• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Real quick watercooling question

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,813 (1.96/day)
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Pandemic 2020
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 "Gen 2" 2600X
Motherboard AsRock X470 Killer Promontory
Cooling CoolerMaster 240 RGB Master Cooler (Newegg Eggxpert)
Memory 32 GB Geil EVO Portenza DDR4 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon RX 580 DirectX 12 DUAL-RX580-O8G 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video C
Storage WD 250 M.2, Corsair P500 M.2, OCZ Trion 500, WD Black 1TB, Assorted others.
Display(s) ASUS MG24UQ Gaming Monitor - 23.6" 4K UHD (3840x2160) , IPS, Adaptive Sync, DisplayWidget
Case Fractal Define R6 C
Audio Device(s) Realtek 5.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RMX 850 Platinum PSU (Newegg Eggxpert)
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Corsair K95 Mechanical & Corsair K65 Wired, Wireless, Bluetooth)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I am fixing to put in my beast of a CPU (955 be) ram (G Skill Trident ddr3 1600) and mobo (ROG Crosshair 2). However, I want to know what is the best way to empty my swiftech microRes? Should I unplug the hose from the bottom of the res and Jump start the board to run all the liquid out? If so, can someone remind me the pins again? Thanks guys.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.34/day)
Location
UK
System Name Betty The Dirty Dragon
Processor AMD 8350 @4.8
Motherboard ASUS sabertooth rev 2
Cooling Watercooling - Swiftech GTZ - XSPC RS360 - XSPC RX120
Memory 8GB corsair vengeance cas 9
Video Card(s) 280x 1100core 1600 mem
Storage 240 gb ssd- 2 tb Storage
Display(s) Samsung 24" 2433BW
Case Corsair 650d
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatality Titanium Pro
Power Supply XFX 850 fully modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
green and black on the 24pin matey, there are several ways to clear you loop but that depends as everyones loop is diffrent. yes you could empty your loop the way you said.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,813 (1.96/day)
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Pandemic 2020
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 "Gen 2" 2600X
Motherboard AsRock X470 Killer Promontory
Cooling CoolerMaster 240 RGB Master Cooler (Newegg Eggxpert)
Memory 32 GB Geil EVO Portenza DDR4 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon RX 580 DirectX 12 DUAL-RX580-O8G 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video C
Storage WD 250 M.2, Corsair P500 M.2, OCZ Trion 500, WD Black 1TB, Assorted others.
Display(s) ASUS MG24UQ Gaming Monitor - 23.6" 4K UHD (3840x2160) , IPS, Adaptive Sync, DisplayWidget
Case Fractal Define R6 C
Audio Device(s) Realtek 5.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RMX 850 Platinum PSU (Newegg Eggxpert)
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Corsair K95 Mechanical & Corsair K65 Wired, Wireless, Bluetooth)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Sweet, just wanted to make sure. Thanks for the pin help too, I always forget that.
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,919 (5.17/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
I personally wouldnt run my pump while emptying it.

Get a tray or a bowl and disconnect a hose and just let gravity take its course. If there is a bit of liquid left, you can usually get parts out without making a huge mess.

I just fear what running a water pump "dry" would do to that small of a pump.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,469 (1.69/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Chernobyl
Processor 10850K @ 5.0
Motherboard MSI 490-A PRO
Cooling 280MM water Loop
Memory 32 GB 4133 Mhz DDR4 18-18-18-38-440 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG CX OLED 48"
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard tecware phantom w/ pudding keycaps
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
unplug and drain, and then blow into one of the tubes to get the liquid out... the air pressure will take care of it. Running your pump without liquid could damage it.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.34/day)
Location
UK
System Name Betty The Dirty Dragon
Processor AMD 8350 @4.8
Motherboard ASUS sabertooth rev 2
Cooling Watercooling - Swiftech GTZ - XSPC RS360 - XSPC RX120
Memory 8GB corsair vengeance cas 9
Video Card(s) 280x 1100core 1600 mem
Storage 240 gb ssd- 2 tb Storage
Display(s) Samsung 24" 2433BW
Case Corsair 650d
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatality Titanium Pro
Power Supply XFX 850 fully modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
yeah but you can take out most of the liquid out of the loop but stop the pump before it runs dry. anyways all personal preference.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,813 (1.96/day)
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Pandemic 2020
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 "Gen 2" 2600X
Motherboard AsRock X470 Killer Promontory
Cooling CoolerMaster 240 RGB Master Cooler (Newegg Eggxpert)
Memory 32 GB Geil EVO Portenza DDR4 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon RX 580 DirectX 12 DUAL-RX580-O8G 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video C
Storage WD 250 M.2, Corsair P500 M.2, OCZ Trion 500, WD Black 1TB, Assorted others.
Display(s) ASUS MG24UQ Gaming Monitor - 23.6" 4K UHD (3840x2160) , IPS, Adaptive Sync, DisplayWidget
Case Fractal Define R6 C
Audio Device(s) Realtek 5.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RMX 850 Platinum PSU (Newegg Eggxpert)
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Corsair K95 Mechanical & Corsair K65 Wired, Wireless, Bluetooth)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I see what ya mean peet. Im sure I can get most of it from there and be good to go. Its the Laing D4 Vario (Corsair made)
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.25/day)
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
i agree with pete, and phan. any pump should never be run without liquid in it i would do exactly what he suggested making your drain the lowest possible point in the loop, and then do what phan suggested blow into the other end. plus ones to both pete and phan... +1 +1
 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (4.48/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
Just use gravity.

But anyway, is there any particular reason you feel you need to empty the loop? Are you changing, removing or adding blocks? Or is your new board laid out that much differently to the old one?

If the answer to either question is no, then you don't particularly need to empty your loop at all. Just push components out of your way.
 
Top