• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

realtek and 5.1 speakers

halfpint

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
24 (0.83/day)
I have 5.1 speakers and the latest windows 10 and I cannot get all 5 working. The rear speakers do absolutely nothing, can someone please help me get these other two working? I have tried so many solutions, i have speaker fill enabled, and now i'm lost, if this post is in the wrong place please excuse me since i'm new. Thanks
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,510 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
I haven’t used Realtek in a long time but there’s is definitely an option for “Jack switching” I’m assuming you’re using Green/Orange Black 3.5 mm connections? It might be be under Sound settings under Control Panel if not in the Realtek Control panel.
 

halfpint

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
24 (0.83/day)
I haven’t used Realtek in a long time but there’s is definitely an option for “Jack switching” I’m assuming you’re using Green/Orange Black 3.5 mm connections? It might be be under Sound settings under Control Panel if not in the Realtek Control panel.
On back of computer, my green goes in green, my yellow goes in black and my black goes in orange, I hate realtek i have listed in device manager, the realtek hd audio and an AMD but it says it's unplugged
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,070 (8.72/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name LGBTBBQAMDRGBDIYPC
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
On back of computer, my green goes in green, my yellow goes in black and my black goes in orange, I hate realtek i have listed in device manager, the realtek hd audio and an AMD but it says it's unplugged
if you have the sound output with all 6 colours, realtek has two 5.1 options where one is 'side' speakers and one is 'rear' - you use a different jack depending which one is chosen

If you only have the 3 jacks, then you likely have a broken cable.

oh and use the speaker test for sound, everyone forgets that stereo sound doesnt magically upmix on its own so music wont come out the rear
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,510 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
On back of computer, my green goes in green, my yellow goes in black and my black goes in orange, I hate realtek i have listed in device manager, the realtek hd audio and an AMD but it says it's unplugged
Well not sure why you’re making mixing black and orange. The colour coding is standard unless you’ve rewired something. Green=Fronts/Stereo. Orange=Centre/Sub Black=Rears
 

halfpint

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
24 (0.83/day)
if you have the sound output with all 6 colours, realtek has two 5.1 options where one is 'side' speakers and one is 'rear' - you use a different jack depending which one is chosen

If you only have the 3 jacks, then you likely have a broken cable.

oh and use the speaker test for sound, everyone forgets that stereo sound doesnt magically upmix on its own so music wont come out the rear
No I don't have one broken, let me explain, I have 4 cables coming out of sub woofer, and each one goes to 4 speakers, now, coming off of the sub woofer is a thicker flat cable that has only 3 in that cable which is a green, yellow, black,
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,510 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Yeah that’s standard. My Logitech Z906s are identical and so were my Creatives before that. Should just match colours, Jack to plug and set windows to 5.1. Both Windows and Realtek CP have speaker tests if you’re matching your colours set to 5.1 and missing speakers you will need to check your cables from your sub to your satellites.
 

halfpint

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
24 (0.83/day)
Yeah that’s standard. My Logitech Z906s are identical and so were my Creatives before that. Should just match colours, Jack to plug and set windows to 5.1. Both Windows and Realtek CP have speaker tests if you’re matching your colours set to 5.1 and missing speakers you will need to check your cables from your sub to your satellites.
I ran down the 4 one each out of the sub woofer, and they each like i say go into a speaker each, when playing music the sound is so dominant out of the center front and front right and left, but weak in rear right, and left, out of the computer is top 3 are as follows, gray is side , black is rear, sub is orange which is my yellow cord and on bottom row is pink mic, green line out, blue line in, so what suggestion? In speaker test they all play fine, but not when playing music , the very top rear right and left aren't coming out with the sound of during test
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,510 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Well music is in Stereo unless you’re using some kind of “Surround enhancement” to “fake” 5.1. Also something to check with your speaker connections that they all wired with correct polarity(+/-)Getting one backwards will definitely lead to odd image/volumes issues. But you’re correct with the connections so no issues there. Try a game to really test your 5.1 setup I have played maybe one game in recent history that wasn’t 5.1. If you want surround for music you’ll have to choose an effect setting like DTS Neo or DD Live to upmix Stereo to Surround. What’s available is different from chip to chip you will have an option for Surround effects for Stereo sources.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,027 (6.37/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I have Realtek + Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 and I use Microsoft's generic audio driver with the "Speaker Fill" enhancement. Works better than Realtek's drivers with stereo and 6 ch sources.
enhancements.png
driver.png


Under the General tab, you can do a Configure/Test. If the voice sounds equal from all channels, then your problem is a DSP making the rear speakers faint (CMSS comes to mind).


