• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Realtek 8125B 2.5G vs. Intel Gigabit?

Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,521 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus XG27UQ 4K | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica ATH-A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (2004)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
I am not sure if this is the right place in the forum for this but here I go....

I am looking for advice because I am not willing to pay like £342 for MSI MEG X570 ACE just to get a Intel I211AT Gigabit nic when the MSI MAG X570 Tomahawk WiFi that have a awesome VRM for the price of about £195 which should be great for my current AMD Ryzen 9 3900X and upgrade for ZEN3.

So I been searching for the past few days to see if I can find a good arguement why almost all of MSI's X570 board below the ACE board got Realtek 8125B 2.5G only and not a Intel gigabit nic instead but I cannot really find anything good because Realtek usually got a higher CPU usage than Intel and I don't have any 2.5G switch, router and I cannot get it in my fiberbox anyway and a Intel I211AT insert nic with a green pcb would not look great in my system.

I been looking because I am going to get PCI-E 4.0 for NVME speed which is really the biggest benefit of PCI-E 4.0 and after that graphics card.

The setup I was thinking about since AMD ain't gonna release X670 for Zen 3 for all I read so my new setup would look like this:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Mobo: MSI MAG X570 Tomahawk WiFi (Got a VRM that's you usually find on a more expensive board acording to Buildzoid).
SSD: Samsung 980 Pro 1TB (One now and another one later)
GFX: AMD Big Navi or RTX 3080 20GB (Depending on how long I am willing to wait of cause).
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,371 (5.02/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I assume it only has the single 2.5Gb/s NIC because they have to pay for a NIC one way or the other. They are either paying for the Intel 1Gb/s or the Realtek 2.5Gb/s. It is my understanding that the Realtek 2.5Gb/s is about the same price as the Intel 1Gb/s right now. So they get to advertise 2.5Gb/s, and the customer is happy they are getting an improvement. Even if you can't use it right now because you only have 1Gb/s switches, getting the 2.5Gb/s NIC now sets you up for the future. After all, the multi-gigabit switches are getting cheaper. Heck, I just picked up a 4-port 10Gb/s switch for right around $300. And there are switches with 2x10Gb/s ports and 8x1Gb/s ports for under $200. So you can have your home server on the 10Gb/s port, and all the other computers pulling from it at 1Gb/s.

As for the Realtek having higher CPU usage, yes they do. But with any modern processor, you won't even notice the CPU usage. That was an issue back in the 1GHz Pentium days, but today it doesn't matter at all.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
468 (0.41/day)
I'd rather get the 2.5G NIC. Nothing wrong with it driver and reliability wise unless you use some obscure virtualization software or further niche Linux distro. That NIC can still be used for 1G; they're not "locked". You can always add any other NIC card. You can't subtract features, in a way, but you can add.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,521 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus XG27UQ 4K | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica ATH-A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (2004)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
@newtekie1 true MSI paids for the nics everyone does and so far I live alone sadly so I am only using a Asus RT-AC88U and it does actually pull 900-1000Mbps for my gigabit fiber so I am not complaining really.

@CheapMeat for Realtek nics I am glad to hear about drivers does that also go for version 2004 of Windows 10?

I know Lenovo in my country has told me they are looking into their audio issues using Realtek audio and have been for the past 2 weeks but I manage a couple a days ago to fix a customers audio issue on their Lenovo ThinkPad T590 by removing all the Realtek audio driver from Windows 10 v2004 with a driver clean not DDU and restarted the laptop and let Windows 10 update find and install the drivers actually works all this I did remotely because the laptop is in the other end of the country.

Lenovo been out 3 times to try to fix microphone by replacing the wires, mic and motherboard in the laptop.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
468 (0.41/day)
If the Realtek NIC doesn't work with Windows 10 then the board maker should give you a complete refund. It just wouldn't make sense to me to include it and not work with the most popular OS for consumer boards (regardless of version). But as I mentioned you can add a NIC in any PCIe slot too. If you like the board in every other way, a NIC shouldn't stop you. Of course this is my opinion though. I don't have the board myself to verify.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
815 (0.96/day)
Location
Haswell, USA
System Name Bruh
Processor 8700K 4.9Ghz 1.28V | i7 7920HQ 3.6Ghz -180Mv | i7 6700HQ 3.1Ghz -80Mv | i5 3350P
Motherboard Z390 Gaming X | Apple QMS180 | MSI HM170 | Zotac H77 ITX B-E
Cooling Thermalrite Macho Rev B | Laptop HS | Intel copper stock cooler
Memory DDR4 16GB 3000Mhz CL16 | LPDDR3 16GB 2133Mhz CL20 | DDR4 16GB 2933Mhz CL15 | 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz CL9
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Ti (~2Ghz/8.8Ghz)|Radeon Pro 560 (1150Mhz/1655Mhz)|GTX 1063(1.8Ghz/8.5Ghz)|GTX960=1360/7Ghz
Storage 512GB 660P,8TB Seagate,2TB M9T,512GB OCZ4|1TB 960 Pro|256GB PM851+2TB 2.5" WD|512GB PM841,2TB HDD
Display(s) S2719DGF, HP Z27i, Z24n| 1800P 15.4" + ZR30W + iPad Pro 10.5 2017|1080P 15.4" 120Hz| 1080P 40"
Case Matrexx 55 RGB | MBP 2017 15" Silver | MSI GE62VR | Elite 120 Advanced
Audio Device(s) Lol imagine caring about audio
Power Supply EA-650W | Apple 87W USB-C | MSI 180W | CX750 White Label
Mouse Whatever I have on hand + trackpads
Keyboard Whatever I have on hand
Software W10 1909 Entreprise/MacOS 10.13|W10 1803 LTSC/MacOS 10.15|W10 Entreprise 1909/MacOS 10.15|W10 1803
Benchmark Scores No.
I'd rather have the Intel NIC for the superior drivers and given lower latency, but if you are going to be using your LAN a lot, then maybe the 2.5GbE is worth it to you
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,521 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus XG27UQ 4K | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica ATH-A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (2004)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
I'd rather have the Intel NIC for the superior drivers and given lower latency, but if you are going to be using your LAN a lot, then maybe the 2.5GbE is worth it to you
Would you pay about £147 to get a Intel nic onboard instead of a Realtek when the board to £195 is better value?

