• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Random Non-Load related Computer Lockups

Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,116 (0.45/day)
Likes
279
System Name Not named
Processor Intel 8700k @ 5Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
Cooling DeepCool Assassin II
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair LPX 3000mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 Ti AMP EXTREME
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) 24" Dell IPS 1920x1200
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Watt Fully Modular
#1
I'm having a pretty strange lockup issue and i'm wondering if anyone can give me some insight.

At random times, sometimes once a day, sometimes once a week, sometimes 4 times in a day, the computer will freeze. No blue screen or memory dump occurs. There is nothing written in the event log (just the critical kernal power loss after I am forced to shut down the system). If i'm listening to audio it'll make a bzzzzzz sound, although at last freeze it continued to play sound in slow motion while the rest of the computer was locked up. The crashes are seemingly not load related as stress tests don't seem to induce a freeze. I don't have access to a voltage tester but when in the BIOS the voltages are essentially dead on spec according to the motherboard. Memtest did not give me any RAM errors and prime95 doesn't give me any round checking errors. It doesn't matter if i'm overclocked or running all stock settings. Drivers have been updated to no change (the issue has been going on for several months now and several driver revisions for the video card for example).

Any ideas for this very intermittent problem would be welcomed! :)
 
Low quality post by Caring1
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
6,975 (4.23/day)
Likes
4,144
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#2
Get rid of the Asus Motherboard and buy a better brand.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
142 (0.51/day)
Likes
46
#3
Dying hard drive? Something broken in the motherboard? Anyway , more info on system, old, new, parts?
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,848 (3.15/day)
Likes
4,380
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt // Mabanny
Processor i7-4790k // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower // S2600IP
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60 // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // HD7450 x3
Storage 3x250GB SSD + 3x1TB + 3x2TB HDD // 240GB SSD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 3x AOC 2425W // 3x AOC 2425W
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Gutted case
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30 // USB
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // EVGA NEX650G
Mouse Logitech G602 // G.Skill MX780
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches) // Generic
Software Windows 10 Professional // Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#4
Drop clocks and up voltage if you can on the chip.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
969 (0.93/day)
Likes
475
System Name My PC
Processor 4670K@4.4GHz
Motherboard Gryphon Z87
Cooling CM 212
Memory 2x8GB+2x4GB @2400GHz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 580 GTS Black Edition 1425MHz OC+, 8GB
Storage Intel 530 SSD 480GB + Intel 510 SSD 120GB + 2x500GB hdd raid 1
Display(s) HP envy 32 1440p
Case CM Mastercase 5
Audio Device(s) Sbz Zxr
Power Supply Antec 620W
Mouse G502
Keyboard G910
Software Win 10 pro
#5
There can be many things so this is game of elimination but you need spare parts, 1st use spare PSU and see what happens then gpu, it's very boring and lengthty procedure.
 
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,116 (0.45/day)
Likes
279
System Name Not named
Processor Intel 8700k @ 5Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
Cooling DeepCool Assassin II
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair LPX 3000mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 Ti AMP EXTREME
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) 24" Dell IPS 1920x1200
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Watt Fully Modular
#6
Dying hard drive? Something broken in the motherboard? Anyway , more info on system, old, new, parts?
Hard drive seems to be fine according to Samsung Magician. Maybe something on the motherboard but it's hard to test. It's the system in my specs, all parts are about a year old.

Drop clocks and up voltage if you can on the chip.
Already removed all overclocks and such. Used to run just fine at 5Ghz with no issues, voltage looks fine in the motherboard and I can't induce instability with prime95 or any sort of load.

There can be many things so this is game of elimination but you need spare parts, 1st use spare PSU and see what happens then gpu, it's very boring and lengthty procedure.
Yea unfortunately I don't have any spare parts but I'll ask around my friends group to see if i can borrow.



The problem is that it is such a sporadic issue. I haven't had a crash since i posted, it tends to happen in little bursts of issues. So i'll end up crashing a dozen times in a week then it goes away for a few weeks before I have an issue again.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,886 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,914
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
Hard drive seems to be fine according to Samsung Magician. Maybe something on the motherboard but it's hard to test. It's the system in my specs, all parts are about a year old.



