• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Realtek DCH Modded Audio Driver for Windows 10

Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
767 (0.56/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Alan Finotty
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz + 2+1GB Memory Modules DDR3 1333 = 11GB
Video Card(s) Zogis GT 730 1GB DDR3
Storage 1: Intel 320 Series SSD 80GB; 2: Seagate Barracuda HD 1TB; 3: Toshiba MQ01ABD050 HD 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 933SN/933N/SN1933
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) AAF Optimus Sound (ALC-892)
Power Supply Casemall 600W (Auto-Switch 110V/220V)
Mouse Estone X7 Gaming
Keyboard Backlit SemiMechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 (2009) (20H2)
NEW DRIVERS RELEASED IN GITHUB
UPDATED VERSION TO 6.0.8899.1

ATTENTION: You will need to uninstall the currently installed version before continuing with this installation. A condition has been imposed for this due to problems reported by some users.


GO TO 1st PAGE
ENJOY!!!
 

slayer23

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
20 (0.07/day)
View attachment 145180
Click Configure speakers in sound control panel, right-clicking audio endpoint.
You should get 5.1, 7.1.
I would not recommend you do so if the main usage of the system is movie playback; bitstreaming is better in such cases.
That's the thing, i only see 2 speakers configuration at that section, i spent the last few years trying to figure out ways to overcome this problem and force a 5.1 channel configuration and ended up abandoning this idea (looks like it is a common downside of HTIB systems).

Thanks for the hint though ! Much appreciated
 

afn5454

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
10 (0.02/day)
NEW DRIVERS RELEASED IN GITHUB
UPDATED VERSION TO 6.0.8899.1

ATTENTION: You will need to uninstall the currently installed version before continuing with this installation. A condition has been imposed for this due to problems reported by some users.


GO TO 1st PAGE
ENJOY!!!
everything working fine.thnxx for this release..
2020-02-19_005750.jpg
ng
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2013
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
@eH-Sh4dowco
I apologize in advance for the inconvenience and for my driver package not working with you. But I checked here and found the problem. This is not a bad driver, but because driver version 6.0.8881.1 is the latest version of the Realtek driver that is still compatible with Windows 7, this means that versions released higher than this will not automatically receive support for Windows 7. :(
Thanks Alan, the latest Driver that worked fine is the version 6.0.8890.1. I have a question what is the best version of Windows to improve the sound quality 8.1 or 10? Thanks for your support.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
49 (0.13/day)
Hi Alan. Just installed 8899 and the Realtek Audio Manager does not start automatically anymore. I have to manually open RtkNGUI64 to be able to start the service. Any ideas on how I can adjust this to autorun on boot?
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
767 (0.56/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Alan Finotty
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz + 2+1GB Memory Modules DDR3 1333 = 11GB
Video Card(s) Zogis GT 730 1GB DDR3
Storage 1: Intel 320 Series SSD 80GB; 2: Seagate Barracuda HD 1TB; 3: Toshiba MQ01ABD050 HD 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 933SN/933N/SN1933
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) AAF Optimus Sound (ALC-892)
Power Supply Casemall 600W (Auto-Switch 110V/220V)
Mouse Estone X7 Gaming
Keyboard Backlit SemiMechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 (2009) (20H2)
Hi Alan. Just installed 8899 and the Realtek Audio Manager does not start automatically anymore. I have to manually open RtkNGUI64 to be able to start the service. Any ideas on how I can adjust this to autorun on boot?
To resolve this, just apply this command:
cmd /c reg add HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run /f /v RtHDVCpl /t REG_SZ /d "\"%programfiles%\Realtek\Audio\HDA\RAVCpl64.exe\" -s

Thanks Alan, the latest Driver that worked fine is the version 6.0.8890.1. I have a question what is the best version of Windows to improve the sound quality 8.1 or 10? Thanks for your support.
I recommend Windows 10 for you.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2014
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Thanks alan! I still cant get nahimic to run - nahimic just closes when i run it. Any ideas how to fix this? Creative runs but none of the settings seem to have any effect. Weird.

