1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Raspberry Pi Thread

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Deadlyraver, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,498 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    It's got USB ports, and runs on Debian, so should be able to add a wireless if you desire.

    That's actually, exactly what I'm going to do with mine :)
     
    silkstone says thanks.
  2. insane 360

    insane 360

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    it has wifi and bluetooth in the arm chip, so its ready to go

    edit

    scratch that, i remember reading about it a long time ago and didn't know that was one of the features that didn't make it...so nevermind, usb dongle and you are good
     
  3. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Pre ordering one, got sent an email to pre order because i registered my interest. The first batch is sold out so i wonder when the next batch will be ready?
    £29.46 inc postage

    Ah okay just waiting for a date now for next batch.
     
  4. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Bumping this thread as my Pi status was changed to "shipped", i am excited. I dont expect something extra ordinary but something fun to mess around with, after all it was only designed for teaching and learning programming.
    As far as im aware you power it via a mobile phone charger, some sort of small derivative of USB is on the PCB to power it. Ive ordered a 32gb SD card class 10 to use with it which should be more than ample for a few programs.
     
  5. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    197 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Andalucia/UK Born
    Mine should be with me in 3 weeks according to RS

    Delivery Type Desc Standard Delivery (Despatch expected within 3 week(s))

    fun fun fun.....
     
  6. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,998 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,160
    Cool:)
    Give us some details when you can.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    No problem, i will post up some pics and let you know what OS i go with. Right now im just going to go bare without a case but eventually i might make one out of a plastic tub or something. Im going to use my main mouse/kb, no point really buying another set just for that. I could get a small kenyless keyboard and wireless mouse but idk if i would need that.

    I bought mine from Fanrell (element14).
     
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,377 (5.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,480
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Honestly, I had RaspberryPi ordered from Newark Element14 but it has been months and they said I have to wait until the end of July, which is 4 months after I ordered it. I complained to them to stop allowing new users to order the damn thing until they actually ship the ones to the people who already ordered them.

    Honestly, they suck at handling a backlog and I will have to think long and hard before I recommend or use Newark Element14 again. :mad:
     
  9. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    I dont understand the backlog as they are making to demand. Maybe they simply cant make em fast enough?
     
  10. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,029 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I ordered mine the day they went on sale. Farnell took my money and said I'd have it by the end of april. But there was delay after delay and now they say it's the end of this month, which is a week from now.
     
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,334 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,638
    Location:
    Florida
    I want one so bad.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Log into the Farnell webstie and see if they changed your status on the order, mine was shipping and now its complete so i guess that means mine is coming any day. Its really crap of them just leaving customers for months wondering wtf is happening with their order.

    I guess more people than expect ended up ordering and they cant produce them to demand fast enough, hence the backlog.
     
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,377 (5.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,480
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That doesn't mean that that backlog should get infinitely bigger. Nothing angers me more when they are selling a product that you can purchase that hasn't even been shipped to the majority of people who had ordered it over the last 3 months. They definitely underestimated the interest in this.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  14. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,029 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Yours has shipped? Mine says back order... -_-

    I paid for it on the 4th march for crying out loud.
     
  15. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,498 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    Same here :)

    Yeah, I ordered mine when they said anticipated ship date of end of May, but then they bumped it to August, so I cancelled it.
     
  16. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Got mine on Thursday the 24th, been playing with it since then:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Well i got mine yesterday (Saturday). I didn't open it till today so ive been trying to install Arch Linux Arm with LXDE, i swear to fuck i followed the instructions perfectly so i have no idea why it wont work. Something about not finding a directory or something missing. Im about to format and reinstall, update and download LXDE again.

    It should be just a case of using pacman to install it.

    Pics when i get it working with a desktop manager.
     
  18. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I have run the Arch Linux Arm, but I have not tried to install LXDE on it. I have been using the Debian “squeeze” with no problems at all. You have to use the tools to write the sd cards or it will not work. Everything I have used is on this Page.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    No you dont understand, i cant get LXDE to install on Arch. I have Arch running but its just command line when it boots. Fuck it i will try Debian just to get something running.

