• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Realtek Modded Audio Driver for Windows 7, 8.1, 10

Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
525 (0.47/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Alan Finotty
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz + 2+1GB Memory Modules DDR3 1333 = 11GB
Video Card(s) Zogis GT 730 1GB DDR3
Storage 1: Intel 320 Series SSD 80GB; 2: Seagate Barracuda HD 1TB; 3: Toshiba MQ01ABD050 HD 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 933SN/933N/SN1933
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard (Realtek ALC892)
Power Supply Casemall 600W (Auto-Switch 110V/220V)
Mouse Estone X7 Gaming
Keyboard Backlit SemiMechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 (1909)
If i use APODriver on this and tried to add Dolby Theater V4 feature, will your drive have Dolby Theater v4 in it?
Yes. But, if you are using Windows 10, this package already has Dolby Atmos.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Location
new york
Update, ran tweaking.com app to fix permissions of registry filesystem etc,
Now it works fine. But on my other pc first install gave sb connect not detecting device.
Also, sb connect surround really sucks if you have a center channel, i had to turn off the center channel to make sound better from stereo sources expanded to surround (w sbconnect)

8896.1 win10 x64 on realtek alc1220 on asrock z390 extreme 4 motherboard.
Thanks for this but I'm having an issue during install, stuck at "installing realtek extension"
With drvinst.exe using cpu and not doing anything.
If I kill the drvinst.exe, it continues and I have sound but sb connect complains device not found?

from event viewer 'system' event id 219
The driver \Driver\AAFBus64 failed to load for the device PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_AAF0&SUBSYS_AAF0148C&REV_00\4&c47d4c6&0&0108.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Location
new york
Is there any fix for Realtek manager and SB Connect 2 in Windows 7?
What issue ? I have it working after 2 uninstall, reinstalls
If you're talking about the start menu shortcuts, yeah I don't understand that crap... why would it sometimes not get created? no clue
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 24, 2013
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
What issue ? I have it working after 2 uninstall, reinstalls
If you're talking about the start menu shortcuts, yeah I don't understand that crap... why would it sometimes not get created? no clue
Whats is your OS?? I tried uninstalling and cleaning the driver. I'm not talking about start menu Realtek manager doesn't launch and SB Connect says Device not detected I strongly recommend you read the previous forums to understand the issue.
 

Attachments

MasterBeiShen

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
23 (0.18/day)
Whats is your OS?? I tried uninstalling and cleaning the driver. I'm not talking about start menu Realtek manager doesn't launch and SB Connect says Device not detected I strongly recommend you read the previous forums to understand the issue.
I found this happening to me once too. Go to Device Manager and you'll see you might have to reinstall the driver from there.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2013
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
I found this happening to me once too. Go to Device Manager and you'll see you might have to reinstall the driver from there.
You have Windows 7. Really ? Install over and over from device manager?

I have made Realtek UAD drivers with all creative legacy products such as THX, Cinema, X-fi. If anyone interested u can try them Download Here
It's compatible with Win 7?
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2014
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Yes. But, if you are using Windows 10, this package already has Dolby Atmos.
Yes I can unlock dolby theater 4 (which is great!), but nahimic and atmos doesnt work. It just closes right away when I try to open the application. I tried reinstalling around 5x and still the same result Creative seems to work though
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
525 (0.47/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Alan Finotty
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz + 2+1GB Memory Modules DDR3 1333 = 11GB
Video Card(s) Zogis GT 730 1GB DDR3
Storage 1: Intel 320 Series SSD 80GB; 2: Seagate Barracuda HD 1TB; 3: Toshiba MQ01ABD050 HD 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 933SN/933N/SN1933
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard (Realtek ALC892)
Power Supply Casemall 600W (Auto-Switch 110V/220V)
Mouse Estone X7 Gaming
Keyboard Backlit SemiMechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 (1909)
NEW DRIVERS RELEASED IN GITHUB
UPDATED VERSION TO 6.0.8898.1
NEW FIXES AND CHANGES
REUPLOADED

ATTENTION: You will need to uninstall the currently installed version before continuing with this installation. A condition has been imposed for this due to problems reported by some users.

GO TO 1st PAGE
ENJOY!!!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 8, 2014
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
thanks - i still couldnt get ATMOS or Nahimic to run on my ALC892

And this version doesnt have Dolby Theater 4 build into it :(
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
525 (0.47/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Alan Finotty
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz + 2+1GB Memory Modules DDR3 1333 = 11GB
Video Card(s) Zogis GT 730 1GB DDR3
Storage 1: Intel 320 Series SSD 80GB; 2: Seagate Barracuda HD 1TB; 3: Toshiba MQ01ABD050 HD 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 933SN/933N/SN1933
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard (Realtek ALC892)
Power Supply Casemall 600W (Auto-Switch 110V/220V)
Mouse Estone X7 Gaming
Keyboard Backlit SemiMechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 (1909)
thanks - i still couldnt get ATMOS or Nahimic to run on my ALC892

And this version doesnt have Dolby Theater 4 build into it :(
Please check if the standard Realtek effects work in Realtek Audio Manager. (Equalizer, Room Correction, etc.)
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2014
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
the effects for AAFDrvPackInst_HDA-6.0.8898.1 are there, but it seems movies and music doesnt play at all (either no sound or an error in playback module in foobar2000). Neither nahimic or creative will run.

