• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Reboots in the middle of 3DMark05

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#1
Well, I've run 3DMark06 several times without problems.

Today I downloaded 3dMark05 to run the OCDB test for the OC database, and when the test was in that part of the hot-air balloon ship (cpu test? that part is done twice, in the first part I get 50fps and in the second part 5fps) my pc rebooted.

Any idea why this is happening in 3dMark05 and not in 3dMark06?
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508 (1.11/day)
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#2
back down your CPU OC a tad and try again
seems like you've already concluded that it's cpu related
I know 05 and 06 are finicky for me with vga OC'ing and it'll fail to boot certain tests
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#3
back down your CPU OC a tad and try again
seems like you've already concluded that it's cpu related
I know 05 and 06 are finicky for me with vga OC'ing and it'll fail to boot certain tests

Heck when I ran 06 I even did so with my GPU overclocked?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,692 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#4
I agree back down CPU speed...probably alot hotter now than the last time you ran the test and heat killz stability;)Or maybe you need to clean your CPU cooler?
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508 (1.11/day)
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#5
Heck when I ran 06 I even did so with my GPU overclocked?
well by your first post you indicated that it was only having trouble when it would run the cpu tests which obviously indicates your cpu OC isn't completely stable
maybe back down a bit or add a notch of voltage
if those don't work then back off a bit on your vga OC (most likely the memory clock since it's having trouble loading the test)
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#6
Right now my GPU isn't oc'd.

At my current clock speed and voltages my cpu had been stable for 10+ hours running orthos.

But it could be you're right - the room temperature had been quite much cooler when I did the orthos test. It had been 24 degrees, now it's 32 degrees here.
During that Orthos test the load temperature never went over 59/60 but during the OCDB Prime 95 the temperature shot up to 65...:ohwell:

Another question: if I run the OCDB again and upload will it update my previous test or will it post a new one? (Just so I don't go experimenting and make some 99 separate entries!)

Edit: Well a slight voltage bump-up did the trick as you can see here http://www.techpowerup.com/ocdb/details.php?id=426

I still am curious though why 3dMark06 ran OK (My result is recorded in Alcapone's stickied 3DMark06 thread as number 35, Black Panther - Point of View 8600GTS @ 754/1126 - 5934 - E4300 @ 2997Mhz - 333FSB) ... and why initally my 'voltage' choice failed since I had had 10+ hours of Orthos stable. Is it possible that 3DMark05 is more cpu demanding than orthos and than its own later 06 version which I'd expect to be more demanding? On 10+ Orthos stable I had Oc'd my rig to over 3.1Ghz before (http://www.pcpitstop.com/techexpress.asp?id=NBWBHW03WPWS8V9W), I just left it at 3.0Ghz for normal day to day usage.
 
Last edited:

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#7
Wait a sec - it might be because in the meanwhile long after my orthos tests etc I decided to enable speedstep to have my cpu running at 2.0Ghz when idle and 3.0Ghz when under load? :confused:
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508 (1.11/day)
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#8
Wait a sec - it might be because in the meanwhile long after my orthos tests etc I decided to enable speedstep to have my cpu running at 2.0Ghz when idle and 3.0Ghz when under load? :confused:
I'm willing to bet that didn't help

disable speedstep, drop you vcore back to where it was when 3dmark was failing and try again, then you'll find out
or if you're content at your current voltage with speedstep on then who cares just leave it
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#9
Problem solved: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=34592 :D:rockout:

Actually there I upped the vcore a notch, oc'ed further from 3.0Ghz to 3.2Ghz (couldn't resist not doing so!), increased vdimm from 1.9 to 2.00 and decreased mem timings to 4-4-4-12...

Now I'm back at 3.0Ghz, 1.375 Vcore (in bios because it's 1.352 after vdroop), vdimm at 1.9 and mem timings 5-5-5-15.
Just because this way my temperatures are 3 degrees lower, and playing Oblivion makes no difference. :)
 
Last edited:

d44ve

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2007
Messages
2,520 (0.64/day)
Likes
299
Processor Intel E6600 @ 4.2GHZ Wo0t!
Motherboard ASUS Striker Extreme & eVGA 680i A1
Cooling Phase Change !!
Memory OCZ SLI 1066MHZ (2GB)
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTX
Storage Western Digital 320 GB
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Lian-Li V2000
Software Vista Ultimate
#10
Problem solved: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=34592 :D:rockout:

Actually there I upped the vcore a notch, oc'ed further from 3.0Ghz to 3.2Ghz (couldn't resist not doing so!), increased vdimm from 1.9 to 2.00 and decreased mem timings to 4-4-4-12...

Now I'm back at 3.0Ghz, 1.375 Vcore (in bios because it's 1.352 after vdroop), vdimm at 1.9 and mem timings 5-5-5-15.
Just because this way my temperatures are 3 degrees lower, and playing Oblivion makes no difference. :)

Very nice... Cant complain about a 78% OC! :toast: