• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Recent new WCer looking for feedback

Dawgdoc

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
This is only my 2nd loop ever (first one was about 2 weeks ago) so please feel free to critique! Im not thin skinned and would appreciate any comments or advice.

The full system specs are:
X3220 G0 (possibly switch out for an E8400 or a Q6600 G0 - still testing)
EVGA 750i FTW!
8800 GTS G92 - (1 on RMA)
Corsair HX620W
2 X 1GB PC8500 Mushkin Extreme Performance 5-5-4-12
2 X 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 Perps RAID 0

D-tek FuZion
MCW-60
2 X PA 120.3
2 X D5 Vario
Tygon R3603 7/16 ID, 5/8 OD

CM690 modded and painted. Dual loops with a PA 120.3 on each. The GPU loop is supposed to be SLI but Im waiting on an RMA for the 2nd card. The CPU loop is going to include the FETs and the NB in the future which is why I have it on its own loop.

The wires need a tad more tidying, and I need to trim my fill lines as well as perhaps reposition the one going to the top pump. I also am going to get some modders mesh and make a cover for the lower right open area which used to be HD bays to cover up the wires stuffed behind there.

:D









 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508 (1.12/day)
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#2
hoooweee lot going on in there!
nice job mounting the rads, should give you some really stable temps! I'm more of a fan of internal mounting but that's just for look
I think you can do a lot better cleaning up your tubing and routing, my thing is why not do it right the first time? ;)
spend the extra time attempting to make it all as close to perfect and you'll save yourself lots of trouble reworking your loops!
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#3
GOOD JOB!!! You sure did some cablemanagement but it would look better with tube management. LOL
 

Dawgdoc

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#4
Yea I know......

Ive got to drain the GPU loop when the 2nd card comes back for RMA, so Im going to do some rerouting/etc at that time.

Any suggestions? HOW could I make it cleaner?

Like I said....Im new. I only started with WC about 2 weeks ago :D
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508 (1.12/day)
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#5
trim your tubes! with your current configuration I can see at least 10" that can be cut out
 

blkhogan

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
2,310 (0.61/day)
Likes
637
Location
If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
System Name Budget Gamer v2
Processor Phenom II X4 955BE (3.6GHz)
Motherboard Biostar A880G+
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6870 1GB (985/1120)
Storage WD VelociRaptor 150GB
Display(s) AOC 2436Vh 24" HDMI
Case NZXT H2 Classic
Power Supply Coolmax 700W 80%+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#6
trim your tubes! with your current configuration I can see at least 10" that can be cut out
+1
The best flow rates are ones with as little tubing as possible. The pump starts to lose the ability to effectively move liquid the longer the tubing is. Shorten up tubes and up the effectiveness of you wc system.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#7
like others have said, trim the tubes a little and you might want to mount the fillport somewhere instead of having it hanging randomly.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
4,508 (1.12/day)
Likes
459
Location
Texas
#8
like others have said, trim the tubes a little and you might want to mount the fillport somewhere instead of having it hanging randomly.
LOL I didn't even notice it there! not to mention that's dangerous!

just drill a little hole in the top of your case for the fill port
 

Dawgdoc

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#9
Cant mount the fillports anywhere cleanly :(

The top of the CM690 has a mesh covering over it. If it were a metal top case like a Lian-Li sure.

The 10" of trim.....do you mean just on the fill lines? Or all throughout the 2 loops?

With the 7/16 ID 5/8 OD Tygon I was having some kinking issues if I didnt leave just a tad of "slack" in the line but it looks like Ive got excess?

Hmmmm....And this one was so much better than the 1st one I did. I guess Ill need to tighten it up a bit.
 
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
285 (0.07/day)
Likes
30
System Name Dark Aurora
Processor Intel e6600 @ 4.09ghz
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula x38
Cooling Custom Water Cooling on Cpu and Gpu
Memory 4gb Corsair DDR-2 800mhz/ 2gb Patriot DDR-2 1066mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 8800gt 512mb
Storage 160gb Maxtor, 250gb Western Digital, 320gb Maxtor
Display(s) Dell 22" LCD
Case Gigabyte Aurora 570 (Black)
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W
Software Dual boot Windows XP/Fedora 8
Benchmark Scores AM3 201,045 Super Pi 12.453s @ 4.09ghz
#10
You really need to re-do your tubing runs. You probly could've planned things out a bit better.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
4,640 (1.01/day)
Likes
415
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name old school / new school
Processor 3.0e C0 @ 3.6 / e5200
Motherboard p4p800e-dlx / p5q-DLX
Cooling custom water see sig / air
Memory 2x1g oczPC4000EbPl / 2x2g ocz2rpr1066
Video Card(s) 3850AGP / 4890vaporX
Storage 36g raptor+120g wd / wd 1001fals 1tb
Display(s) BenQ / sharpAQUOS LC-37D64U
Case modded antec plusview / generic
Audio Device(s) audigy 2zs / ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
Power Supply fan/cable modded powerstream 520 / OCZ 700mxsp
Software Xp pro SP2 / VISTA ultimate OEM
#11
dude you got alot goin on in that small case! G/J fitting it all in there ;) im a fan of single loops myself but hey to each there own :respect:

you could make a mounting plate (modders mesh) for your filports since you cant mount them on the top due to rad posistion.

for the tubing : shortest, straightest runs are best. you may have to stare at it for a couple of hours (thats what i do)

:toast: