 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#13
Double check to make sure your ports were open, there was not network monitoring software on, and I found that turning off pre-rendered frames helps with ping and disconnects a lot. Pre-rendered frames is normally set at 3, turn it off if possible (0 frames), or 1 if it has to be on for some reason.