• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Random lag in games

killshift

Good day, everyone

I am a newbie to this forum. Please read carefully.

The case i am talking has happened since months ago, I've searched all over the net for stuff on how to fix this and looks like the topics from other forums i heard was never helpful to me in fixing it.

The games i played in my PC are usually full screen, usually at least 1 GB in size and uses that much memory on my VCard.

As said in the thread title, random lag, i mean that the game runs fine at first , lags for a number of seconds, then goes back fine, then vice versa.

For example, i am playing CoD:MW2, i play a mission, it runs fine
(around 40-60 fps, the lesser the details the higher, obviously)
a few seconds later (10-15, but i cannot tell exactly when it will occur around),
it drops to 20-30 fps then goes back to 40-60 then vice versa.

(notes: i play CoD:MW2 at low/normal (or medium) settings, i choose it manually, no background app running (even those in the notification area @ the bottom-right corner of the screen) before i ran the game)

now i will post the specs of my system w/c is really necessary.

Pentium D 820 2.8 GHz
Windows 7 32-bit
Kingston 2 GB RAM (1 stick only)
Powercolor Radeon X1650 512 MB DDR2
Seagate 160GB
425 W PSU
Asus P5KPL-AM

these are 2 things i tried:

running gpu-z , free ram optimizer at the background (but sometimes freezes which let me force to end the app's process, or worse, crashes)

cleaning hardware (the card might be too hot, so i decided to brush the dust in it)

hope of your kind consideration. i would be greatly appreciated if i found something that fixes it.

System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+