Windows Version 10.0.17763.1039
ALC892
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
767 (0.56/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Alan Finotty
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz + 2+1GB Memory Modules DDR3 1333 = 11GB
Video Card(s) Zogis GT 730 1GB DDR3
Storage 1: Intel 320 Series SSD 80GB; 2: Seagate Barracuda HD 1TB; 3: Toshiba MQ01ABD050 HD 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 933SN/933N/SN1933
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) AAF Optimus Sound (ALC-892)
Power Supply Casemall 600W (Auto-Switch 110V/220V)
Mouse Estone X7 Gaming
Keyboard Backlit SemiMechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 (2009) (20H2)
I ran this twice but it does nothing for me.
Open REGEDIT, navigate to "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run", create a REG_SZ value with the name "RtHDVCpl" and in the value data enter the path with the quotation marks: "%programfiles%\Realtek\Audio\HDA\RAVCpl64.exe" -s
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
49 (0.13/day)
Open REGEDIT, navigate to "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run", create a REG_SZ value with the name "RtHDVCpl" and in the value data enter the path with the quotation marks: "%programfiles%\Realtek\Audio\HDA\RAVCpl64.exe" -s
There was already such an entry in there. I tried to delete it and make a new one but still nothing happens. If it helps, Sound Blaster Connect starts without any problems.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
767 (0.56/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Alan Finotty
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz + 2+1GB Memory Modules DDR3 1333 = 11GB
Video Card(s) Zogis GT 730 1GB DDR3
Storage 1: Intel 320 Series SSD 80GB; 2: Seagate Barracuda HD 1TB; 3: Toshiba MQ01ABD050 HD 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 933SN/933N/SN1933
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) AAF Optimus Sound (ALC-892)
Power Supply Casemall 600W (Auto-Switch 110V/220V)
Mouse Estone X7 Gaming
Keyboard Backlit SemiMechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 (2009) (20H2)
There was already such an entry in there. I tried to delete it and make a new one but still nothing happens. If it helps, Sound Blaster Connect starts without any problems.
Replace "RAVCpl64.exe" with "RtkNGUI64.exe".
 

TheBrandon

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
This seems super cool. Are there any instructions though? I installed newest version but initially only saw Creative panel on reboot and it showed not recognizing setup or something in the bottom left of the panel. I just took the defaults on install. I have an AMD board with Realtek 1220-VB optical out to my DAC. What am I missing? I opened the Driver Test Utility where I had a flashing red message on the left side next to a green one and followed instructions for the PCI and Verb VID, saved, restarted but the Creative Panel popped back up. I uninstalled and tried again without the Creative option with no luck. My device shows Realtek Digital Output if that helps. Thank you!!

Edit: Win 10 64 1909. Realtek Drivers 6.0.8854.1
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
767 (0.56/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Alan Finotty
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz + 2+1GB Memory Modules DDR3 1333 = 11GB
Video Card(s) Zogis GT 730 1GB DDR3
Storage 1: Intel 320 Series SSD 80GB; 2: Seagate Barracuda HD 1TB; 3: Toshiba MQ01ABD050 HD 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 933SN/933N/SN1933
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) AAF Optimus Sound (ALC-892)
Power Supply Casemall 600W (Auto-Switch 110V/220V)
Mouse Estone X7 Gaming
Keyboard Backlit SemiMechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 (2009) (20H2)
NEW DRIVERS RELEASED IN GITHUB
UPDATED VERSION TO 6.0.8900.1

ATTENTION: You will need to uninstall the currently installed version before continuing with this installation. A condition has been imposed for this due to problems reported by some users.


GO TO 1st PAGE
ENJOY!!!
 

TheBrandon

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
NEW DRIVERS RELEASED IN GITHUB
UPDATED VERSION TO 6.0.8900.1

ATTENTION: You will need to uninstall the currently installed version before continuing with this installation. A condition has been imposed for this due to problems reported by some users.


GO TO 1st PAGE
ENJOY!!!
Amazing work Alan. I worked on this last night for several hours and did not have much luck. Is there a summary on getting this to work?

I believe I need to,
  • Remove my current RealTek drivers from Device manager, reboot.
  • Install your driver (I am not running Intel at all, does this change what I should install as part of the driver installation?).
Not sure what happens after that. I've seen some APO Drivers documentation, Audio Enhancer Downloads and made note of various instances people were sharing fixes for issues I could see.

I am hoping to try Dolby Atmos Gaming and Nahimic 3. What are the steps after the driver install? Thank you kindly!

It makes me extremely proud of people who put this type of time and effort for the benefit and joy of others. What a great human being!!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Location
new york
UPDATE: OK after running tweaking.com AGAIN, I clicked update driver for the AAF audio driver, picked aaf and this time it installed quickly instead of sitting there and timing out. I really started to hate windows 10 since april or so. They started to mess things up and even event viewer has become useless. If I wanted this crap, I'd get a MAC lol

Uninstalled the version 3 ones ago (which I was using that I got to work).
Rebooted
UGH once again it's stuck drvinst.exe "Installing realtek extension"
What causes this? I don't want to have to run the tweaking.com program again to reset registry permissions, but really if this is going to be every update, can there be an installer that updates instead of causes this again??

Had to remove them manually, reboot.
Installed fine.
But ARGGHHHH Sb Connect is complaining device not found. This windows 10 driver system is such garbage!

