• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Realistically, is 1GB of VRAM not enough for 1080p with NO Anti Aliasing nowadays?

Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
#1
Jagged lines never bothered me so I rarely, if ever, use AA.

I do like maxing out things like texture quality, shadows, SSAO and the likes, basically every graphical setting besides AA.

AA is just an afterthough for me, so I don't really care.

What is your opinion?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,063 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,186
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#2
It's texture buffering that matters most in terms of video memory. It varies for every game.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,025 (0.97/day)
Likes
483
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 3200 C14 32GB
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB 3-way Raid 0, Toshiba 8TB HDD
Display(s) Asus MG278Q
Case Thermaltake Urban T81
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply FSP Aurum Pro 1000W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
Just about every current generation high-end cards have at 2GB of memory anyways.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#5
Still rocking 1280Mb vRAM with my 570 and I game at 2560x1440 plays BF3 ultra 40-60FPS and Metro 2033 30+ FPS maxxed though I have no need for AA at this res and don't run any games with HD texture packs etc like Skyrim
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
#6
1 GB is enough for 1080p with 4xAA in pretty much all titles. check my club3d hd 7850 1 gb review
Wow! This actually makes me feel much better about my Radeon HD 6870.

The 1GB HD 7850 was consistently faster @ 1200p than the 2GB version.

Thanks, man! :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,415 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,536
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#7
I hate the "jaggies" AA is the first thing I turn on tho I don't go crazy with it. 2x or a max of 4x for me is enough. If you wanna go crazy with the eye candy then more VRAM for sure.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
#8
I hate the "jaggies" AA is the first thing I turn on tho I don't go crazy with it. 2x or a max of 4x for me is enough. If you wanna go crazy with the eye candy then more VRAM for sure.
I'd rather have everything turned up and sacrifice AA. I believe AA is one of the biggest memory hogs, currently. Or at least, one of the biggest.

But as Wizzard pointed out, at my resolution, 1GB is more than enough, even if I choose to use AA.

So, it's all good! ;)
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,572 (2.10/day)
Likes
3,795
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#9
never have issues with 1 GB, only bf3 can max it out if i set things high enough

2048x1152 with AA on most titles
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#10
1 GB is enough for 1080p with 4xAA in pretty much all titles. check my club3d hd 7850 1 gb review
Well at 1200P BF3 uses about 1.4GB on my system (4x MSAA, Ultra except shadows). At least that's what AB OSD tells me.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
397 (0.13/day)
Likes
125
Location
Belgium
System Name Illidan
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Scythe Mugen 4
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 3000MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Super Jetstream
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD + Samsung 830 128GB SSD + 2 x Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) AGON AG35UCG + Benq GW2765HT
Case Corsair 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 + Yamaha HTR-4065 + Onkyo SKS HT 528
Power Supply XFX 650W Pro Core
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 (Cherry MX Red)
Software Windows 10 Pro
#11
I think most cards with 1GB VRAM aren't strong enough to get higher fps even with 2GB if you crank up the settings anyway. So what I'm trying to say is that the bottleneck with these cards probably is not the memory size.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,591 (2.59/day)
Likes
5,988
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (2000/11100)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#12
Wow! This actually makes me feel much better about my Radeon HD 6870.

The 1GB HD 7850 was consistently faster @ 1200p than the 2GB version.