Going back to AAFDrvPackInst_HDA-6.0.8896.1 i am now unable to enable Dolby theater 4. The page for the dolby is now blank with an error
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
525 (0.47/day)
Location
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
System Name Alan Finotty
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 960T (Quad-Core)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H (Rev 1.3)
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz + 2+1GB Memory Modules DDR3 1333 = 11GB
Video Card(s) Zogis GT 730 1GB DDR3
Storage 1: Intel 320 Series SSD 80GB; 2: Seagate Barracuda HD 1TB; 3: Toshiba MQ01ABD050 HD 500GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 933SN/933N/SN1933
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Onboard (Realtek ALC892)
Power Supply Casemall 600W (Auto-Switch 110V/220V)
Mouse Estone X7 Gaming
Keyboard Backlit SemiMechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 (1909)
@eH-Sh4dowco
I apologize in advance for the inconvenience and for my driver package not working with you. But I checked here and found the problem. This is not a bad driver, but because driver version 6.0.8881.1 is the latest version of the Realtek driver that is still compatible with Windows 7, this means that versions released higher than this will not automatically receive support for Windows 7. :(
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2020
Messages
2 (0.04/day)
Location
Colombia
System Name Ryzen PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600
Motherboard MSI Gaming Pro
Cooling Stock
Memory 32GB
Video Card(s) XFX R7 360 2GB
Storage SSD Samsung EVO 250GB - HDD Toshiba 4TB 7200
Display(s) Samsung 28"
Case Foxconn
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 LTSC
1. Install Virtual Audio Cable.
2. Open Sound Control Panel.
3. Go to recording tab and open Cable Output.
View attachment 144186
4. Go to Listen tab. Configure as shown.
View attachment 144187
5. Check whether your default playback device remains the one you usually use.

What this procedure does: It plays silence in the system always. As something is playing, DDL remains active.
Thx A lot man works perfect!!! now DTS or DDL is always on

I updated from AAFDrvInst_HDA_ALL_AE-6.0.8854.1_2 to AAFDrvPackInst-6.0.8892.1
And since then my DD 5.1 option is gone.

The fix from first page only works for DTS, but DTS seems to sound horribly on windows level. For example youtube only plays from center speaker and sounds very low quality.

I also did a clean install to latest release AAFDrvPackInst_HDA-6.0.8896.1.exe but no joy. (for some reason the fix was already applied, so I guess it wasnt very clean install...uninstaller doesnt do a very good job and there are tons of leftovers)


DD 5.1 worked fine for me with AAFDrvInst_HDA_ALL_AE-6.0.8854.1_2, but now even downgrading to that version does not give the option back.

Any idea how to get it back?

Its the main reason why I use this modded driver.

I also posted this on Github https://github.com/AlanFinotty1995/AAFRealtekMod/issues/17

EDIT:
Actually correction, now I get the weird sound from only Center speaker with low quality even with the 2 channel option.
Something is very messed up. :(

EDIT2:
Ok, strange.

I have now installed the generic latest drivers from here: https://github.com/alanfox2000/realtek-hda-release/releases

8895_FF00_PG475_Win10_RS5_19H1_X64_WHQL.zip

Without uninstalling the modded driver.
The installation uninstalled something (realtek driver), then rebooted and then installed the generic driver.

Now I can see the DD 5.1 option. But its not the modded driver.


Sound works fine, no more low quality center speaker only sound.

I guess I will leave it at that, for the moment.
i have the same thing. I was already going crazy with this difference in the audio "I thought it was my ears that were failing :)"
after dealing which some older driver, i get a working one:
working fine no more ugly sound.
but your solution is better!!!
thx
 

slayer23

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
5 (0.13/day)
Hi all, i am actually using Alan's realtek and everything works well (using Optical to my HTIB). I also used Apo to unlock Dolby Digital on my Nvidia HDMI audio cable. From your experience guys what would be the best (DTS Interractive 5.1 on the Optical or Dolby Digital on the HDMI)?
I hope this question was not asked before.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
584 (1.00/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
Hi all, i am actually using Alan's realtek and everything works well (using Optical to my HTIB). I also used Apo to unlock Dolby Digital on my Nvidia HDMI audio cable. From your experience guys what would be the best (DTS Interractive 5.1 on the Optical or Dolby Digital on the HDMI)?
I hope this question was not asked before.
Uncompressed 5.1 on HDMI, if supported. Else, DTS Connect APO on Nvidia HDMI.
What HTIB are you using?
 

slayer23

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
5 (0.13/day)
Uncompressed 5.1 on HDMI, if supported. Else, DTS Connect APO on Nvidia HDMI.
What HTIB are you using?
It is a LG BH7420. From windows it is only detected as a Stereo receiver (not surprising for a HTIB) so not sure how i can achieve Uncompressed 5.1 (just leave it as 2ch 24bits 96kHz ?) So far i only found out how to enable Dolby digital, not much information about unlocking other compression technologies.

Hi, this supports NVIDIA via HDMI: https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2796/~/which-hdmi-audio-formats-do-nvidia-gpus-support? But Dolby Atmos and DTS:X isnt working yet, this will be come back with the windows update 20H1
Thanks for the information. My sound system is kinda old so it only supports Dolby Digital, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Digital Plus, DTS and DTS-HD.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
584 (1.00/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
It is a LG BH7420. From windows it is only detected as a Stereo receiver (not surprising for a HTIB) so not sure how i can achieve Uncompressed 5.1 (just leave it as 2ch 24bits 96kHz ?) So far i only found out how to enable Dolby digital, not much information about unlocking other compression technologies.



Thanks for the information. My sound system is kinda old so it only supports Dolby Digital, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Digital Plus, DTS and DTS-HD.
1582047382236.png

Click Configure speakers in sound control panel, right-clicking audio endpoint.
You should get 5.1, 7.1.
I would not recommend you do so if the main usage of the system is movie playback; bitstreaming is better in such cases.
 
Top