• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Random FPS drop

extr3me

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
187 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Location
Lithuania
System Name AMD
Processor AMD/Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ (3.2 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte/GA-MA770-DS3/Socket AM2+/AMD 770 and SB600 chipset/Rev 1.0
Cooling Noctua/NH-C12P/120mm Fan
Memory PQI/DDR2/2 x 2GB/800MHz 128 bit (dual channel)
Video Card(s) Sapphire/HD4870/512MB/256 bit/GDDR5
Storage WD/120GB/7200rpm/8MB/PATA (For Windows) and WD/320GB/7200rpm/16MB/SATA 2.0 (for Games)
Display(s) Samsung/SyncMaster 920n/LCD/19''
Case Antec/900
Audio Device(s) Creative/Soundblaster 24bit live
Power Supply Corsair/HX620W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1/Kaspersky Internet Security 2013
#1
Hi,

Recently I am having huge random drop in FPS when playing games. In some games screen sometimes freezes for 1-3 seconds and than goes back to normal. This happens for every 5 min or so. I tested my GPU with stress tool (Furmark) and don't recorded such huge drops or freezes ( GPU performance drops from 99.9 % to 75% occasionally but not more). What may cause this?
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#2
Need more information then that extr3me, could be a GPU overheating and throttling down, could be a driver bug, could be too much running in the background, etc. Please fill out your System Specs in UserCP also make sure to check the box to allow to show System Specs, also what games do this? What driver versions have you tried? What OS are you on? We'll get started with that info and see what we can find out.

:toast:
 

extr3me

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
187 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Location
Lithuania
System Name AMD
Processor AMD/Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ (3.2 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte/GA-MA770-DS3/Socket AM2+/AMD 770 and SB600 chipset/Rev 1.0
Cooling Noctua/NH-C12P/120mm Fan
Memory PQI/DDR2/2 x 2GB/800MHz 128 bit (dual channel)
Video Card(s) Sapphire/HD4870/512MB/256 bit/GDDR5
Storage WD/120GB/7200rpm/8MB/PATA (For Windows) and WD/320GB/7200rpm/16MB/SATA 2.0 (for Games)
Display(s) Samsung/SyncMaster 920n/LCD/19''
Case Antec/900
Audio Device(s) Creative/Soundblaster 24bit live
Power Supply Corsair/HX620W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1/Kaspersky Internet Security 2013
#3
I have enabled my sys spec view now. Well every game shows different behavior. For example Dead Space gets random FPS drop (from 99.9% GPU load to 10%) for 5-10 seconds every few minutes then goes back to normal. GRID (Race driver) gets screen freeze for a few seconds every few minutes than goes back to normal. I also noticed performance drop in other games as well. I am using Catalyst 9.2 I have my GPU overclocked but everything was normal earlyer. I used everest+rivatuner to log my PC's performance.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#4
What resolution are you playing at? GRID and Dead Space are pretty heavy on graphics, could be too much for your card at higher resolutions and graphics settings. 2GB of Ram should be enough for most gaming situations, but more wouldn't necessarily hurt. Just over 3.2-3.5gb won't be utilized correctly if at all in a non-x64 OS.

When I was playing with a 2600XT AGP, I noticed similar issues like that, it ended up being the VPU resetting (little yellow exclamation icon near the clock on the taskbar). The card was crashing from running too hot...I turned up the fan and reseated the heatsink with AC MX-2, and it was ok..but it was not a gamer card by any means.

What temps is that GPU getting? When you get these hitches is your HDD light going nuts?

EDIT: Also I noticed you have the 256MB version of the XT, my AGP was the 512MB version and it would struggle with games at 1280x1024 at much above medium-medium/high settings. Your framebuffer (video ram) could be pegged out, along with running low on the system ram causing the HDD to become the next texture cache which would cause slow downs in games, especially if you're pushing the eyecandy and resolution beyond what the system can keep up with on faster memory interfaces.
 

