1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Raven 1 and Liquid Cooling

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Mike0409, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    So the following are part's I will be purchasing upon availability.

    Silverstone Raven 1 + Case accessories for it. Corsair 800D or HAF 932 Will decide on the flip of a coin.

    Motherboard (890FX) Once available
    Phenom II x6
    8GB's DDR3 Memory
    Powersupply 750watt (Already have)
    ATI 5770 (Already Have)

    And I need a few new HD's but that's not of main concern.


    Now I've been looking at a lot liquid cooling option's and reading a few review's I plan to get most of my items from frozencpu.com.

    I've decided on the following item's so far:

    Black Ice GT Stealth 240 Radiator - Black

    Compression Fittings: is the ID / OD Inside Diameter , Outside Diameter?

    Danger Den DD-CPX Pro 12V 3 Pin Powered Pump - 237 GPH (DD-CPX Pro)

    Swiftech Apogee XT Extreme Performance CPU Waterblock

    Swiftech MCW30 Chipset Water Block

    1/2" Tubing + Anti-Kink Coils

    With the layout of the raven, and not having it in my hand's I'm trying to decide exactly where to place the components. Mainly the pump and reservoir (Which I'm still deciding on, either a aluminum passive Link internal/external mounting, or a bay reservoir) Now the Rad should fit well enough on the back of the case, internally.

    I've drawn out the loop to go as the following: Pump > CPU > Chipset > Radiator > Res
    And If I were to add a video card into the loop, I would go with the following:pump > CPU > Chipset > Rad > Video > Res

    Now does the placement of the pump matter at all? It should pressurize the loop after you bleed it of all air bubbles. I'm guessing here, first time doing liquid cooling so I'm a bit lost.

    Is 1/2" tubing to big? Should I downgrade to 1/4"?

    Any opinions/changes let me know, I plan on making change's as I go, but I want to have a pretty good plan as to what the hell I'm doing. And once i get all my part's in, I will be doing a dry run for leaks, as I have heard WAY to many horror stories of people installing there setups and springing a leak...
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,536 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,253
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    The Raven 1 has mounts under the plastic on the back of the case, and supporting hardware in the goodies box, to mount a 360mm rad externally. There are also holes for the hoses to enter the case. The holes support 1/2inch tubing...

    Pump can go in the bottom cavity, res in the top 5.25 bays, and you are all set. You could put hte pump in the 5.25 bays too...


    That said, this case was meant for watercooling only, with high-end stuff, as the airflow of this case is attrocious. BEcuase of this, they've kinda got a set layout in mind, and unless you are goingto do severe mods, it's not exactly the best case option for watercooling.


    I gave mine away.


    :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut

    Lol well then. Got a good water cooling case for about the same price? I liked the option of having hot-swappable bay's for the HD's, and how the drive's were easily accessible. Pretty much the only real reason I was planning on going for it.
     
  4. computertechy

    computertechy

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    833 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    very nice, liking this.

    but....would not get the swiftech apogee cpu block if i was you.

    had overheating issues with it, and upon inspecting. it has been poorly made.

    i upgraded to the heatkiller block and it smashed it to pieces!

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Will that mount to the AM3? Or rather will any AM2 mount work with an AM3?
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,536 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,253
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    The hotswap thing is just for one drive, and is just simply a sata cable and power connector stuffed into a plastic housing. Totally NOT the reason to buy this case...

    There are LOTS of cases ready for watercooling..I'd look at the CoolMaster cases, for ease of installation, like the HAF, or something. I'm headed down the same road, with the same basic parts, as you are...

    If you're Dremel-friendly, any case will do...just need a clear vision of what ya want, and some time and skill.

    AM2/AM3 mountings are the same AFAIK.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. computertechy

    computertechy

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    833 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    yep, am2 & 3 are the same.

    the only problem with the heatkiller is finding one. german company.

    dont quote me on the heatkiller yet though. i will do some googling for its restrictive properties vs the XT

    1/2" vs 1/4" is barely nothing but go with whatever you online shop has. i would go with 1/2"

    ID = Inside Diameter / OD = Outside Diameter

    btw i added you on msn if u have any questions.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I thought about the HAF 932, but I figured it was better suited for air cooling. But I guess I could peak at those.

    I guess I could drill/cut into the case. I just have this issue with drilling into brand new shit I buy.


    Cool, ya I'll be having a TON of question's. :toast:
     
  9. computertechy

    computertechy

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    833 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    why not expand your budget a bit and get a corsair 800D?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I definitely could do that. Forgot all about the Corsair. Shit I plan on dropping $2000 or so. I want to do this build right over a series of a month or 2.
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,536 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,253
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    HAF is made with watercooling in mind as well..simply remove the top fan, and put your rad in it's place...


    And yeah, that was why I gave mine away..just wouldn't work for me without hacking it to peices. I bought a review unit, so it wasn't exactly new, but still...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,210 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Multidimensional
    The Raven has great aircooling and it wasn't specially design for watercooling, it was designed for both.
     
  13. computertechy

    computertechy

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    833 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    i agree.

    either the raven, 932 or the 800D would be the best choices. All are good with watercooling and have very good airflow.

    if your actualy gonna spend that much, get a mountain mods.....:D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,536 (4.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,253
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    The case was not capable of dealing with the heat from dual reference 4890s, and an E8400 @ 1.35v 4ghz, under a TRUE, in my house. To the point that the system would crash...but only with the side panel on. :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,352 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
    Just pitching in to offer the Cooler Master ATCS 840 as a case option. It is a massive, fully-aluminum case that has tons of room for a water cooled setup and has great ventilation, as well. I've a dual-rad + triple-rad running in it and there's still a ton of room left in there. I chose it over the HAF932 (I wanted the 800D, but it wasn't available here, and in retrospect I think I like the more open layout of the 840 more).

    Pardon me for sticking a pic of my case in this thread, but here's one so you can see how a loop can be set up in the 840:

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Wow looks great!

    What size tubing is that?

    It seem's that it might be a really tight fit if you were to add those video card's into the loop as well. Is that true?
     
  17. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,352 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
    That's 1/2" ID tubing. I don't think that there will be much of a problem with adding the GPUs to the loop, or separating the MCR220 into a separate GPU loop. I'll have to move the pump a bit and add another in the second case, but it shouldn't be that much of a problem. Might require come 45 degree or 90 degree fittings, but other than that it should fit.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)