• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

randomg hitching/stuttering whenever a frame is lost

Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
55 (1.57/day)
I'm running a GTX 1080, AMD RYZEN 5 1600, 16 GB RAM 120GB SSD

I've tried assassins creed origins, crew 2, grip, cod ww2 and wreckfest.

The hitching is random, sometimes I can launch a game and have no issues whatsoever, other times i launch a game and it's just a stuttery mess. sometimes the sutter can last a good few seconds. I've had this computer for 2 years without issues.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
8,847 (5.17/day)
Location
Too Long to fit in a single line here.
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
We've seen your Assassin's creed example. Can you do a short video on CoD WW2? Preferably single player.

Going on AC:O, that is at least partially (the long drawn out stutter you showed that is reproducible) attributable to the game and in a slight sense to hardware performance (storage/CPU/RAM).

- Are all your games on the SSD? Do you use HDDs?
- What RAM are we looking at (exact speed/latency) and what is it running at (see BIOS).?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
55 (1.57/day)
We've seen your Assassin's creed example. Can you do a short video on CoD WW2? Preferably single player.

Going on AC:O, that is at least partially (the long drawn out stutter you showed that is reproducible) attributable to the game and in a slight sense to hardware performance (storage/CPU/RAM).

- Are all your games on the SSD? Do you use HDDs?
- What RAM are we looking at (exact speed/latency) and what is it running at (see BIOS).?
doing a video of cod now. my games are on HDD 500gb, and my windows is on SSD 120GB.

Here is my ram;

https://www.cclonline.com/product/220990/HX424C15FB2K2/16/Desktop-Memory/Hypertec-HyperX-Fury-Black-16GB-2x8GB-Memory-Kit-PC4-19200-2400MHz-DDR4/RAM3353/
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
8,847 (5.17/day)
Location
Too Long to fit in a single line here.
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Games with streaming engines/open worlds (such as AC:O) don't prefer HDDs and this can be a source of stutter the way it was in your video.

This is why I'm interested in CoD ;) Different engine/type of game.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
4,041 (4.66/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
55 (1.57/day)
This will have no end.
what do you have me to do? bin my computer and buy another?

Games with streaming engines/open worlds (such as AC:O) don't prefer HDDs and this can be a source of stutter the way it was in your video.

This is why I'm interested in CoD ;) Different engine/type of game.


skip to 1:24 that is when the stutter starts
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
535 (0.13/day)
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
my games are on HDD 500gb
Can you post a screenshot of this drive with crystal disk info? I'm curious to see how good this drive is, and check its health.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Game or os then

What power supply do you have?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
What specific GTX 1080 do you have?

Specific SSD?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
8,847 (5.17/day)
Location
Too Long to fit in a single line here.
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Honestly if I look at your CoD clip it looks fine.

Yes it stutters a few times, but most of that happens in the intro, not the actual gameplay, which is mostly smooth. Your actual gameplay starts at 3:18. The problem/cause could be anywhere from game engine to storage, PSU, OS... Or a sign of components showing age. One thing I don't suspect is GPU. The SSD with your game on it, might have been near max capacity. But this might just as well be a saturated CPU core or a hiccup from background tasks...

The CoD clip has nothing like the consistency of your AC:O stutter, for example. If your games are playable in a general sense, I wouldn't go overboard in replacing components. Take a look at the software side first. Installed / running applications taking up RAM and using CPU should be minimized/eliminated, check storage SMART values and free up SSD space so it has room to breathe; you can do a clean driver and OS install and try different ingame settings.

Also, any stutter that you can reproduce at a specific part of the game is game-related, ignore it. You can play that CoD intro again, if it stutters at the same moments, you can cross it off.