extr3me

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
187 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Location
Lithuania
System Name AMD
Processor AMD/Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ (3.2 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte/GA-MA770-DS3/Socket AM2+/AMD 770 and SB600 chipset/Rev 1.0
Cooling Noctua/NH-C12P/120mm Fan
Memory PQI/DDR2/2 x 2GB/800MHz 128 bit (dual channel)
Video Card(s) Sapphire/HD4870/512MB/256 bit/GDDR5
Storage WD/120GB/7200rpm/8MB/PATA (For Windows) and WD/320GB/7200rpm/16MB/SATA 2.0 (for Games)
Display(s) Samsung/SyncMaster 920n/LCD/19''
Case Antec/900
Audio Device(s) Creative/Soundblaster 24bit live
Power Supply Corsair/HX620W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1/Kaspersky Internet Security 2013
#5
Well i have played Dead Space a lot and didn't have any performance issue. I played on max settings and resolution. My GPU is PCI 2.0. My GPU temp doesn't go over 75 Celsius when stressed and as for Dead Space it reaches about 68 Celsius. I used to have my GPU driver restart but I have tweaked fan settings in bios and now everything is normal. My HDD activity seems ok. As you mentioned cleaning the heatsink.... In other forums with same issue was mentiond that after cleaning GPU chip everything went back to normal. I think I'll do the same. I have a Nano Grease from TITAN company, can i use this one?
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#6
What is max resolution? 1280x1024? 1600x1200? 1024x768? 1440x900? 1680x1050?

Really any TIM (thermal interface material) will work, I recommend non-conductive stuff, I rely on AC MX-2, great stuff, you get quite a bit for the money, I use it on CPU's, chipsets, GPU's, the stuff works good, but anything will get the job done. I haven't heard of that Nano Grease before, but I'm sure it will work just fine. 75C is pretty toasty, but these GPU's should be ok up to 100C, though mine was hitting around that level when it was getting VPU resets. I would say give it a shot!
 

extr3me

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
187 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Location
Lithuania
System Name AMD
Processor AMD/Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ (3.2 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte/GA-MA770-DS3/Socket AM2+/AMD 770 and SB600 chipset/Rev 1.0
Cooling Noctua/NH-C12P/120mm Fan
Memory PQI/DDR2/2 x 2GB/800MHz 128 bit (dual channel)
Video Card(s) Sapphire/HD4870/512MB/256 bit/GDDR5
Storage WD/120GB/7200rpm/8MB/PATA (For Windows) and WD/320GB/7200rpm/16MB/SATA 2.0 (for Games)
Display(s) Samsung/SyncMaster 920n/LCD/19''
Case Antec/900
Audio Device(s) Creative/Soundblaster 24bit live
Power Supply Corsair/HX620W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1/Kaspersky Internet Security 2013
#7
My monitor's max resolution is 1280x1024. I am not getting any of those vpu recoveries anymore after adjusting fan settings. 75 Celsius is normal for GPU as I know. I am not getting any noticable drops when stressing my GPU. As I am thinking now, If I am not getting performance issue when stressing GPU cleaning the chip will not help.............
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#8
Have you reinstalled xp recently? I had probs with my 6000 x2 when i reinstalled and didnt use the dual core optimiser. They were both loading to a hundred percent and I was getting significant frame drops.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#9
Well it could be an issue where though you might be within safe specs for GPU failure temps, it might be causing another issue at that load...could be something with degredation of the GPU itself, could be a driver issue or a number of other things.

I would still say re-apply TIM and see what happens, it's worth a shot to at least try that. And maybe uninstall ATI drivers, run drivercleaner (guru3d.com has a couple options), re-install new drivers, and see what happens. Maybe update your DirectX, I usually just get the web updater version and let it go that route. Keep us posted.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#10
Sounds to me like VPU recover but w/o message.
 

extr3me

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
187 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Location
Lithuania
System Name AMD
Processor AMD/Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ (3.2 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte/GA-MA770-DS3/Socket AM2+/AMD 770 and SB600 chipset/Rev 1.0
Cooling Noctua/NH-C12P/120mm Fan
Memory PQI/DDR2/2 x 2GB/800MHz 128 bit (dual channel)
Video Card(s) Sapphire/HD4870/512MB/256 bit/GDDR5
Storage WD/120GB/7200rpm/8MB/PATA (For Windows) and WD/320GB/7200rpm/16MB/SATA 2.0 (for Games)
Display(s) Samsung/SyncMaster 920n/LCD/19''
Case Antec/900
Audio Device(s) Creative/Soundblaster 24bit live
Power Supply Corsair/HX620W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1/Kaspersky Internet Security 2013
#11
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#12
What do you mean by that?
That VPU recover is restarting the VGA driver just it is posting message that is doing so.
It happened to me when I oc my card at unstable clocks. Mostly on Dead Space. It is not the most demanding game but it manages to stress me GPU the most.
 

