• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

RealTemp temperature could possibly be inaccurate?

PNO3

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
3 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hello,

I just finished assembling a Z270 stinger build which runs a stock i7-7700K CPU, which is cooled by a MasterLiquid Pro 280 with its fans replaced with two NF-A14 industrialPPC-24V-3000 IP67 PWM. When comparing the temperature data between RealTemp, and RealTempGT, I saw a large temperature difference. I decided to see which was correct by comparing with EVGA's CPU tool and speed fan, and the results were mixed, as shown in the picture below. For this test I disabled Turbo mode, because I was not sure which temp was correct, and with turbo mode, RealTempGT and EVGA's E-LEET tool both measure temps above 85C, while RealTemp measures temps in the 70s. Is RealTemp incorrect?
upload_2017-5-31_10-33-2.png
 

Attachments

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
You'll probably find that the TJMax setting under Settings is different in Realtemp and RealtempGT.

The important number is Distance to TJMax, that is what the actual sensor is reporting, and those numbers are the same between the two.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,821 (3.62/day)
Likes
8,962
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#3
Im unfamiliar with speedfan and the other tool mentioned, but realtemp works great. Look in your bios to see what temps its reporting, cuz if thats a h2o cooler the 75c reading seems high to me (unless thats just how much the cooler can hold back tempwise).

@100% load my i7 4790 at most hits 55c(4.2Ghz), but ambient is a factor, i dunno if its hot where you are

*edit*
i originally viewed this on my iphone, but now i see You were using intel BT, iirc, that is pretty rough stress wise on a CPU, so higher temps arent abnormal when running it. with that said, if your cooler is a water cooler, it Should be able to keep the CPU farfrom its Tjmax.
 
Last edited:

PNO3

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
3 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#4
Thank you all for your reply.
newtekie1 was correct, the TJmax was different between the tools. with them all set to 100, they now all agree. This now begs the question of why the system is so hot.... the cooler is a 280mm closed loop cooler, that should be more than enough, but if I let the burner test run my temps get to the high 80s. Anyone have an i7-7700K and have heat problems on liquid cooling?
i originally viewed this on my iphone, but now i see You were using intel BT, iirc, that is pretty rough stress wise on a CPU, so higher temps arent abnormal when running it. with that said, if your cooler is a water cooler, it Should be able to keep the CPU farfrom its Tjmax.
upload_2017-5-31_13-3-4.png


Cooler: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103232

Fans on Cooler: http://noctua.at/en/products/produc...industrialppc-24v-3000-ip67-pwm/specification

Mobo: https://www.evga.com/products/product.aspx?pn=111-KS-E272-KR

Case: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod...1854015&cm_re=itx_case-_-11-854-015-_-Product

The correct fan link is http://noctua.at/en/products/product-line-industrial/nf-a14-industrialppc-3000-pwm/specification, which is the 12V, not 24 as liked above. For some reason I cannot update the link.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,664 (1.34/day)
Likes
817
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://i.imgur.com/gYkHqxU.jpg new pic soon.
#5
SpeedFan has a help file that tells you how to configure it and change names (F2). I use it to control both my case fans and GPU fans.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
This now begs the question of why the system is so hot....
Intel Burn Test heats up CPUs like nothing else. It really isn't an accurate way to test temps.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,821 (3.62/day)
Likes
8,962
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#7
This now begs the question of why the system is so hot
*edited*
from reading online, due to KAby's higher frequencies, higher temps are to be expected...how gigh i cant say
what are your Ambient temps where the PC is?
what are Your idle temps?

IME, in situations like this, user error tends to be the cause. did You use the factory TIM on the cooler when installing?? maybe a re application of something differnt would help....or make sure all screws are fully tightened..theres many things that could cause a 280mm loop to not cool to its potential.

i too have a 280mm AIO (h110iGTX) but its Much cooler(im sure there is a reasonably simple reason, but its also easy to make mistakes i do it all the time ):rolleyes:...my ambient is 70f (24C)

IDLE



100% load (sorry for the different Frequencies, i had removed the OC, but even @ 4.2Ghz its not much higher, maybe 3-8C)

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#8
RealTemp is fairly accurate, but personally, I use either AIDA64 or HWiNFO.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,821 (3.62/day)
Likes
8,962
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#9
I have Aida64 ,but I use open hardware monitor or realtemp.I like a very minimal interface, for example the way open hardware monitor has a gadget that you can just slide down to the bottom right corner of your screen set to always be on top and make it almost transparent so you can always see your temperature and CPU usage or whatever else without interfering with webpage viewing etc.

http://openhardwaremonitor.org/
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,664 (1.34/day)
Likes
817
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://i.imgur.com/gYkHqxU.jpg new pic soon.
#10
there are plenty of on screen displays but never in our preferred app. o_O
 

PNO3

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
3 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#11
*edited*
from reading online, due to KAby's higher frequencies, higher temps are to be expected...how gigh i cant say
what are your Ambient temps where the PC is?
what are Your idle temps?

IME, in situations like this, user error tends to be the cause. did You use the factory TIM on the cooler when installing?? maybe a re application of something differnt would help....or make sure all screws are fully tightened..theres many things that could cause a 280mm loop to not cool to its potential.

i too have a 280mm AIO (h110iGTX) but its Much cooler(im sure there is a reasonably simple reason, but its also easy to make mistakes i do it all the time ):rolleyes:...my ambient is 70f (24C)

IDLE



100% load (sorry for the different Frequencies, i had removed the OC, but even @ 4.2Ghz its not much higher, maybe 3-8C)


Thank you for the replay, arctic silver 5 was used in-between the CPU and cooler, and the Idle temp is in the 30's as shown in the picture below, as everyone appears to like open HW monitor, I launched a copy of it to compare. 17C is crazy low for idle, your loaded temps are about what my idle temps are. I attempted reseating the processor and heat sink, but it did not change the temps. When I disable TURBO, the idle temps do not change, but the loaded temps are now around 65-68. The picture below is of IDLE temps.

upload_2017-6-3_12-29-5.png
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,821 (3.62/day)
Likes
8,962
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#12
30C is not bad for idle. & iirc, Kaby loaded @ 65C isnt uncommon either. So id say you were okay. thats a beast of a CPU, its running @ high Frequency, and shows it in temp.