Already removed all overclocks and such. Used to run just fine at 5Ghz with no issues, voltage looks fine in the motherboard and I can't induce instability with prime95 or any sort of load.


Yea unfortunately I don't have any spare parts but I'll ask around my friends group to see if i can borrow.



The problem is that it is such a sporadic issue. I haven't had a crash since i posted, it tends to happen in little bursts of issues. So i'll end up crashing a dozen times in a week then it goes away for a few weeks before I have an issue again.
Ram has caused random lockups along with win updates
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,019 (1.09/day)
Likes
2,080
Location
Ohio
System Name Fractured puke.
Processor Intel I7-8700k/G4400/AMD 2200g/Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard MSI z370 Gaming M5/h110/ AMD a320/ AMD B450-ASRock pro 4 atx
Cooling Corsair H110i/Intel/AMD/H60
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ/8gb 2133mhz/8gb 2400mhz/8gb Viper 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1070ti/integrated/apu/rx570
Storage 960 EVO 500gb/256gb WD Black 2280 M2/Patriot Ignite 480gb SSD/ Inland Pro 256gb SSD/Patriot Scorch-&
Display(s) AOC 32" QHD/Acer 32" QHD/ ViewSonic 24" FHD/ TV
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C/ Rosewill FBM-01/ Rosewill FBM-01/Sigma eclipse
Audio Device(s) creative audigy/nboard/ onboard/inboard
Power Supply Seasonic/TT/TT/Cooler Master white80+ 500w
Mouse Red Dragon/red dragon/Razer/Razer
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker/red dragon RGB/Red Dragon 502/Razer
Software Windows 10Pro x64///
#8
Windows 10 update kb4482887 was causing my PC to randomly lock up but usually when using a browser...
Also kb4482887 was an update to another patch that caused lockups... Which was also an update for an update that caused lockups...
If you're on 1809 that could be your problem.. That is 1809
 
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,116 (0.45/day)
Likes
279
System Name Not named
Processor Intel 8700k @ 5Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
Cooling DeepCool Assassin II
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair LPX 3000mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 Ti AMP EXTREME
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) 24" Dell IPS 1920x1200
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Watt Fully Modular
#9
Ram has caused random lockups along with win updates
Could be, can pass memtest without issues though.

Windows 10 update kb4482887 was causing my PC to randomly lock up but usually when using a browser...
Also kb4482887 was an update to another patch that caused lockups... Which was also an update for an update that caused lockups...
If you're on 1809 that could be your problem.. That is 1809
Yea that was good thinking, a fresh idea.


So i reformatted and wiped everything clean. Now I have a super interesting issue. Upon trying to install the geforce experience the first 2 times it caused a crash. The first time i wasn't really paying attention (was doing other things while things were installing). The second time my screen filled with artifacts then restarted. I still don't get a BSOD, just a critical kernal power entry in the event log with no information. Of course it installed properly the 3rd time so i wasn't able to snag a picture.

So I'm leaning towards GPU or PSU still at the moment. I was really hoping i found something that was really reproducible.
 
Likes: HD64G

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,141 (4.21/day)
Likes
6,321
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.0-rc7 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#10
Can you reproduce the issue at stock? Even if it doesn’t appear to be a load issue, it could be an issue with light load if lower power states are unstable. This wouldn’t necessarily manifest under full load.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
366 (0.08/day)
Likes
246
Location
Where the beer is good
System Name Karl Arsch v. u. z. Abgewischt
Processor i5 3770K @5GHz delided
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Professional
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 240
Memory 4x 4GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Samsung 830 - 512GB; 2x 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung T240 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Shinobie XL
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Cougar G600
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard CMStorm Ultimate QuickFire (CherryMX Brown)
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
#11
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,116 (0.45/day)
Likes
279
System Name Not named
Processor Intel 8700k @ 5Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
Cooling DeepCool Assassin II
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair LPX 3000mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 Ti AMP EXTREME
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) 24" Dell IPS 1920x1200
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Watt Fully Modular
#12
Can you reproduce the issue at stock? Even if it doesn’t appear to be a load issue, it could be an issue with light load if lower power states are unstable. This wouldn’t necessarily manifest under full load.
Yea everything is stock right now. Can't say I can really reproduce the issue. It's sporadic. Also reflected in the gaps between my posts because I can't get it to crash intentionally. It could be something to do with power states.

