• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Real problem overclocking rx480

Jorgey17

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Location
Miami
I use NOD32. Its great. That shouldn't be it. What do you have you memory clocked at? Clock it down from/under 2000 to eliminate that.
I have the memory as it comes with the gpu 2000
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
333 (0.29/day)
Processor 8700k OC @ 5GHz (1.35 V)
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z370-A
Cooling Corsair H100i v2
Memory 16GB DDR4 OC @ 3000MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
Storage 250GB PNY SSD & WD BLACK 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung UHD 4K / BenQ RL2455HM
Case S340 Elite
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Keyboard Cherry MX Green tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 Pro
Windows defender is just fine. Another good alternative is AVAST. and its free. Turn on defender and see if windows will let you run that program.
 

Jorgey17

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Location
Miami
I dont have nod32 i have windows defender and my friend told me that is possible to windows defender is blocking the overclock

Windows defender is just fine. Another good alternative is AVAST. and its free. Turn on defender and see if windows will let you run that program.
I can run the program but it crashes after 7 seconds around 7 secs just when i overclock without overclock its run well
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
333 (0.29/day)
Processor 8700k OC @ 5GHz (1.35 V)
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z370-A
Cooling Corsair H100i v2
Memory 16GB DDR4 OC @ 3000MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
Storage 250GB PNY SSD & WD BLACK 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung UHD 4K / BenQ RL2455HM
Case S340 Elite
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Keyboard Cherry MX Green tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 Pro
Windows defender cannot block the overclock. Enable it to make Windows happy.
 
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
59 (0.04/day)
Location
Michigan
Processor Intel i7-4790k
Motherboard AsRock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Swiftech Apogee Drive 2
Memory Kingston 16gb DDR3-1600 LV
Video Card(s) AMD Vega 64 (EK WB)
Storage Crucial M500 240GB
Display(s) LG 34UC88
Case NCASE M1 (1st edition)
Power Supply Corsair SM600
Mouse Mionix NAOS 7000
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Have you tried uninstalling Afterburner, Trixx, etc and just tried OC'ing through Wattman? I think you need to give that a shot. If you can't even OC through Wattman, maybe it's either a driver problem or the card itself?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,168 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
@cdawall, you own some 480s what do you think bro?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,644 (5.75/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P

Jorgey17

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Location
Miami
Not a clue, but I have clocked some with nod32 enabled without issue
I going to try when i get home with the windows defender on ... if no results i will try with other program to overclock i will let you know guys thanks for the help

Ok so i tried again with a fresh install in msi afterburn and with windows defender on .. and in 1359 mhz the benchmark (32 bits) the benchmark put a black screen and put my overclock back to 1328 ... any suggestions ???
 
Last edited by a moderator:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,168 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok so i tried again with a fresh install in msi afterburn and with windows defender on .. and in 1359 mhz the benchmark (32 bits) the benchmark put a black screen and put my overclock back to 1328 ... any suggestions ???
Adjust your voltages up.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
333 (0.29/day)
Processor 8700k OC @ 5GHz (1.35 V)
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z370-A
Cooling Corsair H100i v2
Memory 16GB DDR4 OC @ 3000MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
Storage 250GB PNY SSD & WD BLACK 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung UHD 4K / BenQ RL2455HM
Case S340 Elite
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Keyboard Cherry MX Green tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 Pro
are the VRMs being cooled?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,113 (3.60/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Its a custom loop power supply not even 6 month old
All so meaning what brand of PSU do you have and whats the wattage and more importantly ampage ?.

Everything is cooled ... even this moment
What video card do you have can you link the one you have ?.
 

Jorgey17

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Location
Miami
All so meaning what brand of PSU do you have and whats the wattage and more importantly ampage ?.