Thanks, man! :toast:
Also be aware that some games automatically scale textures to fit into VRAM. So, if the card is the same but has scaled down textures, of course it will work faster than the one that uses 2GB of textures, meaning it has to process twice as much textures during rendering.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1080Ti SC ACX 2.0, EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 2.0
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD , Wasabi Mango 42" UHD IPS, Samsung 55" 4K
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 64bit Professional
#13
Also be aware that some games automatically scale textures to fit into VRAM. So, if the card is the same but has scaled down textures, of course it will work faster than the one that uses 2GB of textures, meaning it has to process twice as much textures during rendering.
This is very true BF3 is a game that does this very well.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
31
Location
Over There
System Name Games for Breakfast
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASRrock Z77 extreme6
Cooling Cooler Master TX3 Dual Fan
Memory 16GB DDR3 - RipjawsX 1600 1.5v @ 8-8-8-22 1T
Video Card(s) Asus AMD R9 290 4GB Reference PCB
Storage Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) HP 22vx IPS LED
Case Cooler Master Elite 331
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650 V1
Keyboard CM Storm Devastator
Software Windows 10 64bit
#14
Also be aware that some games automatically scale textures to fit into VRAM. So, if the card is the same but has scaled down textures, of course it will work faster than the one that uses 2GB of textures, meaning it has to process twice as much textures during rendering.
This is very true BF3 is a game that does this very well.
Does this happen even if I set texture quality to the highest setting available?
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,538 (0.46/day)
Likes
380
System Name Lailalo / Edelweiss
Processor FX 8320 @ 4.5Ghz / i7 3610QM @2.3-3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASrock 990FX Extreme 4 / Lenovo Y580
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus / Big hunk of copper
Memory 16GB Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600+ / 8GB Hyundai DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 / GTX 660M 2GB
Storage Seagate 3TB/1TB + OCZ Synapse 64GB SSD Cache / Western Digital 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29in @ 2560x1080 / Lenovo 15.6 @ 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper / Lenovo Y580
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Whatever Lenovo used
Power Supply Antec Truepower Blue 750W + Thermaltake 5.25in 250W / Big Power Brick
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 Home
#15
Years ago reports came out how little images change with FSAA when you hit the 1080 res area. You don't need 8x or higher AA. Heck even 4x is borderline. So using 1GB VRAM, with exception of titles like BF3, is plenty. I mostly only use 2x in games. Benefit of a little smoother image without the heavier performance hit of 4x. But if I was in 720 res area I'd be using 4x or higher.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1080Ti SC ACX 2.0, EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 2.0
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD , Wasabi Mango 42" UHD IPS, Samsung 55" 4K
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 64bit Professional
#16
Yes even with textures on highest setting the game will lower the res of certain textures, usually far away ones in order to keep the game running smoothly. This in turn causes the gpu to crank out the frames a tiny bit faster. It's a safety mechanism to prevent huge frame rate drop that we got in older games when you just plain ran out of Vram.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1080Ti SC ACX 2.0, EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 2.0
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD , Wasabi Mango 42" UHD IPS, Samsung 55" 4K
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 64bit Professional
#17
I need AA much more on my 37 TV than I do on my monitor because of screen size. Both are 1080p. 1920x1080 on 22inch or less probably would need almost none since pixels per inch is very high.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,628 (2.35/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#18
I have been hitting 1500-1900mb used in ns2. Don't know about other games. That is on highest settings though.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2012
Messages
100 (0.05/day)
Likes
28
Location
England UK
System Name Carbide Gamer
Processor Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Formula X79
Cooling (CPU) Corsair Hydro H80i Liquid Cooling - (Case) 4x Corsair AF140 LED, 4x Corsair AF120 LED
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-2400MHz (4x4) Quad Channel
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 780 Ti WindForce 3X OC 3GB - SLI
Storage OCZ Vertex450 256GB SSD (Boot) + 4 Mech's
Display(s) BenQ XL2720T 1920x1080 120Hz
Case Corsair Carbide 500R
Audio Device(s) Onboard Supreme FX III 8 Channel Audio\CM Storm Sirus 5.1 Headset
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (64-Bit)
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/8887112
#19
I find that using AA blurs textures in most games, just don't find them as crisp with AA enabled. I dunno mite just be my eyes haha :)
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1080Ti SC ACX 2.0, EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 2.0
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD , Wasabi Mango 42" UHD IPS, Samsung 55" 4K
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 64bit Professional
#20
My BF3 journey as far as memory goes is as follows. I played a 580 1.5GB and still play on a 480 (heavily OC'ed) 1.5GB. Both systems played it very similar. The 580 was then replaced by another 580 but this time a Classified ultra 3GB. Played about the same since i could only get 950MHz out of the card which was only slightly higher than my original 580 but it had twice the Vram. BF3 used to use right about 1400-1500MB and on the classified it picked up sometimes to 1600-1700 since more was available. I run 1080p Ultra settings but post processing AA off since just MSAA is much sharper and better without the extra blur filter. I noticed a small increase in the graphics going to the larger memory buffer especially on caspian in the distance. The 680 2GB uses about 1500-1700 as it should so it seems for my setting that's all that is required. For anyone short on memory try turning off the post proc. AA (MSAA is more of a hog but it actually is a good AA) it might free up just a little mem and make things look sharper. Just my experiences with BF3 and a few different Nvidia cards.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.96/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#21
I find that using AA blurs textures in most games, just don't find them as crisp with AA enabled. I dunno mite just be my eyes haha :)
Only the post proesssing kinds and FSAA and SSAA would blur the image as far as I know.

Everything else just detects the edges of polygons.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.24/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#22
Depends on the resolution and how optimized the game is.

Some times no matter how good your system is the game will run like shit and most people saying they have it running great are in denial to you and themselves because they forked out so much for a system which is still fail with certain games which will never run smoothly.

At the moment 1GB should not be an issue with being able to play games at enjoyable frame rates.
Just keep in mind that there are some games out there which will never run smoothly but smoother with a super high end graphics cards.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1080Ti SC ACX 2.0, EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 2.0
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD , Wasabi Mango 42" UHD IPS, Samsung 55" 4K
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 64bit Professional
#23
SSAA should I think be the sharpest of all. Super-Sampling renders the scene at double the resolution to detect edges even better aka ubersampling in witcher 2. thats why it normaly runs so bad but there should be about as much blur as MSAA
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#24
I run BF3 on my 5850 1GB, but I run every single setting at its lowest. I do however get a steady 70-90 fps. The game still looks 10x better than its console variant believe me. I can only imagine what it's gonna look like when I upgrade my card though :D
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.96/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#25
SSAA should I think be the sharpest of all. Super-Sampling renders the scene at double the resolution to detect edges even better aka ubersampling in witcher 2. thats why it normaly runs so bad but there should be about as much blur as MSAA

Did you ever turn on uber sampling when you played Witcher 2?

It blured textures.

Because it can't differentiated between edges and details of things.

So the entire scene like you say gets Anti-aliasing rather than selectively. So edges will look outstanding and jagged edge free.

But you get a loose overall clarity.