extr3me

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
187 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Location
Lithuania
System Name AMD
Processor AMD/Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ (3.2 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte/GA-MA770-DS3/Socket AM2+/AMD 770 and SB600 chipset/Rev 1.0
Cooling Noctua/NH-C12P/120mm Fan
Memory PQI/DDR2/2 x 2GB/800MHz 128 bit (dual channel)
Video Card(s) Sapphire/HD4870/512MB/256 bit/GDDR5
Storage WD/120GB/7200rpm/8MB/PATA (For Windows) and WD/320GB/7200rpm/16MB/SATA 2.0 (for Games)
Display(s) Samsung/SyncMaster 920n/LCD/19''
Case Antec/900
Audio Device(s) Creative/Soundblaster 24bit live
Power Supply Corsair/HX620W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1/Kaspersky Internet Security 2013
#13
That VPU recover is restarting the VGA driver just it is posting message that is doing so.
It happened to me when I oc my card at unstable clocks. Mostly on Dead Space. It is not the most demanding game but it manages to stress me GPU the most.
No VPU recoveries....
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#14
Maybe check Event Viewer to make sure, I've experienced VPU Resets where the notification icon didn't appear correctly or at all.
 

extr3me

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
187 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Location
Lithuania
System Name AMD
Processor AMD/Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ (3.2 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte/GA-MA770-DS3/Socket AM2+/AMD 770 and SB600 chipset/Rev 1.0
Cooling Noctua/NH-C12P/120mm Fan
Memory PQI/DDR2/2 x 2GB/800MHz 128 bit (dual channel)
Video Card(s) Sapphire/HD4870/512MB/256 bit/GDDR5
Storage WD/120GB/7200rpm/8MB/PATA (For Windows) and WD/320GB/7200rpm/16MB/SATA 2.0 (for Games)
Display(s) Samsung/SyncMaster 920n/LCD/19''
Case Antec/900
Audio Device(s) Creative/Soundblaster 24bit live
Power Supply Corsair/HX620W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1/Kaspersky Internet Security 2013
#15
Maybe check Event Viewer to make sure, I've experienced VPU Resets where the notification icon didn't appear correctly or at all.
Event viewer is fine (you mean ACEEventLog Tab?) By the way, when VPu recovery kicks in, the screen should go black for a sec anyway i guess
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#16
Yeah it should go blank/black for a second or two if there is a true VPU recovery. If you're not getting that, hard saying what else is happening.

I hope it's a simple software bug/glitch tbh.
 

extr3me

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
187 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Location
Lithuania
System Name AMD
Processor AMD/Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ (3.2 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte/GA-MA770-DS3/Socket AM2+/AMD 770 and SB600 chipset/Rev 1.0
Cooling Noctua/NH-C12P/120mm Fan
Memory PQI/DDR2/2 x 2GB/800MHz 128 bit (dual channel)
Video Card(s) Sapphire/HD4870/512MB/256 bit/GDDR5
Storage WD/120GB/7200rpm/8MB/PATA (For Windows) and WD/320GB/7200rpm/16MB/SATA 2.0 (for Games)
Display(s) Samsung/SyncMaster 920n/LCD/19''
Case Antec/900
Audio Device(s) Creative/Soundblaster 24bit live
Power Supply Corsair/HX620W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1/Kaspersky Internet Security 2013
#17
Well it turned out it's my antivirus. Dead Space is smooth when Kaspersky Internet Security is turned off. I always trusted in this application. The problem is how do i play games without any protection? Or maybe it KIS needs some setting adjustment. I am using KIS 2009
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#18
You don't need antivirus going while you're gaming(or at all for that matter). I haven't used any form of AV for years now.
 

extr3me

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
187 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Location
Lithuania
System Name AMD
Processor AMD/Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ (3.2 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte/GA-MA770-DS3/Socket AM2+/AMD 770 and SB600 chipset/Rev 1.0
Cooling Noctua/NH-C12P/120mm Fan
Memory PQI/DDR2/2 x 2GB/800MHz 128 bit (dual channel)
Video Card(s) Sapphire/HD4870/512MB/256 bit/GDDR5
Storage WD/120GB/7200rpm/8MB/PATA (For Windows) and WD/320GB/7200rpm/16MB/SATA 2.0 (for Games)
Display(s) Samsung/SyncMaster 920n/LCD/19''
Case Antec/900
Audio Device(s) Creative/Soundblaster 24bit live
Power Supply Corsair/HX620W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1/Kaspersky Internet Security 2013
#19
I am getting lots of network attack attempts, so i dont think it is good idea to leave it off... But the problem is I don't remember having any gaming issues with KIS... a whatever :) Thanks for the help everybody...