• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RDX200 Problem - Tracing

Ravenhaft

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2005
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Processor Athlon 64 X2 4200+ S939
Motherboard DFI Lanparty CF-DR RDX200
Memory CorsairXMSDDR@2-3-3-6
Video Card(s) Radeon x1900 xtx
Display(s) Westinghouse LCM-22w2
Power Supply OCZ Powerstream 600w
#1
Hello, I'm new to posting on the forums, as I've never seen a need to post. However, I recently upgraded my computer, replacing my CPU, motherboard, and video card. I bought an AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+, a DFI Lanparty RDX200, and, slightly more recently, a brand new ATi Radeon X1800 XT. I have a 600 Watt Power supply, a brand new 36GB SATA Raptor running windows x64 (like a dream, takes less than 30 seconds to load windows). However, I have been plagued by frequent hard lockups, as well as restarts. The freezes have seemed to be random, and I game in a room that's about 30F (no heater, lol). It isn't overheating, as the lockups occur at odd times, such as when chatting or typing, not while playing games. I can play quake 4 at ultra quality, full everything for 3 hours and not get a lockup, then I might run Trillian for 10 and lock up. Right now I'm running a completely stripped down windows, only device drivers for the mobo, not even the video card drivers. So far, aside from right after initial startup, I have had no errors that were not directly caused by me. Allow me to explain further.
While in pursuit of this elusive problem, I decided to run some Sandra burn-in tests, in an attempt to figure out if I was indeed having a hardware problem, using the newest version of Sandra. Each benchmarking module, independently, ran fine with no difficulties or lockups, and benchmarked at around the expected areas. However, as soon as I attempted to run the comprehensive burn-in wizard, the computer would restart at test initialization, and would do one of two things. 1) It will reboot, and sit with the fans max blast, no video signal, until I hard power off from the PSU. 2) It will reboot, and restart normally.
The former is the more common of the two, but I have had both happen. What seemed strange to me was that the mainboard information tool in Sandra also caused crashes. Searching Sandra's website, I found three problem children known to cause that problem. After trial and error, I was able to get Sandra to run the Mainboard Information module with only one box unticked - Include Temperature, Fan Speed(s) & Voltage(s) Information. Ah hah! The problem. This is my third install of x64 windows, and I should have been tipped off that this was potentially the problem , as any time I would try to remove the atitool driver outside of Safe Mode I was met by the same problem. I'm not sure if this is something specific to my motherboard, the model, or what, and I know this motherboard is still quite new, however, I am at my wits end, and am seeking any aid or assistance you fine individuals may be able to offer. I can provide any more information, if anyone is interested, I tried to give the broad scope of my problem.
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.53/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#2
Well I have ordered that motherboard as well as an x1800 XT and they should be here sometime early next week. So I will let you know if I have any problems with it once I get it. As of now I'm thinking it might be Windows x64. If you have a copy of x86 I would try installing that and see if everything runs okay. Good luck man.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,379 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,293
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
yes id try x86 and see if that fixes your problem also have you tried installing the drivers for your card? does it do the samething?
 

jjcom

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
What brand is your PSU? Even though it's 600W, it may not be able to supply the power you need. An Aspire isn't as good of a PSU as OCZ, that sorta thing.

Try flashing to the latest BIOS for your board, several problems have been fixed my DFI with the latest BIOS.
 

Ravenhaft

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2005
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Processor Athlon 64 X2 4200+ S939
Motherboard DFI Lanparty CF-DR RDX200
Memory CorsairXMSDDR@2-3-3-6
Video Card(s) Radeon x1900 xtx
Display(s) Westinghouse LCM-22w2
Power Supply OCZ Powerstream 600w
#5
Well, it turns out that it WAS my PSU. I just got done running Civ 4 for 4 hours (usually would crash between 5minutes to 1 hour in). God, I tried everything, but now I have an OCZ 600 watt, hah. over 200 bucks, damned right it'd better fix it. And it did! So the moral of the story is, the X1800 XT sucks a LOT of power.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,379 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,293
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
SWEET DEAL DUDE!! enjoy:)
 

jjcom

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
That OCZ 600W PSU is very nice. I've got the 520W model, very nice PSU. :) You'll be happy with it :)