• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

RBE Bad flash unable to recover bios

lowkickqop

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have a XFX 4890 XXX Edition. I flashed it to the sapphire atomic bios using winflash and it was sucsessful. I reflashed it to the XFX Black edition bios using Method 1 -Hash(link to bios below) without uninstalling CCC and doing a driver sweep. I followed a tutorial on how to use atiflash with a usb drive and then also tried a CDRW and neither of them worked. The flash drive did not boot. And the CDRW worked sort of. It got me to be able to see my adapter list atiflash -i and it did not show my 4890 in the list. Now it's telling me that when I try to enter C: it's an invalid drive.
Afterwards I unplugged both graphics cards a couple of times and did a driver sweep. When I booted back into windows it showed my 4890 as an adapter. I went into rbe editor using winflash to copy the bios back onto my card. When I analyzed the flash it rebooted and has never shown up as an adapter again. What should I do?


Thanks

Reguards, lowkickqop
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
307 (0.09/day)
Likes
75
#2
Download:
HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool -> http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=197
Windows 98 System Files -> http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=196

Create a bootable dos usb stick with the HP USB format tool (make it bootable with the Windows 98 system files). Put on the usb stick the latest version of ATIFlash (not ATIWinFlash) and the orginal bios in the root of the usb stick

Boot from the usb stick and run from the commandline atiflash with force flash option (atiflash -f -p 0 biosname.bin).
 

lowkickqop

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
How do i use the win 98 files to make it bootable. What do I click? And do I make it FAT, FAT32 or NTFS? When I direct it to the win 98 files it says "There are no valid DOS systems files at the specified location".

Thanks
 
Last edited:

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#4
Its easyer to install an old pci graphics card. Leaving the HD4890 inplace. You will need to set the mobo bios GPU setting frm PCI-e to PCI. Then reflash the HD4890 with the origlnal bios. Just make sure you select the HD4890 in ati flash tool.
 

lowkickqop

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
I don't see anywhere in the bios to change the PCIe to PCI. What I see are settings that say PCI1 and PCI2 IRQ Assignment and I can adjust the numbers.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
307 (0.09/day)
Likes
75
#6
Its easyer to install an old pci graphics card. Leaving the HD4890 inplace. You will need to set the mobo bios GPU setting frm PCI-e to PCI. Then reflash the HD4890 with the origlnal bios. Just make sure you select the HD4890 in ati flash tool.
Easier? You let him do more work. He can see so a second graphics card isn't needed. And the reflash under windows properly won't work even with the second card installed

@lowkickqop
Did you use the HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool? Did you unzip the Windows 98 System Files? Did you check for a subdirecty in the zip archive? Did you select "Create a DOS starup disk"" and point it to your unzipped Windows 98 system Files? If you make a screenshot it is easier to see what is going wrong.
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#7
Easier? You let him do more work. He can see so a second graphics card isn't needed. And the reflash under windows properly won't work even with the second card installed

@lowkickqop
Did you use the HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool? Did you unzip the Windows 98 System Files? Did you check for a subdirecty in the zip archive? Did you select "Create a DOS starup disk"" and point it to your unzipped Windows 98 system Files? If you make a screenshot it is easier to see what is going wrong.
Well my way is strait forward no messing around in Dos mode. Hes almost bound to run into probs. Thats if he can even get to dos mode !

lowkickqop
I don't see anywhere in the bios to change the PCIe to PCI. What I see are settings that say PCI1 and PCI2 IRQ Assignment and I can adjust the numbers.
Well in that case you could just try slapping the pci gpu in with the monitor plugged into it. You might be lucky & the pc may auto detect the change.

You may need to disable the HD4890 in control panel/system/hardware first.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
307 (0.09/day)
Likes
75
#8
Well my way is strait forward no messing around in Dos mode. Hes almost bound to run into probs. Thats if he can even get to dos mode !
I hope you know the best way of doing a flash (recovery) is under real mode (DOS). Windows isn't the saftest way todo it.
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#9
I hope you know the best way of doing a flash (recovery) is under real mode (DOS). Windows isn't the saftest way todo it.
His gpu is dead at the moo anyway ! So even if it was to crash during reflash its not going to make no difference.

Well the old pci card way worked for me anyway.
 

lowkickqop

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
I pointed to the windows 98 files in HP USB Storage Tool. Didn't work. 4890 did not auto detect and is not listed in system devices.
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#11
Seems hardly anyone gets the dos method of flashing a gpu to work ! Try my method.
You havent filled in ya system spec? If you have a crossfire mobo & another pci-e gpu you should be able to flash the dead gpu that way using winflash & the XFX 4890 XXX Edition bios you backed up. You did back up the bios yeah :rolleyes:
 

lowkickqop

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
Seems hardly anyone gets the dos method of flashing a gpu to work ! Try my method.
You havent filled in ya system spec? If you have a crossfire mobo & another pci-e gpu you should be able to flash the dead gpu that way using winflash & the XFX 4890 XXX Edition bios you backed up. You did back up the bios yeah :rolleyes:
Yes I do have crossfire motherboard. and two pci-e gpu's. I just dont see how I can flash using win flash when I can't bring up the 4890 in win flash. Yes I did make a back up. Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
307 (0.09/day)
Likes
75
#13
Seems hardly anyone gets the dos method of flashing a gpu to work ! Try my method.
It worked everytime fine for me when I bricked completly the card for RBE testing;). And dos isn't very difficult. Its just very basic.


@lowkickqop
Why don't you make screenshots so we can see what is going wrong at creating the bootable usb stick? AN IMAGE TELLS MORE THAN THOUSEND WORDS!
 

lowkickqop

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2009
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Ok I able to make the usb drive bootable. I put the bios on the USB drive. I am able to use atiflash.

Here is what happens when I type in the following commands:

atiflash -i shows only one adapter listed
atiwinflash -f -p 1 -biosname.bin says file not found
atiwinflash -f -p 1 biosname.bin apater not found
dir shows my usb thumb files with my bios on it.


I have switched my video cards between my two pcie slots a couple of times but it still says the same thing.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
307 (0.09/day)
Likes
75
#15
Ok I able to make the usb drive bootable. I put the bios on the USB drive. I am able to use atiflash.

Here is what happens when I type in the following commands:

atiflash -i shows only one adapter listed
atiwinflash -f -p 1 -biosname.bin says file not found
atiwinflash -f -p 1 biosname.bin apater not found
dir shows my usb thumb files with my bios on it.


I have switched my video cards between my two pcie slots a couple of times but it still says the same thing.
atiwinflash doesn't work under dos ;). minus for the filename isn't needed. What is the filename backup bios? If it is backup bios name isn't biosname.bin than you used the wrong filename to get the bios from. Please check the filename to be sure.

how many ATI graphics adapters do you have in the pc?