• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

RealTemp General Discussion

Joined
Nov 8, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I actually wrote an 8 core version of RealTemp a few years ago. The guy on XtremeSystems that I wrote it for decided that he didn't like it because it was too wide. No kidding. :)

He thought for 8 cores maybe a redesign of RealTemp so it listed the temps in a table so it wasn't so big might be a better idea. Kind of like how Core Temp or CPUID HWMonitor do it. I don't have access to an 8 core CPU but in theory, either of those 2 programs should be able to handle the 5960X. If anyone has an 8 core CPU and wants to help me get RealTemp working, let me know and I will see if I can find my old code. A couple of minor updates might be enough.
I've been using the Skull=1 Skull=2 options with two instances of realtemp running for years now on my dual quad xeon setup. The only issue I've found is you can't launch the two instances of realtemp at once, most of the time one of them will be messed up, I don't recall the specifics. I use a batch file to launch one, wait, then launch the other. I'm also planning to pick up an 5960X soon. I'm just waiting a bit (for a change) to let everyone iron out all the kinks first. If there's anything I can do to help let me know.
 

Leemarvin

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi Uncle, first I wanna say thanks for this great program and pardon my english since it's not my first language.
I have recently downloaded your last version de RealTemp_TI one, and since I have a new i7 5820k CPU, it doesn't display my full six cores, is there anywhere a RealTemp_TI GT version displaying six cores? thanxs in advance.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
RealTemp GT 3.70 works correctly on the 6 cores CPUs and it can be downloaded from TechPowerUp.

The T|I Edition only supports the 4 core CPUs.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I actually wrote an 8 core version of RealTemp a few years ago. The guy on XtremeSystems that I wrote it for decided that he didn't like it because it was too wide. No kidding. :)

He thought for 8 cores maybe a redesign of RealTemp so it listed the temps in a table so it wasn't so big might be a better idea. Kind of like how Core Temp or CPUID HWMonitor do it. I don't have access to an 8 core CPU but in theory, either of those 2 programs should be able to handle the 5960X. If anyone has an 8 core CPU and wants to help me get RealTemp working, let me know and I will see if I can find my old code. A couple of minor updates might be enough.
RealTempGT.exe still only shows 6 of 8 cores. An update would be greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
Guys my CPU idle temps are about 25C, but the BIOS reads in 40s? Which one is correct? hwinfo also gives 25C as CPU temp
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
788 (0.70/day)
Likes
543
Processor I7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 7
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Crucial BallistiX 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Storage 850 PRO 250G SSD, 840 Evo 250GB SSD
Display(s) ASUS VE247H 23" 1080p 60Hz
Case NZXT H440 Red/Black
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse G600
Keyboard G510S
Software Win 7 64B
Benchmark Scores I bench 225 Breh.
Guys my CPU idle temps are about 25C, but the BIOS reads in 40s? Which one is correct? hwinfo also gives 25C as CPU temp
One is your package temperature, the other is the core temperature.

They will usually be 10-15~degrees different.

I would use AMD Overdrive to monitor since it tells you when your nearing the max temp limit
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
One is your package temperature, the other is the core temperature.

They will usually be 10-15~degrees different.

I would use AMD Overdrive to monitor since it tells you when your nearing the max temp limit
Sorry, I changed my system specs. I have a 6700k now.

Also what does a sensor test do and tell me? (specifically the movement part)

 
Last edited:

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
When you are sitting in the bios, the CPU is typically not using any of the low power C States so the temperatures tend to be higher in the bios compared to when idle in Windows. As mentioned, the bios might also be reading data from a totally different CPU temperature sensor.

The CPU Cool Down Test was invented to help uncover the 45nm Core 2 Duo CPUs that had sticking temperature sensors. As the load on a CPU decreases, the temperature should decrease. This test worked great for that problem and I am sure it helped encourage Intel to start using more expensive temperature sensors that no longer get stuck in the normal temperature range. When a load is applied to a CPU, the core temperatures should instantly increase. That is what the movement part of the test shows. On 45nm Core 2 Duo CPUs, a movement reading of zero showed that the sensor likely had a sticking problem and was not moving at all when at low temperatures. Many of these sensors were getting stuck at anything less than 45°C. Your sensors look fine.

RealTemp has not been updated in 4+ years. It reports the temperatures correctly on a 6700K but the MHz and Load data needs some work. I plan to look into this someday when I can afford a new system with a 6600K. No money in the sock drawer at the moment. A freeware programmer is kind of like a starving artist. We produce good work but neither of us are getting rich. :)
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
I posted on my motherboard manufacturers website and they had the same thing to say. The temp goes up in the BIOS screen.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,173 (2.10/day)
Likes
8,933
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i5 6500 / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + Scythe 1200rpm + 4 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
I built a new skylake system recently, now when I open realtemp it shows the core temps around 20 degrees all day (idle), while my room temp is around 20 as well.
realtemp.JPG


Now this seems a little hard to believe.
I did a sensor test and it says this:
sensor test.JPG


To get the right temperatures at idle do I have to add 12 degrees?
Then core 0 would run at 32 degrees.