Now again, after removal and reboot its STUCK at installing realtek extension, and the other drivers. Why does drvinst.exe hold up like this??? DDU doesn't help this either.

I'm so sick of this, no messages or warnings in event viewer. What the heck can we do in this case when there's no actual error? I get so frustrated at this garbage OS, but the alternatives aren't much better either.


NEW DRIVERS RELEASED IN GITHUB
UPDATED VERSION TO 6.0.8900.1

ATTENTION: You will need to uninstall the currently installed version before continuing with this installation. A condition has been imposed for this due to problems reported by some users.


GO TO 1st PAGE
ENJOY!!!
 
Last edited:

TheBrandon

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Can someone please lend me a hand? Installed newest driver AAF from today showing in device manager. I have FX Configurator but I have no idea what to do next. I am hoping to try Dolby Atmos Gaming and Nahimic 3. Sorry to be a pain. I have about about 8 hours into this and not making any progress.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2014
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
i installed the AAFDrvPackInst_HDA-6.0.8900.1 drivers but am missing 5.1 channels - only have 2 channels.

tech.PNG


How do i fix this??
Specificiations:
Windows 10 [Version 10.0.17763.1039] x64
ALC892
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
767 (0.56/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Alan Finotty
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz + 2+1GB Memory Modules DDR3 1333 = 11GB
Video Card(s) Zogis GT 730 1GB DDR3
Storage 1: Intel 320 Series SSD 80GB; 2: Seagate Barracuda HD 1TB; 3: Toshiba MQ01ABD050 HD 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 933SN/933N/SN1933
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) AAF Optimus Sound (ALC-892)
Power Supply Casemall 600W (Auto-Switch 110V/220V)
Mouse Estone X7 Gaming
Keyboard Backlit SemiMechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 (2009) (20H2)
i installed the AAFDrvPackInst_HDA-6.0.8900.1 drivers but am missing 5.1 channels - only have 2 channels.

View attachment 145458

How do i fix this??
Specificiations:
Windows 10 [Version 10.0.17763.1039] x64
ALC892
Follow the instructions in the spoilers on the first page "How to activate Dolby Digital Live" and "How to activate DTS Interactive".
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Location
new york
Alan, is there any reason why drvinst.exe would sit there using cpu? I've tried many things and the only time this happened before was on the previous windows 10 version with AMD radeon. I got so mad last night that I gave up and rolled back to the previous version.

Also, does the Dolby Atmos have speaker fill where 2 channel sources, such as music get expanded into rear speakers? I couldn't get it to work, but creative surround does work well.
 

RooZ

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2020
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Hi,

I'm testing newest version of the driver, removed everything with DDU in Safe mode and now it catched up nicely, trying to enable dolby etc but i dont know what my chipset is to properly edit the values.
How can i check it? My mainboard is z270-p with audio ALC887, halp!
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2019
Messages
14 (0.02/day)
System Name PowerNotebooks PowerPro R 6:8-780 (MSI GT-70)
Processor i7-4800MQ
Cooling My own custom-built cooling pad
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Upgraded to 980M from 780M
Storage 3x240GB mSATA in RAID 0 + 1TB HD, plus USB externals
Display(s) 17.3 1920x1080 LP173WF1-TLB3 built-in - Samsung 6 series 4K external
Before anything else - thank you for your efforts and sharing them!

Some progress. I'm using an MSI GT70, integrated Realtek 892, upgraded Nvidia 980M video. I did my best to uninstall and delete any audio settings from anything else - then installed this mod.

My desired audio support is HDMI and analog headphones with microphone.

Device manager shows three audio devices - "AAF Realtek HD Audio Modded", "Nvidia High Definition Audio", "Nvidia Virtual Audio WDM"

Sound devices shows "Analog Out (AAF)", "Digital S/PDIF Out (AAF)", "Nvidia Output (not plugged in)", "Samsung (my TV & Soundbar via Nvidia)"

The HDMI Samsung output device - under Advanced there is no Dolby or DTS option.
The S/PDIF output (which I'm not using) - Dolby Digital Live is available.
Analog - there is a Dolby tab showing Dolby Home Theater and an option for Prologic IIx.

The Realtek Sound Manager only shows one analog port - even though I have four (one is also the S/PDIF) and they were visible and configurable in prior versions. I cannot get sound routed to the headphones.

Nahimic is working on the HDMI sound output.

Sound Blaster Connect does not recognize any devices.
Dolby Atmos does not recognize any devices.
Dolby Home Theater appears not to be installed.

My video card ID is PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_13D7&SUBSYS_05AB1462
The NVidia HD Audio ID is HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10DE&DEV_0071&SUBSYS_102805AB
The AAF Audio ID presently shows HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0892&SUBSYS_146210EC
 
Top