What video card do you have can you link the one you have ?.
Hey i have corsair CX850M and i have i seageta barracuda 1tb ..1ssd 400 gb ..corsair watercooler for fx 8370 ..h100iv2
4 rams ddr3 8 each one ..the pump from de loop and fans .strips neons ligths and 3 more fans front back and down and finally the gpu .. im overclocked fx 8370 at 4.7 ghz running at 1.53 volts

Here
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
411 (0.15/day)
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
you never told us what voltages are you using??Those card are not OC friendly..,they do not go much.. ,and even for little OC you need to increase the voltages
But 50mhz OC realy should be easy to do!!
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,564 (0.40/day)
i'm pretty sure i remember someone showing with readings that the voltage was NOT being applied on their 480 or 470 from software, & therefore the overclock was still on stock voltages

is there any proof that your voltage goes up (or down)? if you have a power meter, or if the temperature changes when voltage changes
 

Jorgey17

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Location
Miami
I check it on the afterburner and the top voltage goes to 1.45

This is the stable i can get if i push the voltage it crash
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,644 (5.75/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
So I have tried not to say this but more than likely the issue is the motherboard having the PCI-e slot overdrawn. Which brand and model 480 are you using?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (1.60/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
So...it's basically the XFX reference version.
http://www.xfxforce.com/en-us/products/amd-radeon-rx-400-series/rx480xxx-rx-480m8bfa6

And you're wondering why you can't OC it for shit? Here...read this.
https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/RX_480/27.html

BTW, you already have OCed it 40MHz beyond stock. 4x the 10MHz you claimed was causing an issue. If you mean 10MHz more than 1328MHz...good luck. As in you'll be lucky with a reference version to achieve that. Water cooled or not. The limitation is likely the weak VRM.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,079 (0.21/day)
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
The wonderful world of XFX. I wouldn't expect to much out of it OC wise.

Could try reseating your water block maybe.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
4,407 (4.46/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
So...it's basically the XFX reference version.
http://www.xfxforce.com/en-us/products/amd-radeon-rx-400-series/rx480xxx-rx-480m8bfa6

And you're wondering why you can't OC it for shit? Here...read this.
https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/RX_480/27.html

BTW, you already have OCed it 40MHz beyond stock. 4x the 10MHz you claimed was causing an issue. If you mean 10MHz more than 1328MHz...good luck. As in you'll be lucky with a reference version to achieve that. Water cooled or not. The limitation is likely the weak VRM.
I thought reference models have a 6 phase VRM , shouldn't that be plenty ?

To OP : You might want to take into account the silicone lottery mate , I have heard of plenty 480's that don't overclock for shit even with custom PCB's and very good cooling , apparently there is a ton of variance in them. So maybe time to give up ? Of course unless there might be a problem with the rig. But just so you know , top overclocks are at the ~1400-1450 mhz mark and unless you really want a benchmark score increase , I would not bother with it any further , you ain't gonna see huge improvements in FPS.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
555 (0.13/day)
Location
Indiana
System Name Evil Dragon
Processor AMD FX-8320 Vishera @4.7ghz
Motherboard Asus 970 pro gaming Aura
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H100i V2(fully Lapped). 4 40mm NB/VRM fans. 6 Thermaltake Riing 12 Series fans
Memory 2X8gig GeIL EVO Veloce Series DDR3 1600 @9.9.9.26
Video Card(s) Powercolor Red Devil RX 480 (1400/2100)
Storage PNY XLR8 480gig SSD. Patriot Pyro SE 60gig SSD.
Display(s) ASUS VP228H LED
Case Thermaltake Core V31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1150 W/Creative Sound Blaster Cinema 2
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ 110
Keyboard Roccat Isku FX
Software Win 10 Pro
As someone who has owned 2 MSI Gaming 970 mobo's, I can tell you you are pushing that board to its very limits. It has cheaper 6 phase VRM's that don't handle a lot of power. I can post a pic of a burned VRM on one of mine to illustrate that fact.

That 480 being a 6 pin connector is drawing part of its power through the pci-e slot, putting more stress on the VRM.

480's aren't strong overclockers. It's just a fact. Having stable, clean power is a must to get any real clocks. And even then, you may not win the silicone lottery.
 

Jorgey17

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2017
Messages
22 (0.02/day)
Location
Miami
Thanks for all the help i just give up the far i can go is 1370 mhz and doing magic ....thanks again guys
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,168 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hey i have corsair CX850M and i have i seageta barracuda 1tb ..1ssd 400 gb ..corsair watercooler for fx 8370 ..h100iv2
4 rams ddr3 8 each one ..the pump from de loop and fans .strips neons ligths and 3 more fans front back and down and finally the gpu .. im overclocked fx 8370 at 4.7 ghz running at 1.53 volts

Here
Detune that CPU vcore to 1.48
 
Top