1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Recommend Best PSU for my system

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mafia97, Apr 18, 2012.

  1. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Hi all,
    my current psu has been acting up since a long time,my system crashes while playing games,web browsing and mostly other hardware taxing things.
    I have asked this problem to you people many times,and you people always replied me to change my PSU.
    So i finally decided to change it.
    please recommend me the best PSu that would last me long time.
    I live in Delhi so the PSu has to survive in hot temperature and will usually collect dusts.
    I have a lot of USB devices,so the PSU should power those and prevent my system from crashing.
    Thanks
    PS: can you also recommend me a mouse,my mouse dont last more than two months because of my gaming habits.Dont recommend me a expensive mouse,just a normal mouse which can cater to my gaming needs.
     
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,790 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,625
    What's your budget?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,082 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    You should also list/name what online vendors are available where you live.

    That would prevent ppl from recommending psu's that you can't even get or a psu that is cheap in the USA but ridiculous in India.
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,247 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,490
    as with any electronics you need to clean them, where you are every 2 weeks should suffice
     
  5. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    I would go for my local retailer.
    My budget is rs 7000 to rs 8000($136 to $156)
    In India usually computer parts are $20 to $50 more expensive then USA.
    The problems i was getting were:random crashes,random restarts,could not play games without crash,sometimes crashing while browsing internet,could not convert videos without a crash,could not power many USB devices.
    the problem has been discussed in this thread too : http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=162014
    so can you guys confirm this is a PSU problem.
     
  6. Vulpesveritas

    Vulpesveritas

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    390 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    USA
    Do you know what OEMs you have for PSUs there? If you're looking for something that runs cool, then you want something with the highest efficiency possible... so probably a Seasonic or Superflower 80+ gold / platinum rated based PSU with a decent fan I'd think.
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,247 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,490
    Crashes can be caused by anything. ur mobo might be a major culprit...
     
  8. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,669 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Philippines
    my friend had a similar problem, he fixed it by replacing the PSU,there is a big chance its the PSU. provide us a price list of your local shop
     
  9. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    well corsair and coolermaster are available ,for rest i would have to go and enquire.
    For price list too i would have to go there
     
  10. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,669 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Philippines
    dont' they have a site or brochure or something?

    Corsair and Cooler Master is fine. have you tried power supply calculator? whats your projected wattage?
     
  11. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    no they dont have a site or brosher.
    Here cooler master 600w psu costs rs3875 i.e. $79
    yup i calculated many times on different sites,the assumption ranged from 550w to 890w
     
  12. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
    what model is the cooler master?

    are you running both the GTX580 and HD4870? if so you're probably gonna need around 46A or so on the 12v rail of you power supply along with I think 1 8pin and 3 6pin PCIe connectors, unless you plan to use 4pin molex adapters.
     
  13. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    gtx 580 only
    sorry i forgot to update my system spec
    the model number is : RS600-PCARE3-E
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,642 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What ~750W supplies do you have available?
     
  15. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,079
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    for a single GTX580, I think 750 would be overkill, I mean, I'm running two 5870 cards in crossfire on a heavily OC'ed I7 on a XFX PRO750 XXX edition 80+ silver.

    Corsair is available, easy choice for me then, TX650 or TX650 v2


    mouse wise, well I've been happy with my Logitech g500
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    corsair is available as far as i knw
     
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,642 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,745
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    650W would be more than sufficient. Just saying a 750W so you don't run into heat problems.
     
  18. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    well i was thinking arnd 850w,since on some power calculators ,assumption was arnd or over 850
    will 750w b enough for future upgrades too?
     
  19. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    bump
    need to buy in this wee
     
  20. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,669 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Philippines
    750W is enough for that system, But for future upgrades we don't exactly know what "future upgrade" are you gonna do so we can't say its enough. we exactly don't know if you will go Extreme Edition or Quad SLI in the future or not.

    if you mean future upgrades like "just replace this part with a higher gen part. upgrade".. 750W would be fine.

    EDIT: additional tip: The Most Important part of the PSU is the 12V Railing.

    [​IMG]

    ^If you look at this pic you will see a +12V column. this pic has four +12V columns. that means it has 4 rails.

    diff. PSUs have different numbers of "rails or railings".

    below it, is the amperage.(18.0A)

    to compute the wattage per railing;

    Multiply the number of amps by 12, example: (18 x 12)
    the answer is 216W per rail (all +12V have 18A)

    To get the idea (NOTE: JUST TO GET THE IDEA) of how much total wattage your +12V assuming your PSU have multiple rails is.

    add all the amperage of all +12V and multiply it by 12, example: [(18+18+18+18)(12)]

    that is 864W.(THIS IS JUST AN IDEA, AN ESTIMATE)

    In Most PSUs you can see the actual max load of the 12V railing(in this case its listed as 768W)

    in short. the higher the amperage in the 12V column, the better the PSU is.(power/wattage wise)
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2012
    mafia97 says thanks.
  21. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    I might upgrade GPu or CPU thats it .
    How is corsair GS series?
     
  22. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Corsair CMPSU-850TXV2UK 850 Watts PSU – Price: Rs. 7153
    Corsair CMPSU-700GUK 700 Watts PSU – Price: Rs. 5296
    Corsair CMPSU-800GUK 800 Watts PSU - Price: Rs. 6006
    Corsair CMPSU-750TXV2UK 750 Watts PSU – Price: Rs. 6170
    Corsair CMPSU-750HXUK 750 Watts PSU – Price: Rs. 9048
    Antec EA-750 750 Watts PSU – Price: Rs. 7359
    a site which can give approximate price is this:-
    http://www.newtechnology.co.in/smps-power-supply-unit-psu-price-list-in-india/
    which is the best out of these?(my budget rs 7500)
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2012
  23. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,079
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    I'm telling you, you don't need that much wattage for a single GPU system, but it's your money, and having more wattage than you need won't hurt so, I suggest getting the CMPSU-750TXV2UK, or in laymans terms, the TX750 v2
     
    mafia97 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    Delhi,India
  25. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,032 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,079
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    dont think that mouse is very good as it is only 1600dpi(this has to do with how fast the mouse moves your cursor, the higher the dpi, and faster your cursor moves). Personally, I want at the very least, 2000 dpi.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)