• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Random POST Error Beeps

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#1
The system is in my system specs under the 'Black Panther' name.

Lately it's been running at stock, nothing overclocked. Tbh it seems the problems started when I removed the overclock :wtf:

Notwithstanding the clear title, the problem is anything but consistent!

Here's what this pc does:

- It will start up fine and run fine forever until switched off; or

- It will start up fine, then after a couple of hours the picture on the monitor would freeze, requiring a hard-boot; or

- It will start up fine, then after a couple of hours the monitor would go on standby requiring a hard boot; or

- It will refuse to POST saying 'overclocking failed' press F1 for bios or F2 to load system default (the system is not overclocked); or

- It will start up and appear to be running fine, only to find no sound; or

- It will refuse to POST giving the beeps mentioned in the title; or

- It will refuse to POST giving no beeps at all; or

- It will POST but before loading windows the monitor would switch between black and a slightly lighter shade of black (seeming like the graphic driver can't load?)

Once it was running fine then I found this BSOD:


Anyway, it does all the above with varying degrees of frequencies. Before I started typing this post it had started beeping again, but I wouldn't be surprised if I power it on again and it boots and runs fine as if nothing ever happened.

Before these problems started, nothing had been installed or changed on the pc - no drivers, no programs, nothing except the mandatory Win 7 updates. The only thing I did was remove the overclock since I passed the pc on to my daughter and she rarely uses it for gaming. But removing overclock is supposed to solve problems not create them! Anyway, it's still running same drivers, same programs as before. I ran a virus scanner and malwarebytes, ran ccleaner...

All my searches on the P5B's beep codes point out at graphic card failure (I hope it's not!!:cry:)

What are your opinions?
Any clue from the screenshot above?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,529 (6.38/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
When is the last time you have replaced the Cmos battery?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#3
When is the last time you have replaced the Cmos battery?
Around 18 months ago I guess.

But when the battery needed replacing the pc's symptoms were very different...
I remember I really procrastinated to replace it. The date used to default to 1-1-02 and the system would become un-overclocked. It was routine for me to go in BIOS and OC everytime I powered it up.

I wish it was as simple as changing the cmos battery, but the pc didn't mess up so bad when it needed battery replacement :ohwell:


Update: My daughter just powered the pc on and it's working fine...again... :wtf:
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,529 (6.38/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#4
Around 18 months ago I guess.

But when the battery needed replacing the pc's symptoms were very different...
I remember I really procrastinated to replace it. The date used to default to 1-1-02 and the system would become un-overclocked. It was routine for me to go in BIOS and OC everytime I powered it up.

I wish it was as simple as changing the cmos battery, but the pc didn't mess up so bad when it needed battery replacement :ohwell:


Update: My daughter just powered the pc on and it's working fine...again... :wtf:
Maybe time for another motherboard or a small upgrade to a I3 with Z68 combo?
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,382 (3.15/day)
Likes
2,103
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#5
Did you downvolt when you took the overclock away? Bump the voltage slightly to rule out core stability problems.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,735 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,523
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
One continuous beep followed by three short beeps is indicative of a GPU issue as per my newer ASUS manual. I assume its the same.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#7
exactly this ^
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,425 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,577
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
I'd look at RAM too, when I was using a P5B as my primary machine, the board was super picky with RAM. It would take anything once I manual set up the voltage and timings, but if I left it set to auto it would fail to POST, or POST but say the overclock failed, or crash when in Windows.

I had to keep a 512MB stick of cheap PC2-6400 sitting in the case so that I put it in and boot with it after a CMOS clear, then set the voltage and timings, and put the good RAM back in...
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#9
Did you downvolt when you took the overclock away? Bump the voltage slightly to rule out core stability problems.
Nope, I just put everything on 'auto', guessing that was the way it was supposed to be. I don't trust the BIOS though.

This sounds complicated but when I oc'd I always had to save the BIOS settings twice. The first time the CPU voltage defaults to 'auto' and there'd be no way to change it. If I go cpu-z I find the voltage at 1.4 which is too high, so I'd have to press restart button and go into the BIOS the second time after booting... and on the second time it'd allow me to change the voltage and I'd put it... I don't really remember but I think it was 1.275. Then it'd really be saved.

One continuous beep followed by three short beeps is indicative of a GPU issue as per my newer ASUS manual. I assume its the same.
Yes, I've been reading that. However I was really hoping it's not the 5970 which suddenly called it quitters, exactly at the moment when I decided to run the pc at stock clocks.

I'd look at RAM too, when I was using a P5B as my primary machine, the board was super picky with RAM. It would take anything once I manual set up the voltage and timings, but if I left it set to auto it would fail to POST, or POST but say the overclock failed, or crash when in Windows.

I had to keep a 512MB stick of cheap PC2-6400 sitting in the case so that I put it in and boot with it after a CMOS clear, then set the voltage and timings, and put the good RAM back in...
I think you got a very good point here. My board is super picky with RAM too. Perhaps this is particular to P5B boards...
I hadn't thought of mentioning this because I had tried other RAM only while overclocking and never at stock, but this pc only ever worked with those 2 Apacers inside it. Any other RAM I tried always failed.