I am just trying to get myself overboard on buying the Tomahawk even with the Realtek nic and I believe it will be years before I will use anything faster then gigabit switch, router and fiberboks anyway even it's possible to get 5gigabit (5000/5000 Mbps) fiber in my country as a private person but not where I live.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,785 (2.91/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
I'd rather have the Intel NIC for the superior drivers and given lower latency, but if you are going to be using your LAN a lot, then maybe the 2.5GbE is worth it to you
Been using realtek onboard lan for years. People kept repeating how awesome Intel LAN is. Bought an x570 board with it last year. Didn't notice any difference in day to day stuff. I've never had any problems with realtek, in reality only driver problem I encountered was with Intel which after installing gave me a green tint on screen which went away after rebooting.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
6,860 (1.18/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
There's really nothing wrong with modern Realtek NICs.
They just have really bad rep since the bad old days when they made shite.
I mean, Realtek didn't have to re-spion their silicon for their 2.5Gbps NICs, unlike Intel...
I did some quick performance testing comparing Intel (1Gbps), Realtek (2.5Gbps) and Aquantia (2.5Gbps and up) a while back and threw it up here. This is obviously mainly for data throughput, but Realtek beat Aquantia at 2.5Gbps. I guess I didn't think about running anything but Intel at 1Gbps, but hey...

I can't find any more thorough test either. This is the best test I could find of the Realtek chips. No-one seems to have tested the Intel ones, yet.

Would you pay about £147 to get a Intel nic onboard instead of a Realtek when the board to £195 is better value?

I am just trying to get myself overboard on buying the Tomahawk even with the Realtek nic and I believe it will be years before I will use anything faster then gigabit switch, router and fiberboks anyway even it's possible to get 5gigabit (5000/5000 Mbps) fiber in my country as a private person but not where I live.
Absolutely not. I simply wouldn't worry about it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
2,007 (1.03/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Austere Box R1.3
Processor R7 3700X
Motherboard B550M TUF Wifi (0805)
Cooling NH-C14S (NF-A14 iPPC-2000)
Memory 32GB Trident Z RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE (UV 0.981V)
Storage 1TB SX8200, 1TB SN750, 1TB Blue3D
Display(s) GW2765HT
Case Cerberus KIC11U (2 x NF-A14, NF-A9)
Audio Device(s) DT 770 80Ω [FiiO E10K], Blue Snowball
Power Supply Seasonic SGX-650 (Cablemod SE)
Mouse Endgame XM1
Keyboard various customs
Software Windows 10 2004
I am looking for advice because I am not willing to pay like £342 for MSI MEG X570 ACE just to get a Intel I211AT Gigabit nic when the MSI MAG X570 Tomahawk WiFi that have a awesome VRM for the price of about £195 which should be great for my current AMD Ryzen 9 3900X and upgrade for ZEN3.
On a strictly 1Gbe connection like you've said, I don't think you can go wrong with either 1Gbe Intel or 2.5Gbe Realtek. Regarding CPU usage, we're pairing 6/8/12/16 core CPUs with the boards that have either of these NICs :laugh: like, come on. The "Realtek bad" comments were all from the 1Gbe Realtek era, where the latency and throughput actually wasn't that great compared to Intel at the time.

I have the RTL8125B in my B550 mATX, the RTL8125BG (the weird "Dragon" variant) in my B550 ITX, and a tossup of i211 and i217 in every other older desktop I still use. All of them work fine at up to Gigabit connections.

It was the early Intel i225 2.5Gbe NICs that had serious problems with throughput, but Intel has been putting out a number of hardware steppings that should be showing up in motherboards round about now. But so far, it's also been Intel 2.5 that's been having issues on the driver side. A few months ago, a bunch of users on various Asus and Gigabyte boards had unusable ethernet due to the faulty drivers on 1.0.1.4-1.0.1.7 and had to rollback to 1.0.1.3. Intel probably ended up patching the problem later in a new release - it's up to 1.0.1.8 now.

In terms of the board, the Tomahawk is excellent value and performance. Now you know there's no reason to hold back on account of the NIC. 1Gbe Intel and 2.5Gbe Realtek + AX201 wifi are winning networking combinations right now.
 
Top