1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Re-Installing Windows 7

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Heldelance, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    131 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Hi everyone,

    I've got a big of a question about re-installing Windows. Currently, the hard drive it's on is rather old (4-5 years I think) and it's rather low capacity (250 gb).

    I would like to set up Windows to a different drive, maybe even net myself an SSD and put it there.

    The question I have is, do I have to reinstall everything after changing the drives Windows is on?

    I'm assuming that I will need to reinstall the drivers and stuff for the PC based on the fact that the drive they'll be on will no longer exist. I'm just not sure about programs like games and such which are on a different drive.

    Many thanks for the input.
    ---
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,001 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yes, everything will have to be re-installed. Just about every program you install makes entries in the Registry which of course will be gone when you install a clean copy of Windows elsewhere.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    131 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I thought so. Was hoping there was an alternative, but I highly doubted it. I suppose it's for the best, clean out all the old stuff.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    884 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    As long as you are not changing any other hardware (other than the hard drive) you should be able to just clone the installation to another drive without any problems.

    A fresh installation might be a better option if you want everything fresh though.
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
  5. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,975 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Cloning is an option for sure if the os is in good shape. I cloned the drive in one of my rigs when I went from a 320 gb drive to a 1tb drive.
     
  6. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Link to "Cloning" info plz?
     
  7. Heldelance

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    131 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I'm guessing he means imaging the drive. I think I'll just go for the fresh install that way there aren't too many problems. Better start to list the stuff I need to D/L (can't find the MB CDs...)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,908 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,546
    Location:
    Oregon
    Cloning to an SSD is not a good idea. When you install 7 to an SSD it make changes to the system to optimize the system for an SSD
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)