Did you run Memtest outside of windows from an USB stick overnight?
When I ran memtest is was from a bootable USB. Wanted to eliminate windows as a possible culprit.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,886 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,914
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#13
Could be, can pass memtest without issues though.



Yea that was good thinking, a fresh idea.


So i reformatted and wiped everything clean. Now I have a super interesting issue. Upon trying to install the geforce experience the first 2 times it caused a crash. The first time i wasn't really paying attention (was doing other things while things were installing). The second time my screen filled with artifacts then restarted. I still don't get a BSOD, just a critical kernal power entry in the event log with no information. Of course it installed properly the 3rd time so i wasn't able to snag a picture.

So I'm leaning towards GPU or PSU still at the moment. I was really hoping i found something that was really reproducible.
Memtest is not fool proof.
 
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,116 (0.45/day)
Likes
279
System Name Not named
Processor Intel 8700k @ 5Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
Cooling DeepCool Assassin II
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair LPX 3000mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 Ti AMP EXTREME
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) 24" Dell IPS 1920x1200
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Watt Fully Modular
#15
Did that "all stock" include disabling XMP and letting memory run at low clocks (2133/2400/2666, depending on spd)?
XMP is overclocking, and does not guarantee stability.
Yea I ran it with and without XMP profiles. Granted I only ran it without XMP profiles for a a couple hours before discounting it. I'm currently running the computer with XMP enabled though.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,356 (4.07/day)
Likes
7,782
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#16
Have you tried running OCCT or 3Dmark on that GPU?
 
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,116 (0.45/day)
Likes
279
System Name Not named
Processor Intel 8700k @ 5Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
Cooling DeepCool Assassin II
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair LPX 3000mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 Ti AMP EXTREME
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) 24" Dell IPS 1920x1200
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Watt Fully Modular
#17
Have you tried running OCCT or 3Dmark on that GPU?
I ran furmark for a while and it was solidly stable, 65C max temps and no artifacts induced. Unfortunately the crashing doesn't seem to be load related at all.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,356 (4.07/day)
Likes
7,782
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#18
I ran furmark for a while and it was solidly stable, 65C max temps and no artifacts induced. Unfortunately the crashing doesn't seem to be load related at all.
yikes thats pretty bizarre. That would put strain on both the PSU and GPU. You mentioned it almost appears out of nowhere, and the sound loops. Generally when iv ran into this its

CPU
Mobo
Data corruption.

of course data was in the ancient days before bus locking, when touching the PSB raised the freq of the ide and pci bus. I do wonder though. It it isnt something using alot of data in the background. Have you just tried swapping to a different sata cable?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
477 (0.16/day)
Likes
171
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
#19
I had bsod's due to cpu undervolting, in non load related scenarios, that means you can try to INCREASE voltage to the vcore, and any other critical system components like ram, not by much though, in order to increase stability, as the board may be mishandling the steady power supply to the components.
 
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,116 (0.45/day)
Likes
279
System Name Not named
Processor Intel 8700k @ 5Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
Cooling DeepCool Assassin II
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair LPX 3000mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 Ti AMP EXTREME
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) 24" Dell IPS 1920x1200
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Watt Fully Modular
#20
yikes thats pretty bizarre. That would put strain on both the PSU and GPU. You mentioned it almost appears out of nowhere, and the sound loops. Generally when iv ran into this its

CPU
Mobo
Data corruption.

of course data was in the ancient days before bus locking, when touching the PSB raised the freq of the ide and pci bus. I do wonder though. It it isnt something using alot of data in the background. Have you just tried swapping to a different sata cable?
Can't even swap a sata cable, it's an M.2 drive haha.

Normally I don't have issues troubleshooting, but it's so irratic and hard to reproduce.