The cables are:
Green = Front L/R
Black = Rear L/R
Orange = Center/Subwoofer
 
Last edited:

halfpint

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
24 (0.83/day)
I have Realtek + Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 and I use Microsoft's generic audio driver with the "Speaker Fill" enhancement. Works better than Realtek's drivers with stereo and 6 ch sources.
View attachment 125321View attachment 125320

Under the General tab, you can do a Configure/Test. If the voice sounds equal from all channels, then your problem is a DSP making the rear speakers faint (CMSS comes to mind).
In my device manager I have listed AMD hd audio device, and realtek hd audio, I also have speaker fill checked, also, it says i have audio driver version 6.0.1.6543 direct x 11.0, audio controller HD audio, audio codec alc892
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,027 (6.37/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
AMD HD Audio Device is for your HDMI and DisplayPort sound.

I would try uninstalling Realtek HD Audio and playing around with the default Microsoft driver Windows will automatically rollback to.

If memory serves, Realtek Windows Enhancements and Realtek Manager software can conflict. I distinctly remember the Windows Enhancement having no effect if Realtek Manager is installed.
 

halfpint

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
24 (0.83/day)
AMD HD Audio Device is for your HDMI and DisplayPort sound.

I would try uninstalling Realtek HD Audio and playing around with the default Microsoft driver Windows will automatically rollback to.

If memory serves, Realtek Windows Enhancements and Realtek Manager software can conflict. I distinctly remember the Windows Enhancement having no effect if Realtek Manager is installed.
If I go into control panel, it only shows the realtek and it says the amd is unplugged which it is, I tried uninstalling the realtek, but it when it restarts it puts it back, so if i try to uninstall again do i also remove the software for it?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,070 (8.72/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name LGBTBBQAMDRGBDIYPC
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
if you're using stereo music, you only get stereo sound. some gets diverted to the sub, which shares a channel with centre so you may get some audio there too.

you need to use the speaker tests, 5.1 audio, or audio upmixing/speaker fill (which ruins real 5.1 surround sound, and i hate)
 

halfpint

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
24 (0.83/day)
I have Realtek + Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 and I use Microsoft's generic audio driver with the "Speaker Fill" enhancement. Works better than Realtek's drivers with stereo and 6 ch sources.
View attachment 125321View attachment 125320

Under the General tab, you can do a Configure/Test. If the voice sounds equal from all channels, then your problem is a DSP making the rear speakers faint (CMSS comes to mind).


The cables are:
Green = Front L/R
Black = Rear L/R
Orange = Center/Subwoofer
My cables are green, black yellow and i can't get to these setting now, everything is back to realtek i hate that, and I have used the speaker test for 5.1 also sorry i guess i don't know what DSP is or CMSS and in sound settings the dang input is stereo mix realtek

My cables are green, black yellow and i can't get to these setting now, everything is back to realtek i hate that, and I have used the speaker test for 5.1 also sorry i guess i don't know what DSP is or CMSS and in sound settings the dang input is stereo mix realtek
Every time I restart it all goes back to realtek even if i choose 5.1 and do the speaker test, and to stereo so I think that cancels out my 5.1
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,027 (6.37/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Try using this to disable Windows Update fetching of Realtek driver:

I think you have to uninstall -> use that utility, Realtek should show up, mark it -> restart. Should stay Microsoft.

Sources:
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,510 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
My cables are green, black yellow and i can't get to these setting now, everything is back to realtek i hate that, and I have used the speaker test for 5.1 also sorry i guess i don't know what DSP is or CMSS and in sound settings the dang input is stereo mix realtek


Every time I restart it all goes back to realtek even if i choose 5.1 and do the speaker test, and to stereo so I think that cancels out my 5.1
Realtek is what you’re plugged into. You should have it selected as default device. You can control through Windows Control Panel/Sound like Ford has pictured fir basic functionality or use the Realtek Control Panel(if drivers are properly installed) and have access to more features like equalizers and audio enhancements. But yes one may very well override the other. My SB SZ has a dedicated headphone jack if I switch to 5.1 to headphones in my SB control panel I have to go to Windows sound to set it to stereo because it’s not recognized by Windows as an output just a an example of one overriding the other.
Bottom line you are properly connected to the Realtek chip. How you control it the features you want to use depend on which method of control you choose(Windows vs Realtek) some things will be the same on both but both have different levels of control/features.
 
