• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Rare case of USB Device preventing Computer from Booting or Freezing while Loading OS

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#1
Hello, i have recently been having issues left and right with my Computer Freezing or not given Booting. I got it mainly fixed but i found out something strange. It would appear when i had my Card Reader connected and my Wireless USB Adapter connected (with the USB Cord connected) the Computer would either Freeze while Loading the OS or not even Boot at all.

When the Card Reader was connected i had a 2GB SD Card in it and for some reason the Card wasn't being detected at all and Vista wasn't even detecting the Card Reader till after maybe 5min. after plugging it in. Also, the OTHER strange thing is when i had my USB Wireless Adapter plugged in WITH the USB Cord the Computer wouldn't even Boot or it would Freeze like above. When i finally just Connected the Wireless Adapter by itself Windows Loaded Fine with no Freeze/Lock Ups (And yes, i don't have the Card Reader Connected right now). idk but i'd hate to say this but would it be a PSU issue? I was playing L4D and Killing Floor Fine last night with my XFX 4850 OC'ed. What is going on here?! :(

Side Note: has the latest ATI Drivers been causing anybody any issues lately? Like lock Ups or anything? At first though i thought it was the OC'ing from Catalyst causing the issue but i guess it wasn't
 
Last edited:

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#2
Think its a case of your pc is trying to boot up from the SD card in the usb card reader. Try turning off USB Legacy Support in your mobo bios settings.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,656 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,606
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#3
Leave USB legacy support on if you want any older usb devices to be recognized. Some USB keyboards won't function correctly or not at all in the bios startup, if this is disabled.

Check your boot order in the bios. Try hard drive first; cd/dvd second/, but usb not at all or last.

Edit: No problem here with the 9.8 cat or ccc, actually better; I can now set the refresh for the monitor to 60, where it keep going back to 59 before, no big deal, but it is right now.
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.17/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
i had this same problem fixed it from changing my bios boot to HD, CD/DVD works perfectly. I have cat 9.8 i gained a couple fps is some games works perfect
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
i've seen this before on a PC, the motherboard had a jumper to set USB to the 5V or 5VSB (standby) rail.

That PSU's 5V SB rail was weakening and couldnt handle it, so changing the jumper (and later, the PSU) fixed it.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,302 (0.67/day)
Likes
960
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD FX-4350
Motherboard Gigabye GA-970A-D3P
Cooling Enermax ETD-T60-VD - 7 x 120mm case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x4GB@1600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 380
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55"
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
#6
It happened to me with my 360 controller
 

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#7
more of an update here...

it seems when i upped my VCore Voltage the Freezing stopped. heh, maybe 1.35 wasn't enough for 2.9GHZ. still going to do more testing with the USB Devices
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
692 (0.18/day)
Likes
17
Location
canada
System Name Smooth as silk
Processor Phenom II x4 940 BE oced, 3.6ghz 1.5250v
Motherboard Asus M4A79 Deluxe 790FX
Cooling Cooler master v8
Memory OCZ 1066 MHz Platinum Series 4GB kit 5.5.5.15 2T 1141mhz
Video Card(s) Evga ssc 8800gt at stock p.o.s to hot to o.c
Storage Wd 76gb Raptor/Wd 500gb blue sata II, Wd 160gb sata II
Display(s) 20" Acer 2016wBdb widescreen 1600x1050
Case 120mm back/3x 80mm neon front/250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) realtek/logitech x540
Power Supply Corsair vx550 41amps 12v single rail
Software Winxp pro sp3/vista who lol?
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 15216k
#8
why do people keep overclocking there video cards with slow cpu's lol, its pointless its called bottleneck lol
 

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#9
as others have told me with the 4850 i should be fine.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
692 (0.18/day)
Likes
17
Location
canada
System Name Smooth as silk
Processor Phenom II x4 940 BE oced, 3.6ghz 1.5250v
Motherboard Asus M4A79 Deluxe 790FX
Cooling Cooler master v8
Memory OCZ 1066 MHz Platinum Series 4GB kit 5.5.5.15 2T 1141mhz
Video Card(s) Evga ssc 8800gt at stock p.o.s to hot to o.c
Storage Wd 76gb Raptor/Wd 500gb blue sata II, Wd 160gb sata II
Display(s) 20" Acer 2016wBdb widescreen 1600x1050
Case 120mm back/3x 80mm neon front/250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) realtek/logitech x540
Power Supply Corsair vx550 41amps 12v single rail
Software Winxp pro sp3/vista who lol?
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 15216k
#10
it its a great card, but there's no need to overclock it though, u wont get no speed gains, if fact u will be bottle necking your cpu even more
 

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#11
i have My CPU OC'ed @3.1GHZ but i know that probably doesn't mean much right? the GPU did in fact run better while OC'ed on L4D
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
692 (0.18/day)
Likes
17
Location
canada
System Name Smooth as silk
Processor Phenom II x4 940 BE oced, 3.6ghz 1.5250v
Motherboard Asus M4A79 Deluxe 790FX
Cooling Cooler master v8
Memory OCZ 1066 MHz Platinum Series 4GB kit 5.5.5.15 2T 1141mhz
Video Card(s) Evga ssc 8800gt at stock p.o.s to hot to o.c
Storage Wd 76gb Raptor/Wd 500gb blue sata II, Wd 160gb sata II
Display(s) 20" Acer 2016wBdb widescreen 1600x1050
Case 120mm back/3x 80mm neon front/250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) realtek/logitech x540
Power Supply Corsair vx550 41amps 12v single rail
Software Winxp pro sp3/vista who lol?
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 15216k
#12
lol course u will see speed gains when u overclock your cpu/memory, but even at 3.1ghz your still bottle necking your card
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
692 (0.18/day)
Likes
17
Location
canada
System Name Smooth as silk
Processor Phenom II x4 940 BE oced, 3.6ghz 1.5250v
Motherboard Asus M4A79 Deluxe 790FX
Cooling Cooler master v8
Memory OCZ 1066 MHz Platinum Series 4GB kit 5.5.5.15 2T 1141mhz
Video Card(s) Evga ssc 8800gt at stock p.o.s to hot to o.c
Storage Wd 76gb Raptor/Wd 500gb blue sata II, Wd 160gb sata II
Display(s) 20" Acer 2016wBdb widescreen 1600x1050
Case 120mm back/3x 80mm neon front/250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) realtek/logitech x540
Power Supply Corsair vx550 41amps 12v single rail
Software Winxp pro sp3/vista who lol?
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 15216k
#13
run one pass of 3dmark 06, i can almost guarantee u will only get 11k max