I had bsod's due to cpu undervolting, in non load related scenarios, that means you can try to INCREASE voltage to the vcore, and any other critical system components like ram, not by much though, in order to increase stability, as the board may be mishandling the steady power supply to the components.
Thing is if i go for really strong overclocks it doesn't really increase or decrease the issue. I was running really stable at 5ghz without incident. It seems to occur at roughly the same frequency as when i'm stock.

Something interesting to note about it is that when it does happen it'll happen several times in a day, then stop for a week. So it's sporadic but it clusters.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,227 (1.87/day)
Likes
2,382
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 1201
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Gigabyte Aurus Rgb 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981 samsung 840, WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8056 vega 3dmark timespy
#21
yikes thats pretty bizarre. That would put strain on both the PSU and GPU. You mentioned it almost appears out of nowhere, and the sound loops. Generally when iv ran into this its

CPU
Mobo
Data corruption.

of course data was in the ancient days before bus locking, when touching the PSB raised the freq of the ide and pci bus. I do wonder though. It it isnt something using alot of data in the background. Have you just tried swapping to a different sata cable?
I was going to suggest the sata cable :)

But now ill suggest uninstalling anything asus AII suite related ,all of it, it has several system monitoring things running in the background and i have had various similar issues across the YEAR's whenever i retested it and i have a fair few times, not a defo but my 2 cents.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,886 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,914
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#22
Could be nvme too, sounds like software is trying to access memory address space whether ram, nvme or cpu cache and crashes, could be ethernet too.

Till ram is swapped you are chasing your tail.
 
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,116 (0.45/day)
Likes
279
System Name Not named
Processor Intel 8700k @ 5Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
Cooling DeepCool Assassin II
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair LPX 3000mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 Ti AMP EXTREME
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) 24" Dell IPS 1920x1200
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Watt Fully Modular
#23
I was going to suggest the sata cable :)

But now ill suggest uninstalling anything asus AII suite related ,all of it, it has several system monitoring things running in the background and i have had various similar issues across the YEAR's whenever i retested it and i have a fair few times, not a defo but my 2 cents.
None of the Asus stuff is installed right now. Did a full format and fresh boot, so clean... until it froze and lost kernal power.

Could be nvme too, sounds like software is trying to access memory address space whether ram, nvme or cpu cache and crashes, could be ethernet too.

Till ram is swapped you are chasing your tail.
I would have thought that memtest would have discovered if ram was the problem, though i have no idea how i could test some odd memory space caching issue.

So it sounds like i'll have to figure out a way of swapping parts over time and seeing if i get the problem.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,227 (1.87/day)
Likes
2,382
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 1201
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Gigabyte Aurus Rgb 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981 samsung 840, WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn, 1tb seagate sshd hybrid(games)
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8056 vega 3dmark timespy
#24
None of the Asus stuff is installed right now. Did a full format and fresh boot, so clean... until it froze and lost kernal power.



I would have thought that memtest would have discovered if ram was the problem, though i have no idea how i could test some odd memory space caching issue.

So it sounds like i'll have to figure out a way of swapping parts over time and seeing if i get the problem.
At this point i would personally remove and reseat everything while cleaning all interface parts with a pencil eraser where possible ie only pciex and memory and isopropyl alcohol clean the connectors AFTER a very thorough dust ie remove any fur and re-Tim the south and north bridge personally.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,971 (0.60/day)
Likes
725
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard ASUS Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Dark Rock TF
Memory 2x8 GB Gskill Trident Z
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 960 evo 500G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case NZXT H500
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus + 650
Mouse Zowie EC2-A
Keyboard Logitech G513
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#25
Are you using new prime95 with AVX or old prime95 ? old prime isn't very good at breaking modern CPU's. p95v296b7.win64.zip <latest prime95 with AVX
Are you using the Samsung NVME driver ? I assume you are since Magician says everything is OK.
I would use something to generate a sensor log so you can see what the temps voltages and fan speeds where before the crash, it may be something as stupid as gpu fans getting stuck in idle off mode or a weird quirk with CPU power states that results in a crash.

Additionally are you using any other devices with the system not listed in specs such as WIFI/BT adapters, sound cards, USB hubs, webcams that sort of thing?
 
Top