• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Really slow internet

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#1
Hi I was wondering if anyone has Virgin as their ISP because the moment it turns 6pm my internet goes from 20mb to 56k. I can't understand if it is virgin throttling the internet or just my end, although Virgin throttles it to keep it fair; they only cut the speed in half and 10mb is still ridiculously fast but I don't know why I'm getting bad speeds like that :shadedshu It also says in the terms and conditions that it will be throttled if you exceed the download limit but the problem is none of the pc's were on all day because I was out playing football :) So I can't have exceeded the download limit. Anyone got any suggestions.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#2
What is the duration that determines your D/L limit? Is it per day, or per month?
It could be that Virgin just bitch slaps everyone at 6pm because they can.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#3
Maybe websites ur viewing are limiting ur download speed so if it limits to 1 MB you cannot exceed 1 MB. And some websies don't have limits at all causing you to get your fastest download speed as possible.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#4
yep they do throttle now and when you mention it starts at 6pm thats the only thing i could think of, i have been with isp's b4 who throttle/cap and they say they only do it if you exceed limits etc but this isnt true, if your capped now likelyhood is your going to keep getting capped, i wont go with anyone who caps now, a good choice although there quite expensive compared to virgin is nildram, they have a 50gb monthly allowance (50gb peak times/unlimited dl outside peak hours) and any unused gb's get carried over to the next month i like plans what set out exactly how much you can download and at what times as its easier than just specifying "heavy downloaders" that could imply anything from 1gb a day which is minut to me unlucky to all virgin customers that was one of the last truly unmetred providers. i cant even see why there capping anyway its not like there on the bt network and having to pay for all those extra gb's to bt, there on their own fibre network
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#5
oh and tbh 10mb is damn good, id still be happy with that, just make sure you dont get urself on the high downloaders pipe, thats hell :shadedshu
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#6
Problem is for 10mb it is really slow ... alot slower than the 1mb I used to have. The download limit for 20mb users is about 3gb I think. Also its odd that I switched over to Xp there from Vista and now I get 10mb speeds :eek:I think Vista needs its monthly reformat: its so full of junk.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#7
Vista should have no impact on your internet transmission/receptions speeds.
I have satellite and mine is rock solid (unless it's really cloudy, then I get zilch :D )
 

Exavier

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
981
Likes
78
Location
Bath, UK
Processor Q6600 G0 Stepping @3.4
Motherboard DFI LanParty DK P45 T2RS-PLUS
Cooling Fitseries3 Edition Fuzion v1, XSPC Razor X2, XSPC RS320, Hydor L30
Memory Crucial Ballistix @972mhz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB x2 (I need another OS drive LOL)
Display(s) Sony Bravia 40L4000 40" HDTV :D
Case Silverstone TJ07 (Mod is a WIP)
Power Supply Corsair HX620w
Software Windows Vista
#8
I'm with BT, and they give unlimited access, which I abuse mostly :D
however, they DO throttle you really badly, I can only run uTorrent well at 2am :shadedshu