I must say in the UEFI the cpu temp reads around 23.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
Intel has never used temperature sensors that are 100% accurate. These sensors are calibrated to trigger thermal throttling at approximately 100°C and to trigger thermal shutdown at about 125°C to 130°C. Accurate idle temps has never been part of the design. At the calibration point, these sensors are only accurate to +/- 5°C and when the CPU is idle, they are probably less accurate than that. They tend to read too low at idle so your reported temps are normal.

The Sensor test simply shows that all of your sensors are working. When that test was originally written, many of the 45nm Core 2 sensors were getting completely stuck at temperatures below 40°C. This test proved that point but this test has no significance when running it on a Core i CPU.

As long as your CPU is stable and it is not thermal throttling, core temperatures are not that important. Temperature data is an approximation. If your cores are at 60°C or 70°C or 80°C, it really doesn't make any difference. Your CPU will perform the same and it is designed to last a long, long time at any of those temperatures.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
as i tell people, go by distance to TJmax - or distance to throttle. idle readings mean nothing, when various chips can throttle at 60C or 110C - how long til that happens, is what matters.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,173 (2.10/day)
Likes
8,933
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i5 6500 / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + Scythe 1200rpm + 4 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
Is the latest beta RealTemp still in a test phase?
Will it be out soon?


Thanks!
 
Last edited:

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
I have not looked at RealTemp in years. I prefer to work on ThrottleStop. Same sort of monitoring program and it uses a lot of the exact same code. It shows CPU and GPU temps in the system tray and gives a user way more control over their CPU compared to RealTemp. I am running out of new stuff to add to ThrottleStop so maybe I will get back to working on RealTemp someday soon. Technology changes quickly so it is difficult to leave a program like this sitting for years and then just do a quick update. Dormant projects take a lot of time to get them working properly again.
 

n1ko

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
So, am I the only one who noticed Real Temp doesnt shows the real tmps on Kaby Lake CPUs ???
p.s. It shows 8-12 degrees lower.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
Intel has not changed anything temperature related in the last 7 generations of CPUs so RealTemp should be able to read the correct temperature on Kaby Lake CPUs. Either download a fresh copy of RealTemp or delete the RealTemp.INI file and restart RealTemp so it can read the correct value for TJ Max from your new CPU.

If you ever have a problem, post a pic so I can have a look.
 

n1ko

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Intel has not changed anything temperature related in the last 7 generations of CPUs so RealTemp should be able to read the correct temperature on Kaby Lake CPUs. Either download a fresh copy of RealTemp or delete the RealTemp.INI file and restart RealTemp so it can read the correct value for TJ Max from your new CPU.

If you ever have a problem, post a pic so I can have a look.
Yes, thank you. You're right.I use this app for a long time now so i guess someting went wrong when switched the gens.
 

ajaxx

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2017
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Dear Developers,

The program is really useful, but i have an issue with it.
The ALARM EXE that I point out is called only once in event of alarm.
I have made a script, sending me email when the temperature goes above a specified amount.
The problem is that ALARM EXE /which triggers my own script/ runs only at the first occurrence of higher temperature, and not every time the event occurs.

Could you, please make the program ALART to be triggered each time a criteria has been met?

Thank you in advance!

PS Sorry if I didn't write my request in the right topic.
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,232 (4.71/day)
Likes
17,358
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Wendys Nightmare / Winebox/ Matchbox
Processor Xeon X5670 @4.4ghz / G540 stock/ Q 8300
Motherboard Rampage ii Extreme / Giga GA H61m/ Intel P35
Cooling modded H100 pump and 12omm rad / stock/ stock
Memory 16gb Hyper FurryX triple / 4gb ddr3 / 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce Gtx 970 1485/1800
Storage Kingston V300 120gb /YES/YES/YES
Display(s) 24 HannsG / tv/ 19 "/ 24"
Case Custom treadplate /yes/ wooden winebox/ matchsticks
Audio Device(s) ASUS Supreme xfi 7.1 / ob 7.1 / o/b/ob
Power Supply Corsair 550w / XFX 550// shuttle/ shuttle
Mouse Dead.....all dead.
Keyboard IBM kb7993
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/capslockstuck/
Intel has not changed anything temperature related in the last 7 generations of CPUs so RealTemp should be able to read the correct temperature on Kaby Lake CPUs. Either download a fresh copy of RealTemp or delete the RealTemp.INI file and restart RealTemp so it can read the correct value for TJ Max from your new CPU.