Joined
May 7, 2019
Messages
95 (1.32/day)
System Name MrGRiMv25 MkIV
Processor Xeon W3680 @ 3.73Ghz (133x28)
Motherboard HP Z400 Rev 2
Cooling Alpenfohn Brocken
Memory 3 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX570 Nitro+
Storage 240GB WD SSD, 6 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" iiyama XB2783HSU AMVA+
Case AeroCoool Aero 500 RGB
Power Supply HP 600w Bronze
Keyboard Gots keys
Software W10 x64
You can also asign which rear-jacks send out a different signal in RLTek CP, that might work.

Also make sure you have set Windows to 5.1 channel audio in the Sound CP properties/speaker setup.
 

halfpint

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
24 (0.83/day)
Oh I have uninstalled the realteck drivers and the software, when i restart i now only have on speakers high def audio device, but my input says no input fond, and now i only have one from right, one front left and sub and center speaker, now absolutely no rear right or left speakers. Your link never did show the realteck update to show or hide no matter what i tried before and after the uninstall of the realtek, what a mess,

Ok I have realtek back as default, no rear speakers. The only way I can get some out of rear speakers is to choose 7.1 even though I have 5.1, Also I cannot get the option to check speakerfill unless i choose 7.1, the rear speakers are working just not very loud, any suggestions?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,070 (8.72/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name LGBTBBQAMDRGBDIYPC
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
choose 7.1 and untick two of the speakers, do the speaker test to find out which ones you've got in use
 

halfpint

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
24 (0.83/day)
choose 7.1 and untick two of the speakers, do the speaker test to find out which ones you've got in use
OK I have front right and left, sub woofer, the center , and the rear right and left aren't very loud, I unticked what is called the side on the 7.1 which didn't play with out unticking them. So the sound coming from the rear two test fine and are in the right sequence when they are tested in configuration, but when playing any music, the sound in the rear are two faint, so most of the sound is dominant out of center, and front right and left,
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,027 (6.37/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Music is stereo. It's using a DSP that is putting some of it through the rear. With all DSPs disabled, you would hear nothing except from FL/FR/SW. You'll want to turn off whatever DSP is doing that and turn on stereo surround which simply copies FL -> RL, FR -> RR, and blends FL/FR -> C. As I said before, I couldn't make Realtek do that but I could make Micosoft's driver + Speaker Fill enhancement do it.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,070 (8.72/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name LGBTBBQAMDRGBDIYPC
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ NZXT Kraken x52 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
music = stereo

this has been covered plenty of times here, you need to upmix the audio for stereo sounds out the rear.
 

halfpint

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
24 (0.83/day)
music = stereo

this has been covered plenty of times here, you need to upmix the audio for stereo sounds out the rear.
Thank you all for trying, I will just leave it since this is starting to go over my head, I won't ask any more,
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,027 (6.37/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Oh I have uninstalled the realteck drivers and the software, when i restart i now only have on speakers high def audio device, but my input says no input fond, and now i only have one from right, one front left and sub and center speaker, now absolutely no rear right or left speakers. Your link never did show the realteck update to show or hide no matter what i tried before and after the uninstall of the realtek, what a mess,

Ok I have realtek back as default, no rear speakers. The only way I can get some out of rear speakers is to choose 7.1 even though I have 5.1, Also I cannot get the option to check speakerfill unless i choose 7.1, the rear speakers are working just not very loud, any suggestions?
You were on the right track here. Once you're back to the Microsoft driver, you have to run through Configuration via Sound Control Panel. That's where you tell it you have 5.1 speakers and how they're arranged. Once you do that, you can use the built in test to verify all the channels are correct. Then you right click on it, do properties, then Enhancement tab, enabled Speaker Fill, and you should be golden.

Two more pics for you:
playback.png
speakersetup.png
 
Top