    I used Win32DiskImager to write to the SD card.
     
  20. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Sorry for the misunderstanding, that is what i used, Carry On:)
     
    MilkyWay says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Well Debian works but its a tad slow and the cpu seems to be taxed all the time. They dont have the FPU (floting point unit) working nor the graphics drivers are there yet. It works but things like when i open another tab in midouri it really slows down.

    What do i need to do to get sound working?
     
  22. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I did these steps=

    First of all, have you set a root user password yet? If not, go to step one, if you have, step two.

    Step One
    1) Logon to your pi as normal, open terminal and type:

    sudo passwd root


    2) Enter a password of your choice, just make sure you know it.
    3) Exit terminal and shutdown your pi.

    Step 2
    1) Turn on your pi, when it prompts you to login, type the username, root and the password as whatever you selected in step one.
    2) Enter the command startx to bring up the GUI.
    3) Open the file browser and go to the directory /etc/ and find the file 'modules' (You can do this quickly by just typing 'modu' in the etc folder
    4) Right click the file, Open with > Other > Leafpad > OK
    5) Create a new line beneath vchiq and type:

    snd_bcm2835


    6) Save the file, reboot, login as normal, it should work.

    Hope this helps!

    From this forum.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
    MilkyWay says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    You can sudo passwd root but i find it easier to just use sudo su which makes your login act as root. I might make myself a script to automatically boot to desktop.

    Someone on the RPi forums made a script for the sound fix that you run in the terminal and it does everything for you, i also found out how to do it manually but its all working now. Im getting a little bit better at using the Pi. I also created a config.txt file to set the resolution and disable overscan. Right now im using my shitty built in speakers on my IPS monitor.

    I installed Chromium browser via the terminal, its a bit faster than Midouri. Also installed synaptic package manager.

    Debian is slower but it mainly works. Its slow but i found it usable, just dont open multiple programs at once lol.
     
  24. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Bump for pics...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  25. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,498 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    Grats :)
    Mine's not here yet, but looking with trepidation on what it's going to take to get it up and running :)
     
  26. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Ok, Here is a pic of mine. Just so yall know I have one in hand to play with.
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  27. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,377 (5.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,480
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    If only Newark Element14 would send me mine already. For crying out loud, I ordered it March 3rd. :confused:
     
  28. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Anybody get quake3 running? WITH SOUND?? Have not found a solution to no sound in Q3 yet. Any info would be appreciated. Sound in x and term work ok.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  29. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,029 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    My pi arrived, but I'm not able to get the included audio player to play anything but the included sample file. :\
     
  30. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Click on the + sign in the audio player to add a file or folder to play then click file that you want to play, then click play. Once I got the player to play the sample sound the non sample files played fine after adding them to the player list. Files work for other apps so far,(except quake3):)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  31. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,029 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Yeah, I tried that. It just removed it from the playlist when I tried to play it.
     
  32. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I have not had that problem, however, when you "add" it does not copy them to the sd card, it just lists them from the source, is the source plugged in?, Are the files on the sd card? On mine when the source is not plugged in, it still list them but it does not remove them from the list like you have described it just plays the only file it does find witch is the sample.. I would suggest posting the issue on the Raspberry-PI forums or searching it for similar issues.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  33. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Ive tried Debian Squeeze but its not that great, although it works and has some included programs.
     
  34. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Going to try Raspbian, it is said to be a little faster in X. Got my second pi today:)
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  35. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,377 (5.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,480
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You have no idea how angry that statement makes me. RaspberryPi has been on back order for me since March 1st and I was just charged for it and it is still on back order. Buying this has been the most irritating experience with buying anything in my life. :banghead:

    If you bought it from Newark Element14, I'm going to rip them a new one.
     
    dank1983man420 says thanks.
  36. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,029 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I downloaded via the pi's web browser into my home directory. So it's on the same SD card as the OS.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)