If you ever have a problem, post a pic so I can have a look.

realtemp.PNG



intel says on their spec sheet that tjmax for X5670 is 81.3C ...Realtemp says 96 C. I think realtemp is incorrect in this instance.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
If you look closer at the spec that you posted, 81.3°C is listed as the maximum TCase temperature. This spec is not the same as TJ Max.

TCase is measured by hacking up the top of the IHS on top of your CPU with a Dremel and then embedding a temperature sensor at the geometric center of your CPU. This spec is not for individual users because Intel does not expect individuals to hack up their new CPUs. This spec only applies to large system builders that are trying to determine how big a cooler and how much air flow they are going to need. If the center of the CPU never reaches the maximum TCase temperature when testing then in theory, the hottest spot on the individual cores should never reach TJ Max. It is not unusual for there to be a 20°C gradient between the temperature measured at the center of the CPU vs the peak core temperature. The size of the gradient varies depending on your cooler and the type of stress testing software you are using. The TCase spec is a guide line so the CPU will be unlikely to need to thermal throttle. Intel wants the CPU cores to always run at their maximum rated speed when necessary.

When RealTempGT first starts up, it reads the Intel specified TJ Max value directly from the CPU. If you have RealTemp installed on a USB drive or if you previously had a different CPU, delete the RealTempGT.INI config file and then start up RealTempGT.exe so it can read the correct TJ Max value for your CPU.

A 201 MHz BCLK looks great for a 6 core CPU that is over 7 years old now. :toast:
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,232 (4.71/day)
Likes
17,358
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Wendys Nightmare / Winebox/ Matchbox
Processor Xeon X5670 @4.4ghz / G540 stock/ Q 8300
Motherboard Rampage ii Extreme / Giga GA H61m/ Intel P35
Cooling modded H100 pump and 12omm rad / stock/ stock
Memory 16gb Hyper FurryX triple / 4gb ddr3 / 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce Gtx 970 1485/1800
Storage Kingston V300 120gb /YES/YES/YES
Display(s) 24 HannsG / tv/ 19 "/ 24"
Case Custom treadplate /yes/ wooden winebox/ matchsticks
Audio Device(s) ASUS Supreme xfi 7.1 / ob 7.1 / o/b/ob
Power Supply Corsair 550w / XFX 550// shuttle/ shuttle
Mouse Dead.....all dead.
Keyboard IBM kb7993
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/capslockstuck/
A 201 MHz BCLK looks great for a 6 core CPU that is over 7 years old now.
4.429.PNG



Thanks for clarifying the temps thing, i had to read it twice but it all makes a lot of sense now.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2017
Messages
44 (0.19/day)
Likes
13
Processor 6600K
Motherboard Z170-A
Cooling U14-S
Memory Vengence DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 O6G
Storage Multple SSD
Display(s) Asus VS 24"
Power Supply XTR550
Mouse G502
Software Mint 18.1
Benchmark Scores 2nd VR Mark in class.
Just wanted to thank Webb for all he's done in our world. I ran an X9100 and 280M in my giant laptop back in the day and that overclocking and temp management was outstanding.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
Here is a good thermal pic of an old Core 2 Duo. It shows you the hot spots on the die compared to the center of the CPU where TCase is measured.

http://semiaccurate.com/static/uploads/2010/07_july/Guess_the_chip_thermal_pic.jpg

Nice to see that RealTemp and CPU-Z agree on your BCLK, 201.35 MHz. You can also trust the RealTemp multiplier. Your previous picture looks like you might have C1E enabled.

Thanks Rosie.
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,232 (4.71/day)
Likes
17,358
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Wendys Nightmare / Winebox/ Matchbox
Processor Xeon X5670 @4.4ghz / G540 stock/ Q 8300
Motherboard Rampage ii Extreme / Giga GA H61m/ Intel P35
Cooling modded H100 pump and 12omm rad / stock/ stock
Memory 16gb Hyper FurryX triple / 4gb ddr3 / 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce Gtx 970 1485/1800
Storage Kingston V300 120gb /YES/YES/YES
Display(s) 24 HannsG / tv/ 19 "/ 24"
Case Custom treadplate /yes/ wooden winebox/ matchsticks
Audio Device(s) ASUS Supreme xfi 7.1 / ob 7.1 / o/b/ob
Power Supply Corsair 550w / XFX 550// shuttle/ shuttle
Mouse Dead.....all dead.
Keyboard IBM kb7993
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/capslockstuck/
Your previous picture looks like you might have C1E enabled.
i never have any problems so i leave it as it is,

This is the best i ever did with it , the hardest work it does nowadays is GTAV