This is not likely a performance issue in general sense. Your spec is fine for normal gameplay. What is your FPS capped at? If you run uncapped FPS, use a cap or use fast sync if you run a high refresh screen. If not, you can try adaptive vsync, the latency it adds isn't too bad. This can help soften the blow of any performance hiccups.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,086 (1.10/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Fractured puke.
Processor Intel I7-8700k/G4400/AMD 2200g/Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard MSI z370 Gaming M5/h110/ AMD a320/ AMD B450-ASRock pro 4 atx
Cooling Corsair H110i/Intel/AMD/H60
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ/8gb 2133mhz/8gb 2400mhz/8gb Viper 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1070ti/integrated/apu/rx570
Storage 960 EVO 500gb/256gb WD Black 2280 M2/Patriot Ignite 480gb SSD/ Inland Pro 256gb SSD/Patriot Scorch-&
Display(s) AOC 32" QHD/Acer 32" QHD/ ViewSonic 24" FHD/ TV
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C/ Rosewill FBM-01/ Rosewill FBM-01/Sigma eclipse
Audio Device(s) creative audigy/nboard/ onboard/inboard
Power Supply Seasonic/TT/TT/Cooler Master white80+ 500w
Mouse Red Dragon/red dragon/Razer/Razer
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker/red dragon RGB/Red Dragon 502/Razer
Software Windows 10Pro x64///
Ok...I have a 1070ti and to get rid of that stutter in CoD WWII you have to set the eye candy to full blast...including FOV and the sky.
Make sure all rendering is native resolution..all 3
V-SYNC without G-SYNC or adaptive sync.
Limit to monitor refresh rate. Allow higher than possible fps by at least 20 unless you're above 120hz.
Not sure about the rest but for some reason CoD WWII runs best the best your gfx can do.. going lower causes a stutter
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok...I have a 1070ti and to get rid of that stutter in CoD WWII you have to set the eye candy to full blast...including FOV and the sky.
Make sure all rendering is native resolution..all 3
V-SYNC without G-SYNC or adaptive sync.
Limit to monitor refresh rate. Allow higher than possible fps by at least 20 unless you're above 120hz.
Not sure about the rest but for some reason CoD WWII runs best the best your gfx can do.. going lower causes a stutter
Running too fast at that point
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,086 (1.10/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Fractured puke.
Processor Intel I7-8700k/G4400/AMD 2200g/Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard MSI z370 Gaming M5/h110/ AMD a320/ AMD B450-ASRock pro 4 atx
Cooling Corsair H110i/Intel/AMD/H60
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ/8gb 2133mhz/8gb 2400mhz/8gb Viper 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1070ti/integrated/apu/rx570
Storage 960 EVO 500gb/256gb WD Black 2280 M2/Patriot Ignite 480gb SSD/ Inland Pro 256gb SSD/Patriot Scorch-&
Display(s) AOC 32" QHD/Acer 32" QHD/ ViewSonic 24" FHD/ TV
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C/ Rosewill FBM-01/ Rosewill FBM-01/Sigma eclipse
Audio Device(s) creative audigy/nboard/ onboard/inboard
Power Supply Seasonic/TT/TT/Cooler Master white80+ 500w
Mouse Red Dragon/red dragon/Razer/Razer
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker/red dragon RGB/Red Dragon 502/Razer
Software Windows 10Pro x64///
Running too fast at that point
It plays better on my R5-1600/rx570 system @1080p than it does on my 8700k/1070ti @1440p unless I gimp it and turn up the eye candy
I'm not saying it looks better but I am saying it plays without hickups and stutters better both sp and mp....it's like it was designed to play on inferior hardware.
Almost as if faster systems run so fast they run over themselves and stutter.
AND at the same time I don't remember this being an issue until about 2 months ago...so for this game it could just be a glitch
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
It plays better on my R5-1600/rx570 system @1080p than it does on my 8700k/1070ti @1440p unless I gimp it and turn up the eye candy
I'm not saying it looks better but I am saying it plays without hickups and stutters better both sp and mp....it's like it was designed to play on inferior hardware.
Almost as if faster systems run so fast they run over themselves and stutter.
AND at the same time I don't remember this being an issue until about 2 months ago...so for this game it could just be a glitch
Its like letting a gpu run without any form of monitor sync whether vsync/freesync/gsync.

That causes hitching more often.

I also know old games if left at default they may run too quickly thus details in game and gpu control panel must be maxed, sometimes wmp open in background can help too.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,733 (6.38/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.

skip to 1:24 that is when the stutter starts
Looks like the game paused (as opposed to dropped frames) which is indicative of a CPU thread waiting for something which stalls drawing the frame.

Ok...I have a 1070ti and to get rid of that stutter in CoD WWII you have to set the eye candy to full blast...including FOV and the sky.
Make sure all rendering is native resolution..all 3
V-SYNC without G-SYNC or adaptive sync.
Limit to monitor refresh rate. Allow higher than possible fps by at least 20 unless you're above 120hz.
Not sure about the rest but for some reason CoD WWII runs best the best your gfx can do.. going lower causes a stutter
As crazy as that sounds, it makes sense. It puts more burden on the GPU which masks CPU hangs.

It plays better on my R5-1600/rx570 system @1080p than it does on my 8700k/1070ti @1440p unless I gimp it and turn up the eye candy
I'm not saying it looks better but I am saying it plays without hickups and stutters better both sp and mp....it's like it was designed to play on inferior hardware.
Almost as if faster systems run so fast they run over themselves and stutter.
AND at the same time I don't remember this being an issue until about 2 months ago...so for this game it could just be a glitch
Maybe NVIDIA drivers broke something?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Looks like the game paused (as opposed to dropped frames) which is indicative of a CPU thread waiting for something which stalls drawing the frame.


As crazy as that sounds, it makes sense. It puts more burden on the GPU which masks CPU hangs.


Maybe NVIDIA drivers broke something?
Im wondering if there is a service in background causing this.

Antivirus I put in game mode since tgey have it now, back in days of 98-XP the AV had to be disabled so it wouldnt scan, or open task scheduler to set a different time to scan.

I would set the connection to metered to prevent windows from auto updating too (W10)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
55 (1.57/day)
Looks like the game paused (as opposed to dropped frames) which is indicative of a CPU thread waiting for something which stalls drawing the frame.


As crazy as that sounds, it makes sense. It puts more burden on the GPU which masks CPU hangs.


Maybe NVIDIA drivers broke something?

what could be the cause of my cpu pausing like that?? my temps are all fine


I'm not sure if I mentioned this but whenever a "stutter" happens my gpu normal noise also stutters, well it kind of stops for that split second then carries on making the normal noise.

As someone else mentioned though, maybe this is normal for my system? I've been under a bit of stress lately, maybe worrying about things that was already there.
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,733 (6.38/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
It could just be the way the game is coded in that case. If it is simulating that explosion, it has to calculate all of the physics of the explosion in that frame which causes it to hang until it finishes.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
55 (1.57/day)
It could just be the way the game is coded in that case. If it is simulating that explosion, it has to calculate all of the physics of the explosion in that frame which causes it to hang until it finishes.
nothing to worry about then?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
24,733 (6.38/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
As long as it doesn't happen very often outside of that situation, I wouldn't.
 
Top