_________________________________

Considering that it is still working - I mentioned in my last post that my daughter powered it on and it was running fine... well now 3 hours later it's still up and running with youtube on one tab and farmville on the other (and by gosh that farmville game's really badly optimized - it uses nearly 3GB of the 4GB of RAM available!) when the time's appropriate and she's not using the pc I think I'll try a little experiment and put the overclocks exactly the way they were before all this trouble started......
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#10
Pc gives memory error beeps, but RAM is fine?

This is confusing.

The pc is the 'Black Panther' one in my system specs.

The beeps it gives while POSTing were 1 long 2 short. According to the Asus P5B that's a RAM error.

Occasionally it POSTs, but after a couple of minutes the whole system freezes (fans keep running, pc is powered on but the mouse pointer doesn't move and keyboard doesn't work).

I cleaned the RAM, tried them one by one, and in different slots. Nothing.

Then I took a RAM from a working pc, and it didn't work either! :wtf: (System freezes or doesn't start up with monitor remaining on standby). I'm sure this RAM is fine, because it's in another pc right now, and it's its only RAM stick, and it's working.

Could I safely say that it's the motherboard?
Or could it be something else (like the 5970) even though the beeps refer to a memory error?

(Btw the pc is not overclocked now, that was the first thing I removed)
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,735 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,523
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#11
pull the card and see if the post beep changes.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.42/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#12
This is confusing.

The pc is the 'Black Panther' one in my system specs.

The beeps it gives while POSTing were 1 long 2 short. According to the Asus P5B that's a RAM error.

Occasionally it POSTs, but after a couple of minutes the whole system freezes (fans keep running, pc is powered on but the mouse pointer doesn't move and keyboard doesn't work).

I cleaned the RAM, tried them one by one, and in different slots. Nothing.

Then I took a RAM from a working pc, and it didn't work either! :wtf: (System freezes or doesn't start up with monitor remaining on standby). I'm sure this RAM is fine, because it's in another pc right now, and it's its only RAM stick, and it's working.

Could I safely say that it's the motherboard?
Or could it be something else (like the 5970) even though the beeps refer to a memory error?

(Btw the pc is not overclocked now, that was the first thing I removed)
I'd probs say motherboard, myself, its an oldish board now. Great board in it's time though.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#13
pull the card and see if the post beep changes.
I will (though I'd need some excavator truck to do so - it's a very tight fit and I had to bend parts of the case to fit it in..)

I'd probs say motherboard, myself, its an oldish board now. Great board in it's time though.
Yup, in time I had changed everything from the original build, but that mobo's been sitting there since 2007.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#15
After trying Kreij's solution I'm still at a loss.

I don't have any compatible spare hardware to test (except RAM... and any RAM which doesn't work in this pc always works in others, so I'm pretty sure I can exclude RAM problem).

Do you think the 5970's gone faulty? Or perhaps... it's the 7 year old P5B? :)

I'm ready to vouch it's the motherboard. It's seen a lot of overclocks during its lifetime, both of RAM and of CPU (even though currently it's running at stock.... that is... when it runs... ) But I ran the E4300 @ 3Ghz (stock 1.8Ghz) for 3 years... then a E8400 @ 4Ghz (stock 3.0 Ghz) for like another 3 years and DDR2 RAM was always oc'd to 890Mhz (from 667Mhz) all the time.

Opinions?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,432 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,947
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#16
Do you have another PSU you can try?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#17
Do you have another PSU you can try?
I do but to be honest I'm not that eager to remove the PSU from my working 'Bengal' system to test on the 'Black Panther' system. Especially since I purchased them months within each other.

That PSU is much less than 2 years old. And the pc's usage since it was installed was with all components running on stock, with the pc playing either Sims 3, youtube videos or generally browsing the interwebs.

:confused:
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.08/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#18
have you stability tested at stock clocks etc??


memtest and prime or similar, ive had similar issues when unstable

instability does all crazy shit, especially in mid-life LOL
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,432 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,947
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#19
I do but to be honest I'm not that eager to remove the PSU from my working 'Bengal' system to test on the 'Black Panther' system. Especially since I purchased them months within each other.

That PSU is much less than 2 years old. And the pc's usage since it was installed was with all components running on stock, with the pc playing either Sims 3, youtube videos or generally browsing the interwebs.

:confused:
I was thinking power from the randomness of the issue at stock and its a simple test.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#20
have you stability tested at stock clocks etc??


memtest and prime or similar, ive had similar issues when unstable

instability does all crazy shit, especially in mid-life LOL
I can't do any tests at stock clocks because the system is currently at stock and I either get beeping on POST or after 2 minutes the entire system freezes. At stock CPU, stock RAM.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#21
Forgot to update this.
The problem was that the graphics card was too heavy and it was somehow slipping out of the slot, just a little bit.
I found some plastic (taken from an old microwave) and used it to support the 5970, and since 5 months passed I consider the problem as being solved.

If I remember, I might post a pic in the Ghetto mods thread :)
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,460 (2.29/day)
Likes
4,780
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#22
Please do!!!
Love ghetto mods that do the trick:toast:
Glad to hear you resolved the problem.